We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just what we needed after a long day of playing at Kennywood. The hotel is around many restaurants and places to pick up something like Target. The staff was very friendly and accommodating both on the phone while making reservations and in person. The breakfast was great. I really appreciate anything that I do not have to prepare and cook! My kids love the pancake maker and sausage with biscuits. The cinnamon rolls were very yummy. They even have little baggies to take stuff "to go". There wasn't anything that I noticed that was left out. The indoor pool is excellent for kids! Not so much if you're an adult looking to relax. My kids had a blast in it and the hours are great that it's open, 6am - 11pm. Maybe it's different once school is back in, more relaxing for adults. Everything appeared clean and in working condition. Overall, we were very satisfied. We didn't have the expectations of having something with more frills. That's why we do research before choosing. I did take note of what others had to say about noise issues and requested a room on another side of the building. Without a problem, they gave me one. We didn't notice any loud noises at the date that we went. We had a good nights sleep. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, GEC at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a good stay and happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Kennywood. We hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting some family in the Oakmont and Springdale areas. It was a good location for us. We are priority rewards members, and we were not upgraded when we arrived, which I was a tad surprised by, considering the hotel didn't seem very full.
The hotel claims to be non-smoking, but when we entered our room, it was pretty obvious that the room had been smoked in before.
Once we got past those things the hotel was perfectly adequate. They have an indoor pool which we never used. The breakfast was pretty extensive with eggs, breakfast meat, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, yogurt, cereal, and juice.
Overall it was adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear jrobba,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the breakfast and for finding lour location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and the room smell. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for my work. It is close to my plant and the company has a special price point at this hotel. It is also a perfferred hotel of my company. It is a nice hotel, clean, freindly, and it has some nice points about it. It does need some updating and some repairs done to bring it more up to par, where it should be. Room are OK but certainly nothing special. Worth the cost, but that is it.

Room Tip: Rooms on North side are quieter Even numbered rooms. The south is closer to the train tracks, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumrummer314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback, and we are glad we could accommodate you in your most recent stay with us. We hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This Holiday Inn Express was perfect. Great friendly staff, from the front desk, to the cleaning service, as I needed extra soap, shampoo, and breakfast staff. Room was very clean, hotel was clean, breakfast was fine with hot foods, as advertised. Our room on the 2nd floor, was by the interstate exit, no noise was heard at all. Room very quiet. Looks like the Hotel was just remodeled, as the roof was being worked on, but no issues from that. A good hotel will remodel after so many years, like maybe 5? but anyway, no issues with this hotel. Will come back. Mike M.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acadia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate the wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We visited Pittsburgh for an event, but found the prices in the core of the city high. This was just 12 mins from the core and was priced just right. It's in a quiet area, so there was no outside noise to bother us. The sleep quality was good. Normal hotel room, nothing extravagant, but it did the job just fine. The staff was super friendly though, and that's always a big plus!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback we are glad you had a good stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We booked a non-smoking room in this hotel. However, the room had a strong smoking odd. We asked the staff at the reception who was reluctant and unhelpful, He insisted that it is a non-smoking room. We checked the signs outside of the rooms. Some rooms have a non-smoking signs, while our room didn't have such a sign. We asked him again. He said that since last year, the hotel switched all the rooms into non-smoking. However, with the old carpet and old matress, the room retained the strong smoking odd which is quite unpleasant and unhealthy. I don't think we will return with such attitude and such quality, considering we pay near $150 for one night. Total disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Lin J,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am sorry to hear the poor experience and service issues you had during your visit. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with the smell of your room and regret the dissatisfaction you had with the service provided by our staff.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. With this in mind, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel smelled, was scruffy, full of construction people, near the highway, the freight train went by in the night several times blowing its whistle and the room smelt of old socks. There were de-humidifiers in the downstairs room, indicating damp. The pillows were full of synthetic stuffing, sheets scratchy and mould in the shower. We had to stay one night and then moved out next morning. We will never go there again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Ms CathayC,
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to make all of our guests’ experiences enjoyable and stress free. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had encountered during your stay. We would have been more than happy to move you to another room had you let us know you were unhappy or even switched you to the other side of the hotel to be away from the highway. Again, thank you for your feedback and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
16.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)

Address: 10 Landings Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15238-1366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £90 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh North Hotel is a newly renovated hotel property that is conveniently located only minutes from downtown Pittsburgh right off of the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Whether you're traveling on business or for pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel will make you feel right at home with a staff that is second to none. The hotel features the famous Express Start complimentary Continental breakfast which now includes hot items. We invite you to try what we believe to be the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. The hotel is only minutes away with the Pittsburgh Zoo, Kennywood, PNC Park, Heinz Field, Mellon Arena, PPG, Siemens, Medrad, NEP, RIDC Park, Heartwood Acres, Fox Chapel Yacht Club, and Oakmont Country Club home of the 2010 Women's US Open. When you visit the Pittsburgh, PA area do not forget to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Blawnox
Blawnox Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing