We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittsburgh Business Trip at Sunnyledge a Success”

Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Pittsburgh Business Trip at Sunnyledge a Success”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

At $139 a night for the corporate rate you cant go wrong. Comfortable bed, handsome surroundings, a great martini bar, and complimentary continental breakfast. I especially enjoyed being near Walnut st where all the shops are located.

Overall a good experience

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    4
    16
    14
See reviews for
9
14
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is located on the the main strip heading towards the shops and clubs on Walnut Street. It was nice to park the car and leave it alone for the duration of the trip because the hotel is located within walking distance of the shops. The lobby is adourned in panneled oak. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. There are restaurants and shops you might like to stop in along the way. I found the staff of be friendly and helpful, especially about nearby eating establishments. The price was reasonable comapred with others in the area. The Martini Bar in the lobby was also a nice touch

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Despite all the bad reviews we stayed for one night at the Sunnyledge. What a pleasant surprise! We were greeted by Anna, who is a student at the University of Pittsburgh Law school. She did a wonderful job of greeting, bartending and serving our breakfast the next day! Our room was clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom was small but had lots of marble and old time charm and the bed was the most comfortable that we have experienced in a long time (except for our own). We were in town to move our freshman son into the University of Pittsburgh and after move-in, checked into the hotel and walked back to campus. It was a nice 13 minute walk back down 5th avenue. We also walked back later that evening and had no problems. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I frequent Pittsburgh during the summer (1-2 times a month). I always stay here (except, once when I could not get a reservation). The staff are incredible!!! SO FRIENDLY!!!!!!! The rooms are the best in Shadyside (in my opinion). The only thing that could make it better is if was on Walnut Street. LOVE the hotel and the staff.
I was especially happy with our $139 weekday rate they offered during their renovations

Well be back !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

At first, we thought the Sunnyledge looked like a nice and interesting bed and breakfast. Were we wrong!

We were traveling with a 9 year old and told the front desk when we called that we needed a suite with two rooms with a rollaway bed in the second room. The room was very expensive, but they said they could accommodate. When we got there. The rollaway was in the same room as the main bed, and the person working at the hotel said if we wanted it moved into the other room, we had to move it ourselves.

The bathtub was poorly constructed and two of the three people in our party fell out of it violently.

The website is absurd: there is no longer any restaurant or tearoom. All there is on offer for breakfast are toasted Lenders bagels and "half" a glass of orange juice.

Finally, they add on a charge for parking without telling you. The person at the front desk admitted this was a bit crazy but said it "used" to make sense to do this when there was a restaurant onsite. We would've parked on the street!

For the first time in my life, I left a message for the manager to call me. So far, I've waited a week an have not received a call. Do NOT stay here ever! It's dusty, extremely overpriced, absurdly understaffed, and the car noise will prevent you from sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roadtrip21210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

..this is a wonderful place to stay. Very genteel & relaxed, the kind of place that is it's own destination. To be savored & enjoyed, overlooking it's wrinkles & slightly unkept grounds. Romantic & within walking distance of Shadyside with an impecable albeit young staff, it is fine, fine & special place to create a great (& hopefully other) memories!

Room Tip: Ask the staff after explaining the purpose of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trumanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Don't stay here, whatever you do!
2 star hotel at 4 star prices! The website is misleading, to say the least. The kitchen was closed, so no more than coffee/tea and bagels for breakfast, no more meals after that. We were put into an attic room on the 3rd floor, AC not working when we arrived and didn't get fixed until the 4th day, and the temp. was about 30c for all 3 days. The toilet didn't flush properly on the first day. No water from the taps, but did get sorted quickly. Dirty porch, metal furniture very dirty, no cushions to sit on either. Short staffed and no sign of management. We had reserved for about 9 days, but got out fast. I did say that I was expecting a rebate because of the AC not working, it was most uncomfortable trying to sleep in a very, very hot room. The reply was "I will speak to management and your card won't be debited until you get a phone call" Well, needless to say the call never came and my card was deibited with the full amount.
So keep away guys, try one of the hotels Downtown Pittsburgh. We got into the Wyndham, cheaper, better, friendly and proff. staff. We should have went there to start with and saved ourselves 3 days of aggro. and overpricing. Sunnyledge should be reported to Pittsburgh tourism organisation for misleading clients and overpricing them.

http://www.sunnyledge.com/

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaidOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#50 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel

Property: Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
Address: 5124 Fifth Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2111
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sunnyledge Boutique Pittsburgh
Hotel Sunnyledge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing