We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location if you are touring University of Pittsburgh. We were on an all day program and the hotel was close enough to go back to during a break. Good restaurants are in walking distance and the hotel runs a shuttle (although I can't speak for it never having taken it) to other neighborhoods. Coffee in the lobby in the mornings and cookies and infused water in the afternoons were a nice convenience. The only negative we found in this hotel were the beds. The platform juts out and more than once we found ourselves walking into it. The beds have an adjustable firmness feature. We were on a low floor facing the front of the hotel and could hear people at night so if this is a factor ask to be higher up and in the back. I will stay here again if my son chooses Pitt.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JRP0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear JRP0628,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to University of Pittsburgh, many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the bedding package we offer and assure you that your comments will be reviewed with our leadership team.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    286
    127
    43
    27
See reviews for
396
108
49
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Every aspect of our stay at this hotel was great except for one, the noise of the pipes was not pleasant.. We had room 900. The pile driving sound of the pipes next door kept us from sleeping well at night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Taxidevome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manger at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. Although I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with the service you received I must apologize for the noise disturbance and any inconvenience cuased by the noisy pipes.

We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action. We hope to have the chance to make this up to you and once again we are very sorry for the incident.

Hospitably yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

When you arrive by cab or airport shuttle, you are dropped off on Forbes Ave., and you enter the hotel somewhat between floors. You either walk down a set of stairs to meeting rooms, or up to check in. An odd arrangement. I was glad that I didn't have heavy luggage. I was traveling solo, and had booked a king. The room was attractive, but really tiny (and next to the service elevator). I immediately hit my shins on the bed frame, took a photo (see one labeled room 511), and went back down to trade rooms. Thankfully, a switch was possible, so I headed to room 601, which had 2 queens, and was definitely larger. Again, the room was attractive. The bed was extra extra firm, and I couldn't seem to adjust it. Other than that, all was great. It was nice to have a personal Keurig machine in the room. If I had stayed longer, the microwave and fridge would have come in handy as well. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the location was close to Pitt, the Carnegie Museum, and other Oakland District sites.

Room Tip: Room 511 (1K) was super tiny. Room 601 (2 Q) was larger, but close to the main elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogersjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our new look, but apologize for any inconvenience you encountered throughout your stay. Our goal is to go out of our way to make every guest feel welcome and ensure their overall experience is a positive one. Your feedback will be shared with the team to reiterate how important it is to deliver great service. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our beds and entracnce to the hotel. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Conveniently located within easy walking distance of PITT's campus. Great customer service during check-in and check-out. Clean and comfortable rooms. Free wifi in rooms. The only con is that the nightly rate was jacked up for Family Weekend. Usually we pay $149+taxes and we paid $215+taxes on Fri/Sat and $180+ on Sun. Other weekends during the year I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. After reading your comments, I am pleased to see that our team was able to provide exceptional service throughout your stay. Our entire team believes in going above and beyond in order to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and memorable experience once they enter the hotel. I see that you visited the area due to a planned visit to the University of Pittsburgh; we hope you enjoyed your visit and we wish your child well in their years as a PITT panther.

Thank you for your time as well as feedback on your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

no free breakfast - valet only parking (for $20 per day), mattresses moved around on odd bed frames, heat/air blower very loud. Very convenient to UPitt - clean, accommodating, no problems. Wish they had put coffee out for longer during the morning since they don't serve breakfast. Liked having the Keurig in the room. Hotel was a basic 2bed room - nothing particularly special about it - Didn't have a chance to use pool, fitness center etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sharyl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with our location; however, I would like to apologize for the issues/inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I assure you that your comments will be shared with the team members in order to implement corrective action where necessary.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We found the Hotel to be very agreeable for our needs. It was close to the University of Pittsburgh, so while my husband was attending meetings I could walk around the University. As for restaurants there was a two block area of all different types to choose from,from bagels to Chinese Buffet, all in walking distance!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

For the money we paid...I was expecting more than average everything, maybe a bigger room with immaculate comfy beds. Not the case! Towels were grey with stains on it... There was no toaster and also the room was kind of small and very dusty! We called in advance for a shuttle and when we arrived at the Amtrak Station we were told we need to wait 45 min. It was raining and I was traveling with 3 kids. The only good things: since the cab system in Pittsburgh is virtually non-existent, we were very glad to be just 2 min walk from PITT and the morning we left we were lucky enough to have a shuttle available. The driver was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Brindusa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place during your recent business trip to the area. We appreciate your feedback, and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered throughout your stay. We appreciate the insight so we can address and resolve the issues you mentioned. We strive to ensure all of our guests have positive experiences during their stay and we failed to deliver in your case. Thank you again for your feedback and once again my apologies.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
2.0 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.5 mi away
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing