We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and comfortable”
Review of The Chatelaine B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pine Grove Mills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chatelaine B&B
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed one night at The Chatelaine, and we wish we could have stayed longer. Mae is a wonderful lady who made us feel right at ease. Her place is beautiful and elegant...very Victorian. We rented the Swan Room and absolutely loved it. The king sized brass bed was amazing. She had brandy for us in the room, and soft drinks right outside the door. The amenities were perfect - lots of towels, books, pillows. Her croissant french toast was the best breakfast I think we have ever had at a B&B, and she was kind enough to share the recipe. She has kitties, but does not allow them in the guest rooms. We will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Dear Happy Swan Room Stayers,
Glad you enjoyed the Stuffed Croissant French Toast, as so many do. Do you make them for yourselves, stuff them with Mae's traditional blueberries or peach slices, and if so, do you make that easy but powerful-good Carolina Orange Sauce? Or "just" serve it with Maple Syrup, or Wild Blueberries? Golly, it makes me hungry to type this, and living and working here, I am exposed to leftover French Toast all the time! Mom always cooks too much, lest anyone not have enough. No one must go away hungry from that Dining/Breakfast table. Anyway, you're right, we do share recipes for anything at all, to all but our very local B&B colleagues. You don't want to get the SAME Breakfast everywhere in Centre County, right? Later this month, we host the monthly potluck of the PA Mid-State B&B Association...but that's just us Innkeepers, and believe me, we meet at 2PM after our guests have rolled out, and we enjoy making and eating LUNCH foods. We're making Roast Leg of Lamb with Onions, Potatoes and Carrots....and a Concord Grape Pie.

About your room -- one change since you've been here, we finally caved and bought a flat screen TV for the Swan Room. We like offering people the chance to unplug from their eternal screens for a night or two, and most guests come to a Sports event, Concert or Arts Festival, or to race in the 50-mile Ultra Marathon, or to see their family member attending or graduating from PSU...not to watch TV! Our WiFI is stronger and still free, and if you come back, you'll enjoy the password, which the cable company assigned us. We like it so much, we didn't change it. It's...a Blessing. A Blessing I wish you, and all who read and travel here. To find it out, you'll have to come stay. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We truly enjoyed staying with Mae..
She was a wonderful host. The home is well kept with wonderful art work and antiques.the breakfast was wonderful. Close to Penn State so it would be great place to stay for the game. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamond4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at The Chatelaine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

So glad you enjoy antiques, both inherited, bought at auction for a pittance and lovingly refinished...or actually built by my father in the 1970's, when he retired from the US Army Signal Corps to work at PSU and teach himself carpentry and grow a huge vegetable garden. He made the shell-topped Corner Cupboard in the Dining Room, as well as the carved plant stands. The Artwork is mostly oil paintings by eldest sister Delia, who studies Science at Penn State, but took as many art and art history courses as she could. A natural, who taught her baby sister (me, Mandy) to paint. We worked on the oil in the hallway together, called The Birds of Eden, after 1860's French wallpaper by DeFosse. The only other significant piece of art in the house that you must have seen is the unfinished mural between 2nd and 3rd floors...simply drawn in pencil over the paint, over old wallpaper, but holding up remarkably well after 32 years! It's our family, friends, pets, dreams...and a few tall tales, in three of the four seasons. Always intended to paint it (in acrylic! Oil painting is hard!) but mother and Head Innkeeper Mae insists that it may not be painted until she departs this Earth. So...there it is, unpainted after three decades. The first image you see is the massing of the Monarch Butterflies, ready to migrate south to Mexico. It's on the 1st, Autumn, wall, down low, with kites and hot air balloons in the westerly sky above, autumn leaves on the trees, a girl in knickers feeding a treat to her favorite sheep, the apple harvest, and later cornstalks, leafless trees and big pumpkins...and my Big Brother Jock sitting IN the Pumpkin Patch...waiting for The Great Pumpkin! You get the picture...and if you come again, you can get MORE of the picture. don't plan to paint it yet, Mae is still with us, but I DO plan to draw in the fourth season, a Summer Afternoon. If you like old things and Art, this is the place. And we're still 6 miles from PSU, in Historic Pine Grove Mills (est. 1801) AND Mae still cooks a terrific, huge breakfast. You can have the recipe for the Stuffed Croissant French Toast, if you don't have it already. Things have changed lately, due to aging and health...but then they changed again, to make both our lives, and your B&B experience, a wonderful one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This was our second stay at the Chatelaine; the last being 11 years ago; this is a wonderful experience; from the reservations through checkout; Mae is an excellent host in her home. Her breakfast was fantastic as was our room. It is a beautiful setting in a quaint village close to Penn State University and other attractions.

The B&B does not have TV's available - but we knew this upfront and it is one of the features we do not miss when we travel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at The Chatelaine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

We finally caved in and purchased a flat screen TV for our Swan Room, though we've always had free Wi-Fi...and agree with you, it's GOOD for people to unplug from their eternal screens and sedentary ways from time to time. A very nice lady and loving mother stayed with us for 2 weeks this Spring, to really help her daughter move out at the end of her sophomore year -- and she requested a TV for such an extended stay. It turns out that she visited with her daughter and the young friends so much that she didn't watch it much anyway! True, we have no TV in the Guest Sitting Room, and won't be changing our policy there. We suggest our free Wi-Fi, a trip to the movie theaters in State College or a Campus Film Festival, TV sports coverage in any of many (pretty sports-mad) State College Eateries or...well...Drinkeries...OR take in live theater at Eisenhower Auditorium, the Bryce Jordan Center, the Playhouse. OR the Thespians at Schwab Auditorium on campus, or the wonderful State College Community Theater at the Boal Barn Playhouse, in Boalsburg...which is all of 5 miles down SR45, the Purple Heart Highway. Or go see the Hockey at Pegula Arena, or one of the Basketball Teams, the PSU Women or the Men. Or People-watch from the Allen Street Grill, from the Palladian windows in the balcony section one flight up above the Corner Room Restaurant, right at the Center Crossroads of State College, where Town meets Gown. You might see your PSU student's Dean walking by from up there, and buttonhole him or her about funding for your child's research project. Or see the Guy-who-got-away, from your hometown, the Good Boy you wish your daughter would date again, and perhaps marry...once she has her Master's Degree. We know how PSU Parent's minds work...we either ARE PSU student's parents (Mae) or worked a decade in a PSU Dean's Office (Mandy, in the College of Earth & Mineral Sciences). And we were BOTH PSU students ourselves (Mae, Spanish and Latin American Studies, Mandy, Geography BA Program). Back to B&B Business now...we're still here, close to Penn State, and all the other wonderful, surprising things there are to do around here. Penn's Cave, Boalsburg, Ag Progress, the Golden Eagle Flyway, fishing at Spruce Creek, Rhoneymeade Arboretum and Labyrinth, Bellefonte Victorian Christmas, Tony Lentz's beloved annual one-man show of A Christmas Carol, the Tussey MountainBack UltraMarathon (50 miles! Over Hill and Dale!) and the 100 miles of the Purple Heart Highway, SR45, which just happens to be our own street, West (and East) Pine Grove Road, in Pine Grove Mills. And if you STILL want to SIT and WATCH a screen, we're close to the 6th Annual Buskopolis Festival of Cinematic Oddities! No kidding. I'm sure there will be a 7th, next September 2018. Owner Tim Busko & company will make sure that two-day event keeps happening. The advertising artwork alone is worth a look! In long, in short...come again, please. You can have a lovely time, get a yummy, huge, included-in-the-charge breakfast...and never turn on the new TV!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Most gracious and generous hosts. Would stay again repeatedly if in the area. Very very nice accommodations and atmosphere. Friendly and very accommodating hosts

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Dear Qwilter, who stayed with us 7 years ago -- Thank you for your kind words. We hope you DO stay again. As it happens, we were going to sell our home, after 32 years of B&B. Just taking it off the market this week. Things have lately changed for the better, in terms of health and focus, even redecoration, and we are staying with a renewed sense of connection with our home, our garden, and our Village of Pine Grove Mills. New plans are afoot for the Carriage House...and if you like Quilting (with a U, not a W) Pine Grove Mills is a good spot for you. We have a yarn & quilting store right here in the Village, and knit 3-strand prayer & friendship shawls and blankets with their wonderful yarns. We have a bazillion quilt tops that need your expert advice...and a Prize-winning Quilt from our Centre County Grange Fair will be raffled off at the Pine Grove Mills Harvest Festival this Saturday. So...bring your sewing basket, and come visit us again. We're GOING to be here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Chatelaine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatelaine B&B

Address: 347 W Pine Grove Rd., Po Box 326, Pine Grove Mills, PA 16868
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pine Grove Mills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pine Grove Mills
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatelaine B&B has a long-standing history since 1985. The Federal-style farmhouse is on the edge of a small village just miles from PSU and all the dynamic activities of State College.There are 2 large rooms decorated in "Generational Layering" with a healthy dollop of new-to-us Antiques from a dear departed friend, an Antique dealer in Duncansville. The guestrooms have private baths and King beds -- one a huge reproduction brass canopy bed that inspires photographers of Brass Parade Grounds! A graceful propane fireplace warms the Swan Room, while a black electric pot belly cozies the Dawn Room. Both rooms sleep a third person, either in a poufy sofa bed, or a futon lounge chair, which converts to a bed. The quiet grounds boast a patio on the "sun-side" with our "Jolly Folly" Gazebo & Golden Eagle Flyway overhead. Breakfast is our forte, and we give our recipes to all but local B&Bs. Stuffed Croissant French Toast! Swan Room TV, Wi-Fi is free, and you'll love the password... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing