We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for an ISM course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for an ISM course”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I had opportunity to sit in on an ISM course offered in this hotel and enjoyed it a great deal. Hotel staff was great and amenities were what you would expect. Certainly not a bargain but given the location it was average. Restaurant was excellent and the family loved swimming in the eleventh floor pool.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to escape city sounds and enjoy a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtljcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center are very happy to hear that your time as our guest was enjoyable! I hope that this experience brings you back to see us the next time you are in the Pittsburgh area! Have a brilliant day!

Thank You,

Amy-Jo J.
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    320
    112
    24
    15
See reviews for
208
175
35
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Went for a weekend. Being a platinum member, we were on the lounge floor. Hotel is not at close to most attractions, other than the hockey arena (next door!). Having said that, most attractions are less than 30 minutes walk, with Market square being about 10 minutes. Our room was nice, with a comfy king size bed; the AC was a little loud.

However, breakfast at the lounge was the worst at any Marriott worldwide we've ever been to, regardless of the brand (ie Courtyard, residence inn). Scrambled eggs were old and dry, the fruit was not fresh, the toasters were hardly working. The coffee was OK. A nice note about the hostess, who was very friendly and welcoming.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ggtirevite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am happy to know that there were parts of your stay that were good but I am truly sorry that there were parts of your stay that were not. I will be speaking with the managers of the Food and Beverage team so they are aware of the issues that you faced and they can look at the time you were here and see what happened and why. We here at the City Center want our guests to have a perfect stay and we are truly sorry this was not the experience you had while staying with us. As I said we will be using this information to improve for our future and correct these issues. I hope that you will give us another chance the next time you come to the Pittsburgh area so you can see these changes. Thank you for your time, I hope we see you soon, and I hope you have a wonderful day!

Thank You,

Amy-Jo J,
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homeworth, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here again to visit some colleges in Pittsburgh. Our visit last time was, well, less than impressive. The problems we had encountered before were gone. The room was spotless, the bathroom was clean, the bed were not lumpy, the windows were not dirty, the drapes were not broke, and the front desk staff was very helpful and welcoming! The location is still VERY convenient and nice. Rooms are very modern and sleek. Maybe after this "Second Chance Stay" this will be our go to hotel for Pittsburgh!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
I am so happy to hear that you came back to the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center and gave us another chance. I am also very happy to know that this time was a better experience for you than the last. We want all of our guests to have a great experience when staying with us and we take all guest comments very seriously. I am happy to know that the issues that were brought to us in the past were corrected. I hope we see you again very soon! Have an amazing day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo J.
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Pool opened at 5:30, good to get in a swim before a client meeting. They also had a small store for snacks, a Starbucks and a bar/grill on site. It was conveniently located and relatively clean. Beds were super comfortable as most Marriott locations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alphillyswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for the review of your stay with us here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am glad to know that the hotel was convenient and enjoyable. We really appreciate the information that you have provided about your stay for our future guests. I hope we see you again very soon! Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo J.
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Checked in online and room was ready when I arrived. They were fully booked for a gymnastics tournament but it didn't seem hectic or crowded at all. One of the nicer run concierge lounges I've encountered.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beccagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear beccagold,

Thank you very much for taking your time to provide valuable feedback on your stay with us. We are truly delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of our mobile check-in services and enjoyed our concierge lounge. We look forward to seeing you and your friends back on another visit to the city.

Have a wonderful rest of the week!

Thank you,

Selim S. S.

Rooms Manager
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My hubby and I stayed here while in town for a Pittsburgh Pirates game. We had a meeting in town the next morning so it seemed like a good place to pick. It was conveniently located to the places we needed to be so travel time was a minimum. The room was very clean and ample in size. It was a Sunday night so even though the restaurant was closed , the bar/lounge was open. We enjoyed some wings and soup there - all very tasty. We agreed it would be a great place to stay if we come back for a Penguins game this season. We will be back, I'm sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I am happy to know that you enjoyed your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. It is also good to know that you enjoyed your meal in the hotel lounge. We are looking forward to seeing you soon for a hockey game! Have a brilliant day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo J.
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and were pleased with everything. We had a room on the 20th floor and we could hear a bit of street noise, but we had the fan on so it was not bad at all and I am a light sleeper. The staff greeted us warmly as we arrived and had our room ready. The room was clean and relatively large considering it was in a large city. The elevators did take a bit of a wait sometimes but it was not horrible. We had the delicious breakfast buffet in the restaurant and had drinks in the bar late one night. Both experiences were great! Again, the staff was very prompt and kind. One of the bellhops, Cody, was especially helpful. He helped us to figure out the best way to get places and even arranged for the shuttle to take us one place at the last minute. He was so very kind and knowledgeable. One night we walked to a Pirates game and another night we took the subway. Both were easy ways to get there.

Room Tip: Our high room was nice. They did have signs as you got off the elevator reminding people to be quie...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you hang your towels up you can reuse them the next day.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. It makes us all so happy to know that our guests are enjoying their time while staying with us and that one of the main reason for this is our staff. We take great pride in our customer service and I am so happy to know that we were able to influence your time in Pittsburgh in a positive way. I hope that we will see you again soon! Have an amazing day.

Thank You,
Amy-Jo J.
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing