We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine place near Hockey Arena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
299 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Fine place near Hockey Arena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have stayed here before but had the chance to spend another night this week and found the room very clean, the staff very courteous and helpful, the view spectacular, and the stay rewarding. The name of the hotel may be misleading since the only thing really near is the hockey arena, and perhaps Duquesne University, but there is a hotel shuttle which will take you wherever you want. If you want to be near quaint shops, stay at the Sheraton at Station Square. If you want to be in the center of the city, stay at the Omni William Penn. But if you can get a comparable price and want a quiet, comfortable place with a fine restaurant and a good track record, I recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Awarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel and once again welcome back. I'm happy that you were able to enjoy our hotel and thank you for once again joining us. I would like to thank you for your candor and kind words regarding our hotel and I hope that you chose our property in the near future. Please contact me for any future travel needs and have a great holiday season.

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    305
    105
    24
    15
See reviews for
198
168
35
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I booked this hotel for a business trip during a week with a major convention in the city. I had a lot of trouble finding a hotel room and when I got a room here for $300+ I was more than glad not to be staying 10 miles out of the city. My first view was the dated lobby decor, rather dark and cramped compared to modern standards. The restaurant/bar revealed remnants of the elegant place it was when first built, but missing wood trim on the bar's service door, peeling edging around the bar counter and other signs that time was taking its toll were visible.
The room, however was decent, I got good sleep, the hospitality area was a nice touch and the exercise facilities/pool was good. The gentleman who checked me in was also helpful. All in all, not bad, but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveOfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank your comments regarding your stay at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott, our hotel has a lobby redo planned with in the next month and I do agree with you that this can effect your reflection of the hotel. I would like to thank you for your feedback and hope that you will come back to our hotel in the future, please contact me directly in the future with your travel needs so I can make your reservation for you.

Thank You,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed here overnight on business. For us, this was an ideal location in walking distance to our downtown business meeting locations. While not in the "heart" of the downtown retail areas, it is less than a 10 minute walk. As other reviews noted, there is a lot of altitude changes in the local area--the hotel is on a hill, and walks are up and down from here.

The hotel facilities were great. Service was excellent. The rooms are superb and the views are great too. We had an upper floor. It is located next to the new hockey arena.

Internet access was provided and there were no connection issues. The breakfast served was well above average and included a wide variety of choices. The staff was polite and extremely helpful. I was greeted as "sir" so many times I thought I was in the service!

Considering the competitive pricing, this hotel deserves serious consideration for business travelers with meetings in the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston_T_Party
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel the last three years when we make our yearly hockey pilgramage to Pittsburgh! As usual the Marriott was perfect! We were able to check in early, were upgraded and arrived to find an incredibly beautiful and clean hotel room! The staff are incredibly nice and are always willing to help you out!! The location is perfect for watching a Penguins game! We truly love this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deneeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel, I am glad that we were able to provide you a high level of service in our hotel. I am glad that you chose our hotel for your travel needs, thank you once again and please contact me directly for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stay here on an overnight to Pittsburgh. Check in was a breeze. The room was very nice and clean. The room was very spacious, very nicely decorated - and very clean - as was the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The room also had a small fridge and a nice area to hookup the laptop. We had the breakfast buffett in the hotel resturant Steelhead - the food was very good, wait staff was very attentive - an overall good experience. The only thing I would like to mention is there is not hotel parking - you do have to pay for parking - its $19 overnight in the parking garage which is adjacent to the hotel.

All in all a great experience, I would definately stay here again while visiting Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f16_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments regarding your stay at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott. It is great to see that you enjoyed our hotel and the service levels that were given to your during your stay. I hope that you choose our hotel in the future and have a wonderful week. Once again thank you for choosing Marriott and have a great day.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I was here for a convention at the, well, convention center. It was only about a 10 minute walk but there seemed to be so many other comparably priced hotels much closer. The walk to this hotel from the convention center is all uphill. Plus, there isn't really anything "close" by. I ended up taking cabs frequently. What free shuttle are the other reviewers talking about? I didn't know anything about a shuttle and I paid for cabs for three days. The doorman never got me a shuttle ride.

Anyway, I didn't try the restaurant or bar but they seemed fairly busy and I heard the food was good.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. I had a view of "the Igloo" from my room which was cool. I was high enough up that the noise from the roads didn't bother me.

I'd stay here again, but I'd look at other options first that are closer to where I want to be.

I did feel safe walking anywhere around there and the complaints about crossing the street aren't really valid. There are places to cross.

Room Tip: Get high enough up to reduce road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel, I do apologize that our lacation was not ideal for your travel needs. I am happy that you enjoyed the level of service that our hotel provided and that you enjoyed your overall hotel experience. I hope that you will join us again in your future travels.

Have a great day,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed the weekend of Nov 5th for the Steelers game. When we arrived at the hotel was told our room was not ready because of a college game being played that evening causing a late checkout. We were informed we could check our bags and go to their Hospitality Suite until our room was ready. We went and had something to drink then since this was out first trip to Pittsburgh decided to do some sight seeing and get something to eat. The hotel is located in a very convenient area where it is an easy walk to the Market Square and also visited the Strip area for Steeler souveniors. We then returned to the hotel checked in and our room was beautiful with an awesome view of the Steel City. Customer service was great.We walked back from Heinz Field after the game. We definitely enjoyed our stay and will be back again. Also the Fitness equiptment was some of the best I've seen in hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott. Thank you for patience regarding the wait during your check-in, I and glad that you enjoyed your room and view and thank you for your kind words on your customer service. Once again thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest and have a great day.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing