We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very friendly staff. Room comfortable, clean and quiet. 2nd time here and really like it.

Conference facilities really enhance learning experience.
Bellman were wonderful and walked me to the T. Front desk staff eager to please. Gave me the conference rate even for a last minute stay. Will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. It is great to know that our staff was helpful and eager to make your stay great! We cannot wait to see you again! Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    305
    105
    24
    15
See reviews for
198
168
35
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleroi, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My family and I stayed here a weekend in Dec to enjoy the city for all it's Christmas festivities. My husband and I stayed in this hotel in 2011 and I must say: what an improvement. The last time we stayed here it did not meet Marriott standards at all. Since then the rooms have been redone and is finally the way a Marriott should be. We had 2 queen beds and the beds were very comfortable the way Marriott bedding always is. The bathroom was normal size but was very clean. The staff was very friendly and went out of your way to accommodate you in any way they could. The subway is located one block away which made it very easy to get through the city. As we were walking to the subway one of the staff members even suggested a few restaurants to try. The hotel does have a shuttle that will take you through town but my kids wanted to ride the subway. The location of the hotel is right next to Consol Energy Center which is great for attending concerts or hockey games.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmaglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking time from your day to write about your stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am so happy to hear that we were able to be a part of your holiday experience! It also makes me very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest. We hope to see you again very soon! Have a brilliant day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The downtown scene is a very nice one, so the hotels really catch your attention & make U wanna stay or come back. My room over looked the city & @ night all lit up was amazing. Had some drinks in the bar downstairs & it was extremely nice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for taking time and commenting about your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time while staying with us. We hope that the next time you find yourself in Pittsburgh you will be our guest! Have a brilliant day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Booked the Marriott because we were going to Pittsburgh for a Penguins game. It is right across the street from the Consol Energy Center, it couldn't have been a better location. The rooms are a nice size and equipped with a refrigerator. Bed was very comfortable and heating unit is very quiet. We checked in with ease, parked under the hotel ($20 a night)and headed down to the lounge for a bite and a beer. The place was busy with a great pre-game atmosphere. We had very good burgers, decent variety on the menu, and happy hour beer prices. We walked across to the game and came back to the lounge. It was packed and full of fun. The next day we drove 5 minutes to the strip district for breakfast. It is just a great location.

Room Tip: We had a view of the river, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiRErie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest and that our location was perfect for you. We hope to see you again very soon! Have a brilliant day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel overnight while we were going to the Penguins game on a Friday night. Hotel was very clean and staff were very friendly. It was so convenient to the Arena (right across the street). We had breakfast there in the morning and the food was very good (pricey but good).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orioles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
I appreciate you taking time to comment on your stay as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our location made your plans to go to the game easy and convenient. I hope that when in Pittsburgh again we will have you as our guest! Have a brilliant day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We decided at the last minute to get Penguin tickets online for their last game before the Olympic break. Our motivation was because our son & his girlfriend were flying into town for the weekend, and would also be attending the Pens game. We needed a hotel room, and the Marriott was the perfect choice. It's across the street from the Consol Energy Center, and easy access to everything my favorite city and hometown have to offer! The staff at the Marriott are courteous and well trained, the rooms are well appointed, and the only issue I had was the waste of water while waiting a good 10 minutes for it to get hot...we were on one of the upper floors, so perhaps it takes longer because of that, but it seems like a huge waste of water.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pellyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. It is great to hear that you were able to get to see a game before the break and that our hotel made these last minute plans convenient and comfortable for you. As far as the water issues, we will be looking into why this happened so that we can correct it, thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. I hope that we see you again very soon! Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tire Hill, PA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great hotel within walking distance from the Consol Energy Center where we had tickets to see the Penguins play. Absolutely LOVED this place. In all honesty, every single member of the staff were beyond welcoming and friendly. Any question I had was answered professionally and with the utmost care about my "holiday". The hotel was spotless, the room was beautiful, the beds very comfortable, the view very nice. Within the room, however, I would add two additional towels. Two towels for two people is not enough - and I realize we could've requested more, but we did fine with what we had. I would also ask the hotel to at some point consider adding a hot tub - the spa and exercise area was beautiful, but even indoors without a hot tub, the pool water was too cold to swim. The breakfast buffet was BEYOND excellent and the staff there, as well, were friendly and amazing. One quick shout-out to our waitress at breakfast the first day - I asked if I could get a mimosa with breakfast and she wasn't sure - she had to ask the manager, etc. I told her not to worry, I would be fine without one. When I made my trip to the buffet, I returned to a mimosa on my table - I told her not to worry, and she still made sure to get me one. Kudos to great customer service! Kudos to this hotel, all around!

Room Tip: Pool is on the 11th floor, but there was absolutely NO chlorine smell, so any floor will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillieGirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay here with us at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. It makes me very happy to hear that your stay with us was awesome! I am more than proud to be a part of a team that provides our guests with the best service possible and that this customer service is what makes our their stays great. I appreciate the time that you took to comment in such detail about your trip to Pittsburgh. I hope that you will be back in the area again and that we will have you as our guest. Have a brilliant day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing