We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Most comfortable beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
1 review
“Great place to stay. Most comfortable beds.”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed the weekend of Nov 5th for the Steelers game. When we arrived at the hotel was told our room was not ready because of a college game being played that evening causing a late checkout. We were informed we could check our bags and go to their Hospitality Suite until our room was ready. We went and had something to drink then since this was out first trip to Pittsburgh decided to do some sight seeing and get something to eat. The hotel is located in a very convenient area where it is an easy walk to the Market Square and also visited the Strip area for Steeler souveniors. We then returned to the hotel checked in and our room was beautiful with an awesome view of the Steel City. Customer service was great.We walked back from Heinz Field after the game. We definitely enjoyed our stay and will be back again. Also the Fitness equiptment was some of the best I've seen in hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott. Thank you for patience regarding the wait during your check-in, I and glad that you enjoyed your room and view and thank you for your kind words on your customer service. Once again thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest and have a great day.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    312
    108
    24
    15
See reviews for
203
173
35
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I was in town for a
Steelers game and stayed here after booking through Priceline. I was nervous after reading some negative reviews, but I have to say, this place was great. Super friendly service, quick check in and adequate parking which is attached to the hotel. The hotel was one of the cleanest I have ever been in. All of the staff was very helpful. And the FREE shuttle service is a great amenity. Paul, the driver, was very helpful and informative. He gave us his number to call when we needed to be picked up and was on time. I didn't feel that the hotel was remote from downtown. It seemed like alot of places were within walking distance. And if they weren't, the FREE shuttle runs until 11pm. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
I would like to thank you for your kind response regarding the service and cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you for choosing our hotel and I will be passing your kind comments on to our entire staff and our van driver Paul. I hope that you will choose our hotel in the future and once again thank you for choosing Marriott, have a great day.

Sincerley,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The rooms were recently remodeled earlier this year, which really makes a difference. The rooms feel clean now, there is more lighting, and decor is a little better (i.e. flat screens more appealing that the CRTs they use to have). The bathrooms are still really small and construction has been going on for quite some time.

When the construction first started it was hard to sleep and although not their fault, they offered no amenities for rooms on the construction side, though not their fault, and I'm not knocking their rating down for it. Though construction is still going on and I cannot predict my route to the hotel because I don't know what is going to be closed and what is going to be open. I am a huge Pens fan and the location is Excellent in that sense, would rate location at Excellent if it wasn't for the construction.

The conceirge lounge has recently improved it's evening menu which is great. The first year I was here the customer service was excellent and anytime there was something wrong they would immediately apologize, correct, and then usually some comp (points or one of their get one free cards), but now it doesn't feel like it. Don't get me wrong, I don't complain a lot, but when water doesn't run or it comes out some other color besides clear, then I don't think I should have to ask for a comp. They switch out receptionists here so much that it's hard to remember people. I travel a lot and it feels good to walk in and they say "Good evening Mr./Mrs./Miss XXXXXX" then they just check you in to your preferences (points or amenities, how many keys, whether I want a paper the next day (I prefer Wall Street Jounal on Thursday mornings only)).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you for choosing the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott for your stay. I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the contruction that we have completed on our hotel over the last year and thank you for you patience while we continue to work in the future. I will be passing on your comments to the proper individuals to ensure that you always have a pleasent and expected Marriott stay. Once again thank you for choosing Marriott and have a great day.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Operations
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

9,000 women came to the city of Pittsburgh to sing and praise...nice experience --Women of Faith
Marriott greeted us and made us all feel welcome, even though we cluttered the halls, elevators, restaurants.
Our room was on the 19th floor.. there must be limited double bed rooms because alot of our group had king beds and they provided us with roll a-ways...which was fine.
the rooms are newly decorated and very pretty.. nice views.. we needed extra towels and they brought them immediately.. We splurged and ordered room service for breakfast to save time before returning to the Consol Energy Center for the continued conference. It was delivered on time, fresh and wonderful. thank you Manny for your good service.
Two of our group went back over to the conference at 9, but I stayed behind, finished getting ready and went downstair to get a cart to load up our car for check out... the parking garage is not affiliated with the Marriott, but it is connected.. we entered from the ground floor, very convienient and $18 for 24 hours...not too bad..
Paul was the nice gentleman that followed me to the room, loaded up all of our baggage and followed me to the car and packed us back up...Thanks.
Overall, the staff was wonderful, our room was very, very clean and the view was pretty.
Location is great for the Pittsburgh Penguin games! we may be back for that!!

Room Tip: beside the Consol Energy Center, just walk across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanaiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott. I am pleased that we were able to accomadate your travel needs and once again thank you. I will be passing you comments on to my associates that you mentioned. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel to attend a conference at Dusquesne and it was lovely. The property is clean inside and out, the staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are large and well-appointed. Apparently, there are apartments on the first 10 floors of the building so you will only be able to stay on the 11th to 21st floor, which means that you will have very nice views of the city. The hotel is walking distance to Dusquesne and to the Arena. The bar/restaurant just off the main lobby is nice and the food is good, but be sure to get out and try the Original Oyster House on Market Square and 'Habitat' restaurant at the Fairmont a block away from Market Square)!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott for one night while visiting on business. Overall my stay was very good. The check in process was quick and accommodating. My room was updated nicely and surface clean. The bathroom could have used a little more attention though. The room was equipped with a fridge, a flat screen, lots of outlets, a desk, a comfy chair, internet connection, nice Bath and Body Works toiletries, and the normal items one would expect in a hotel room. Bed was comfy. Water pressure and hot water in the shower were adequate. The food at the restaurant at lunch was great. Room service for dinner and breakfast wasn't great. I do not understand why there seemed to be a difference in quality between the two, but there was. Had I known, I would have gone to the restaurant for all of my meals. Concierge was very helpful with luggage and calling a taxi. Starbucks is in the lobby. I stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to where I was conducting business and because I am usually satisfied with Marriott Hotels. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: This hotel is right off the highway, so ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jross46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank uou for your kind comments regarding your hotel stay, I would also like to thank you for all your feeback . I will be speaking with the departments that you mentioned and correct the problems that you experienced during your stay. Through feeback such as your's our hotel is able to better serve you and other gues'st to a higher level in the future. Once again thank you for all you positve comments, I will be passing these on to each department.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I got a room for $100 a night on Priceline, so I can't really complain. The room was fine--a generic Marriott room, no character but a comfortable bed and (rare in hotel rooms) decent lighting. My interactions with the staff were all positive. But the location is terrible. You think you're downtown, but there's not much nearby and the streets in the immediate area are hard to navigate on foot. I arrived around 8:30 from the airport and was forced to eat in the hotel restaurant. The food wasn't bad but it was overpriced. On Sunday morning I needed to go to the Andy Warhol museum. The bellman recommended against walking and called a cab. But cabs are scarce and he wound up arranging for me to take a Hyatt shuttle that was in the area--a good solution but more testimony to the lousy location. I definitely would not pay full price for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenstater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing