We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel and Friendly and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Made reservation because my father had passed away. Asked if we could get early check-in. Staff very accommodating. Got there at 11:00. Told room was ready and we could check in. I asked what time was check-out and the staff person said noon. She asked me if I needed a later checkout. The breakfast was good. The staff were very kind and helpful. Only heard one train that night but I had lived by the railroad tracks in Oakmont and was used to the sound. The room was very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the handicap room with walk-in shower. It was on the first floor. Very nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NORIEANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Norieann,
I am so sorry for your loss. Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are so happy to hear we were able to accommodate you in everything you requested. We try our best to make this a home away from home for our guest. We do hope you stay with us again in the near future.
Ashley Toney - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express off the turnpike Allegheny Valley exit for the first time this Saturday. Have driven past many times. The property was fine for mid-level chain- decent room, linens, shower, TV, space -all standard. Hot breakfast was also standard- eggs, waffles, cinnamon buns smelled great, oatmeal...Staff was nice, checkin easy, AAA discount helped with price.
BUT, all night, every 15-30 minutes, a freight train came through across the highway. Now, this was no more disruptive than the blowers on the in-room Heater/AC units so common in hotels- you know, on again, off again, loud enough to wake you up? The train reminded me of some budget airport hotels at which I have spent long nights- just loud enough to awaken one enough to remember that you are staying at a hotel near a train track.

The hotel can't do anything about this, but one wonders about the wisdom of establishing a sleeping establishment within 100 yds of CSX moving a ton of freight on one gallon of fuel.

Room Tip: May be better on the north side (away from the highway and the tracks)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us that we receive guest feedback so we can do whatever we can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Even though we can not stop the trains, we could assist you in ways of finding you a room on the opposite side of the railroad tracks, We hope you do stay with us again in the near future and are happy to hear other hotel offerings were able to make your stay some what pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Holiday Inn Express is my hotel of choice in this price range. In reviewing these properties I try to compare strictly with comparable price/amenities, etc. It is pointless to note that a mid-range chain hotel lacks luxury amenities. Having said this, the Holiday Inn Express in Harmarville, PA ranks at the BOTTOM of the many similar properties we have visited.
Another reviewer commented about a strange smell. I confirm. As soon as we stepped off the elevator, there was an unpleasant odor. The smell was even stronger when we entered our room. We never determined the nature or origin of the smell, but it was omnipresent.
The sleeping room was adequate, although the bedding was below what we expect from H.I. X.
The breakfast was typical fare: scrambled eggs, meat, self-made pancakes, cold cereals, juice, muffins. The breakfast room was dark and somewhat unpleasant. The attendant was fine and there was nothing wrong with the food, but the room---despite windows---badly needs to be refreshed.
The single elevator was inadequate. We, and other guests, repeatedly resorted to the stairs.
Platinum loyalty status was never acknowledged, let alone rewarded. Local newspapers were available in the lobby, as were coffee and fresh fruit.
This hotel is located immediately off an exit of the PA Turnpike just north of Pittsburgh. It is roughly 30 min from downtown. It is adjacent to a Days Inn and a Super 8 in a commercial/industrial strip. A McDonalds and a family restaurant are the only food options within walking distance.
Overall, we were disappointed in this property and will look elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: The H.I.X. can be difficult to see from the street; turn at McDonalds. Ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darthdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, GEC at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately we have an older property which comes along with some problems. Although that is no excuse, I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My family & I stayed at the hotel for two nights. My self in a king & my parents in a suite. The suite was LARGE....holy cow...had a little fridge & microwave. There was a TV, sofa, chair, desk & dining table one one side of the suite & a bed, dresser and another TV on the side with the bed. There was plenty of outlets for phones & laptops. Not necessarily "plush" but a great room. The king room was spacious & had plenty of outlets for electronics. Shower had great water pressure & the room seemed clean to me. Pillows leave a little bit to be desired, the ones marked "soft" feel like they are filled with handfuls of bulky cotton.

The hotel offers a laundry room which came in handy day 5 of our trip. There is a free breakfast that offers all the typical items; along with plenty of coffee!

The 2nd night of our trip my brother arrived and was to have a double room. They gave that room away & offered him two rooms (but he only paid for one). He was actually elated at this mishap as he was traveling with 2 teenagers! They were very kind & allowed us to leave one of our two rental cars on the property for 2 days after we checked out. They also found a bracelet my niece left behind in the room (very important as it was given to her by her great grandmother who recently passed away...thus our trip to PA).

Overall great hotel. Holiday Inn is always a trusted place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, GEC at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy that you and your family had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

When we reserved a room we requested two cribs for our infant twins. When we arrived we were told there was only one crib available, and that the hotel did not guarantee the availability of cribs. This would have been helpful to know when we made the reservation--it's a little late to find this out after we arrive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank serabebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, GEC at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that you had encountered problems during your stay. Unfortunately we do not guarantee cots/cribs because we have a limited number of them. We try our best to meet all requests for cots/cribs but at not always able to. I am very sorry for any miscommunication when making your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our room had an overpowering smell of mold. There was black mold all over the bathroom floor and spots on the wall. I opened the welcome book and there was a half inch of dust on it. I was disgusted by the lack of housekeeping. We will never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobucs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, Jamie GEC at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. The hotel’s management has reviewed your comments and appropriate steps are being taken in order to try to correct this problem and prevent it from happening in the future.

I am extremely sorry that you did not have a good stay. We strive to make all of our guests stays enjoyable and comfortable and the experiences you had encountered are unacceptable. If you would please contact us at the hotel through email at ManagerHIX@kratsaproperties.com we would like to further this conversation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for two nights while visiting friends. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff friendly and accommodating. What more could one want for the price.
I'd advise skipping the free breakfast and instead go to the King's Family Restaurant just down the street. The hotel is very conveniently located just off the Allegheny Valley exit on the PA Turnpike. There isn't much of interest near this hotel; but, it's only about 20-30 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh or Pittsburgh's Oakland section.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJHESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVPA, GEC at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
16.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)

Address: 10 Landings Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15238-1366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £87 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh North Hotel is a newly renovated hotel property that is conveniently located only minutes from downtown Pittsburgh right off of the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Whether you're traveling on business or for pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel will make you feel right at home with a staff that is second to none. The hotel features the famous Express Start complimentary Continental breakfast which now includes hot items. We invite you to try what we believe to be the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. The hotel is only minutes away with the Pittsburgh Zoo, Kennywood, PNC Park, Heinz Field, Mellon Arena, PPG, Siemens, Medrad, NEP, RIDC Park, Heartwood Acres, Fox Chapel Yacht Club, and Oakmont Country Club home of the 2010 Women's US Open. When you visit the Pittsburgh, PA area do not forget to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Blawnox
Blawnox Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing