We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Nearby Hotels
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
403
343
120
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
343
120
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteelheadthe concierge loungeacross the streetduquesne universitypenguins gameplatinum memberhockey arenaparking garagefront desk stafftwo double bedshotel roombusiness tripfitness centerself parkmini fridgerooms are largepnc park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
773 - 778 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Room was well designed and housekeeping was excellent for 4 days I was there. Hotel is a few blocks from rest of downtown (about a 5 minute walk) which seems active at night when there is a sports and/or cultural event occurs - which is seems to be frequent because sports and cultural venues are relatively close by. Staff was helpful- bar/restaurant in hotel is okay but kind of generic for this both quirky and interesting city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtra49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I go to Pittsburgh on business 20+ times per year, and this is a preferred hotel for my company, so I have been here many times.

It is a somewhat older Marriott located in the tangle of streets downtown, across from the CONSOL Energy Center, which is the new(er) arena for the Penguins hockey games. It's sort of a B-minus Marriott, okay enough, but in need of freshening up and modernizing, with some quirks.

It's easy to find: just follow any signs to the CONSOL Center. Figuring out how to get back to the Interstates without a GPS can be tough, though, particularly with the road construction now being done (July 2011). I recommend you use Google Maps or Google Earth to get familiar with the roads in the immediate area, or bring a GPS.

There is a covered lot underneath the hotel, but it is not owned by the hotel, oddly enough. Self-park is $18/night, valet is $24, without in-out priveleges. During CONSOL Center events the costs go up, and the lot may be full, so check sports schedules online before your trip. Hotel rooms are on floors 2 and 10+, with commercial offices on floors 3-9, which was a bit odd; the elevators have no buttons for 3-9. There is an elite member lounge on the next-to-the-top floor. The pool and medium-sized workout gym are on the 11th floor; free bottled water and disposable earbuds are provided in the gym.

Check-in is pleasant, and the staff is helpful. There is a typical hotel bar-lounge on the first floor, The Steelhead Lounge. It is packed to the rafters with happy but noisy people in black hockey jerseys before and after home Penguins games.

The rooms are typical Marriott, with a very comfortable bed. Bathrooms a bit small but okay. Since most rooms are above the 9th floor, there are views to either the south (river and Mount Washington, somewhat pretty) or to the north (uptown and freeway, not quite so pretty).

The only real complaint I have is that occasionally the rooms near the vending and ice machines are serenaded by fairly loud refrigerator-compressor noises, and noisy water draining down the floor drains. This has happened to me 3 times so far on different floors, so be on the lookout if your room is near these.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the icemakers & their drains (see review)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeakerSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Summer road construction was going on right outside the hotel. The construction went all night long and made it near impossible to sleep. I asked the front desk to move rooms, but the hotel was sold out. The room was already $300+ a night. So I asked for a discount for the poor quality stay. They did nothing to accommodate me. I'll never stay at this Marriott again!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
4  Thank marksoenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and spent two nights at the Marriott while on a two week road trip from Virginia to Michigan and back. Check in was quick, staff friendly. We were checking in and immediately leaving the hotel, so our bell hop took our bags to our room and left them for us, so we didn’t have to leave the car and go to our room. When we returned to the hotel, we went to the lounge for a cocktail. They had complimentary cheese, fruit and crackers. Our room was a king with desk and chair, side chair, refrigerator, coffee pot, wide screen TV. We ordered room service for dinner, and we split a NY strip steak with short rib potato cake, hericot verts, and chocolate cake (large enough for 3 people). The food was very good. The only problem was we had no table to eat on. There is no charge for internet. Valet parking is $26.00 and park yourself is $18. As a silver member, we received a coupon for choice of a drink, appetizer, healthy start or 500 credits. There is a lot of construction in the downtown area which makes it almost impossible to get around. Even our GPS would get frustrated and stop attempting to give us directions. We had to back track several times before we got to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This Marriott was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant provided good food, nice atmosphere. Location was good. I walked or took the hotel shuttle to the convention center .7 miles from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cknier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews