We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel is outstanding! From the start everything was perfect. This hotel offers great rates. It is located in walking distance from many restaurants and attractions. The Valet was great after a long day of driving and they were so speedy. The Front Desk was so welcoming and helpful. I have never encountered a Front Desk staff like this-always smiling and happy. The room was very clean and modern. The restaurant was delicious. The breakfast buffet is such a deal considering how much food you receive and the great quality. The entire staff was awesome. Just walking through the hotel I would run into managers and associates and EVERYONE wanted to make sure my stay was going well. This was my favorite hotel and I will return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griffin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your positive feedback will be shared with all team members and management staff. If there is anything at all that I can assist with any future visits please feel free to contact me directly at sean.groth@hilton.com.
Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed here for 1 night to visit Pitt. We wanted a hotel within walking distance of the University of Pittsburgh

As a hilton honors member, Sean growth the asst manager, upgraded us to a suite which was a nice surprise! My son and I were able to watch 2 diff tv's and have each our own bathroom which was nice.

The hotel has a shuttle bus which makes it easy to get around the area.

The front desk person that checked us in, Kelsey, was friendly and helpful

The breakfast in the hotel was good, in the morning- service was attentive

All in all, the HGI was nice and I would stay here again

Room Tip: higher floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyf842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your positive feedback will be shared with all team members and management staff. If there is anything at all that I can assist with any future visits please feel free to contact me directly at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed here for one night during my son's hockey tournament. It was fairly easy to find and we parked in the parking ramp for $5 a block away. As previously stated, the entrance is kind of strange, you have to go up several stairs in order to get to the front desk. We had luggage plus my 12 yr old son had all of his hockey gear so it was a little awkward getting up there. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Another odd thing is that the bathroom door is very heavy and won't stay open. There's no fan in there so when you take a shower, you have to prop the door open in order to get the steam out. We were there less than 12 hours but enjoyed our night's stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauzy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your feedback will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement any necessary corrective action.
I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay an if there is anyway we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This was my first visit to Pittsburgh and this hotel . I came here to see the Steelers game with my two sons. The hotel was easy to find and in a good location.The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we always strive to be the best and take your feedback very serious. I am delighted to hear that the overall service met your expectations and that you were very pleased with your overall stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and I assure all of your comments will be shared with all of my team member’s. I appreciate your time and look forward to servicing you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting The University of Pittsburg and Carnegie Mellon University with my two sons. It is centrally located and very close to the Pitt campus. It is also close to restaurants and a gas station and a CVS is next door. The parking garage is adjacent to the hotel, but if you have an SUV that is taller than 6'2", your vehicle will not fit through the clearance beams. There is valet parking, but you still need to somehow get your vehicle through. We arrived late and our room was ready for us. Upon entering, we all noticed a strong smell of cleaning solvent. While unpacking my son took his shoes off and was walking around and stepped on a wet, stained spot on the carpet. It was from this stain that the smell was coming from. Obviously, someone had spilled something on the carpet and was trying to clean it up.The room was very small and crammed. The beds were small and definitely not queen size. They were extremely uncomfortable and was probably the worst night sleep I ever got. The room was stuffy and the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan which was very uncomfortable. We will not be staying here again in the future. I will spend a few extra dollars to be comfortable and not be grossed out with a dirty carpet.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very serriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.
I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay an if there is anyway we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were visiting colleges in Pittsburgh and this hotel is very convenient to both University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie-Mellon University, and somewhat convenient to Duquesne University. Overall, the room was comfortable and clean and the service was very good. The restaurant was good for dinner, but we felt the breakfast buffet was overpriced and just mediocre. Most restaurants these days offer a free breakfast. Parking was expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tms_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we always strive to be the best and take your feedback very serious. I am delighted to hear that the overall service met your expectations and that you were very pleased with your overall stay. I do apologize for the parking charges; however, space is very limited in the Pittsburgh/Oakland area and we do our best to accommodate our guest needs. Your feedback is much appreciated and I assure all of your comments will be shared with all of my team member’s. I appreciate your time and look forward to servicing you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My wife and I went for a long weekend to visit our son at Carnegie Mellon.This was our first time in Pittsburgh. The hotel was well located and easy to find in our airport rental car. Figuring out the hotel's entrance was another story. Even though HGIs are "value priced" hotels, you would expect to be able to pull up front to a covered entrance foyer, get out of the car and hand over the keys to the valet. This is especially nice when your are disabled and it is raining. We arrived ~ 11 PM, tried that, only to find no one, and a sign taped to the front door that said after _? o'clock, use ramp. The ramp is an ungodly steep affair, leading up a floor where the valets and front desk are waiting. Problem there is, the flat "landing" at the top of the ramp only fit one car. Nearly every time we returned to the hotel, the landing was taken, and the attendants would motion for us to leave the car there, and "they would take care of everything". Problem there is, I can't safely navigate steep inclines using my cane, and trying to get in my wheelchair is even more perilous.

Sooo..., we always had to wait on the ramp "next up", until the car in front was driven up into the lot, we could pull up onto the landing, where I could exit safely.

Big, unsafe, embarrassing hassle, and probably not ADA compliant.

Once inside, the hotel was what we had come to expect from Hilton...very good. One of the two main elevators broke down for a day, and our room had a noisy refrigerator. Both items were fixed within a day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP1NDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we always strive to be the best and take your feedback very serious. I am delighted to hear that the overall service met your expectations and that you were very pleased with your overall stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and I assure all comments and/or concerns will be shared with all of my team member’s ensuring we implement the correct changes to make sure all of our guests leave satisfied.
I appreciate your time and look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 74 in Pittsburgh
4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £92 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing