We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night, pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“1 night, pleasant experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed 1 night in July to visit family and see the town. Check in was extremely fast and staff was friendly. We used the valet service and had no problems getting our car quickly when we requested it to go out. We forgot to bring our fan, front desk staff found one for us to use for the night. Thank you! We can't sleep without white noise! Room was very clean, pillows were fabulous, didn't eat at the restaurant, but we did have a drink in the bar...servers were friendly but a bit slow with getting us served even though we were the only ones at the bar. Great location near University and downtown.

Room Tip: We stayed on 7th floor. Great views of the city. Elevators were fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgmg2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the F&B service; however, am very pleased to see that we met your overall expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    309
    132
    47
    28
See reviews for
437
114
54
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2013

my husband was outpatient at UPMC and appreciated the courtesy van and the short walk to hospital and the helpfulness of the staff...................................if we return to pittsburgh we will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the entire team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Once again thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

One night stay for visit to University of Pittsburgh & Duquesne University. Great location for either. Clean room and facilities! Valet parking comes with a cost but provides relief from finding spot elsewhere, in a busy area of the city.

Easy walk to Pitt campus.

Breakfast buffet was well done, with a la carte an option.

Definitely my first choice for where to stay when I return to this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. I am very pleased to hear that you were overall satisfied with your trip and that the location was a great fit for your soon to be Pitt Alumni.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed the weekend (one night) at Hilton Gardens when in town for the Vintage Grand Prix. The accommodations were fine, about what you’d expect for the price. The location was very good for our purposes and the hotel provides a very useful free shuttle service that we made excellent use of. They will not only drop you off but gladly return to pick you up later.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful – this was the standout attribute of this location. They have a small bar and restaurant in the hotel too, although we didn’t use it. I’ll stay there again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I am also very happy to hear the the shuttle service during the Pittsburgh Vintage Grand Prix met your expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, PA
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here 3 days in order to tour Carnegie Mellon U. and U. of Pittsburgh with my teen daughters. Great location in Oakland, free shuttle that took us to Carnegie Mellon and could have used to go to South Side Works (a shopping and entertainment center including many restaurants, shops and movie theater) but we drove. Nice to have onsite valet parking with very friendly, helpful staff ($18 per day & free in & out privileges, but on last day there is no charge and can leave car there after checking out -- they will store luggage). Easy walk up Forbes Avenue to University of Pittsburgh with its Cathedral of Learning Nationality Rooms and our favorite restaurant -- the Porch at Schenley Plaza across from Cathedral of Learning; Starbucks & Caribou Coffee & Breuggers Bagels within 2 blocks (all on Forbes toward Pitt). Very clean hotel with comfortable small onsite restaurant (great choice when you are exhausted after driving and just want to grab something to eat). Nice to have microwave and refrigerator in room; free coffee in lobby in morning & lemon water during day; sometimes free cookies. Beds were uncomfortable first two nights until we realized they are adjustable -- mine was then great but daughters didn't feel difference (overheard same from others -- some beds adjustments worked, others didn't and were VERY firm). Would definitely stay here again -- GREAT staff, great location, convenience of shuttle and parking; well insulated walls and no noise issues despite being in city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStravelerfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the entire team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Once again thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here along with other family members in other rooms. Everything worked well for all of us. Valet parking was prompt and courteous. Breakfast was either buffet or from the menu. The food was well prepared and not overly priced. The hotel is well located for almost everything in the Oakland section of Pittsburgh. McKee Place is a two way street making entrance to the garage pretty easy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
First and foremost I would like to personally thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we pride ourselves on delivering a true “Home away from Home” hospitable experience and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Friendly welcoming Staff - Very accomodating as well. From the Valet to the MOD, from the Shuttle van driver to the Staff, all were genuinely willing to help and assure that my stay would be the best stay ever. Forbes Ave has a vibrant feel to it thanks to the HGI and to the University of Pittsburgh. All the amneties are in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the entire team. I am very happy to hear that the location of the hotel was extremely convenient and also that the staff was able to enhance your experience.

Once again thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,023 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing