We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely going back!”
Review of Thai L'Elephant

Thai L'Elephant
Ranked #5 of 106 Restaurants in Phoenixville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Definitely going back!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This Thai restaurant was recommended by friends who have gone there many times. It's a BYOB so we went prepared. It was lively and pleasant. The décor is a mix of Thai art in a small town building with vintage brick walls a lots of charm. The reviews we read before going were excellent, many raving about the service. We weren't wowed by our server, but the owner was present and working quickly and earnestly to accommodate patrons on an extremely busy Saturday evening. She stopped by our table as was genuine and warm. The dining room attendant (aka bus boy) was wonderful and seemed to care more about our visit than our particular server. We each had duck (different presentations) and liked our meals very much. The jasmine rice and the noodle dish we added were delightful. The garnishment of all meals shows attention to detail, and the portions are generous. There's even a winery right across the street where diners may sample wine and then be directed to wine that will pair well with Thai food. This was recommended by the bus boy and we will try that option next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiningDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    41
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice service and reasonable price”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I went for lunch to the Thai L'Elephant already several times. With several friends and my 85 year old mom. The food was always very good, a good variety on the lunch menue and very nice sized portions. There is something to be found for every tast, spicy or not, whatever you like. The service is very good, food will come soon and is nice and hot. And for the lunch menue, the price is very reasonable.I will come again. My mom loved the food and she admired the artistic folded napkins!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sadly just average, at least this time”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We've been here before and had good meals, but this one was disappointing. The calamari appetizer was heavily breaded (like onion rings) and the calamari was rubbery. We ordered Shrimp Pad Thai and Siamese Noodle (which is vegetarian Pad Thai). The shrimp were under-cooked and had to be sent back; when a new dish was delivered, the noodles were too heavy with sauce. The Siamese Noodles didn't have much flavor, and only about three pieces of tofu.

Service was pleasant, as always.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiddoNorristown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite restaurant in Phoenixville. Great place for a romantic dinner and a bottle of wine. Also a great place for a larger group of friends. The brick wall and furnishings all make for unique decor and experience. My wife had her favorite dish, the choo chee duck and I had the Phuket seafood dish. Both were excellent. I've had the green curry and Thai basil chicken dishes before too. Every dish there has been excellent. Service is always top notch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I go out in Phoenixville regularly and had good things about Thai L'Elephant but was hesitant to try it because I had never had Thai food. I was in the mood to try something new so my friend and I picked up a bottle of wine from Taste and went over to the restaurant. I loved the atmosphere inside. The waitresses were great and the Pad Thai was awesome! There are so many other things on the menu that I would like to try. I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackiek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai L'Elephant also viewed

 
Phoenixville, PA
Phoenixville, PA
 

Been to Thai L'Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing