We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The staff are anything but helpful. Reservation was messed up. They have an issue that causes the hotel to shake, very well aware of it and act like they aren't. Now have Keurigs, but was told I would be charged for hot chocolate even though I do not drink coffee or Earl Grey tea. Parking is a complete disaster. Over priced and no room. Also you have to go down to get your car. They refuse to bring it when you call so it can be there and warm by the time you get down stairs. Very disappointed in this hotel as a Hilton Honors member.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.

I would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our Front Desk personnel and also with the Valet department. Unfortunately due to security measures we do ask guests to present the valet voucher prior to retrieving the vehicle. I would also like to mention that based on your comments we have now implemented new procedures in order to better serve our guests.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 879 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great location. Great rooms. Restaurant. Bar. You can walk to the "dirty O", Primanti Bros and more. There are so many good bars and restaurants in the neighborhood. We also took a taxi to and from Steelers, Penguins and Pirates. Shuttle is great too. Just too busy on game days if you want to be spoiled and have a flex schedule you need the taxi. Pittsburgh Taxi drivers are too great. There are some good ones, but for some reason, we've run into a lot of bad ones too. Do not try to get a taxi home from The Rivers after a game. It won't happen. Please take an incline ride and party on carson street at the south shore. These are musts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Samuel C,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience here at the hotel and also the insight on our wonderful city and things to do while in town. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our location and also with the service you receive during your visits. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Hospitably Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed the weekend for a football game and to revisit our alma mater, Pitt. The hotel is in a great location in the heart of Oakland, great for anyone touring any of the surrounding campuses. The rooms were nice and updated, they also offer a shuttle that will take you anywhere within 3 miles. We used the shuttle to get to and from the game, they picked us up and dropped us off at the Gateway station of the subway.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Michael M,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the entire team.

We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to PITT. Once again thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your experience.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

we were visiting someone at UPMC, and this hotel worked out great. Its in the University area, so lots of college students and good food. Most things are in walking distance. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troymoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear troymoga,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. It is great to hear that you were extremely pleased with our location to the UPMC hospitals and also to many of the other businesses within walking distance.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel is in a great location if you are touring University of Pittsburgh. We were on an all day program and the hotel was close enough to go back to during a break. Good restaurants are in walking distance and the hotel runs a shuttle (although I can't speak for it never having taken it) to other neighborhoods. Coffee in the lobby in the mornings and cookies and infused water in the afternoons were a nice convenience. The only negative we found in this hotel were the beds. The platform juts out and more than once we found ourselves walking into it. The beds have an adjustable firmness feature. We were on a low floor facing the front of the hotel and could hear people at night so if this is a factor ask to be higher up and in the back. I will stay here again if my son chooses Pitt.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank JRP0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear JRP0628,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to University of Pittsburgh, many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the bedding package we offer and assure you that your comments will be reviewed with our leadership team.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Every aspect of our stay at this hotel was great except for one, the noise of the pipes was not pleasant.. We had room 900. The pile driving sound of the pipes next door kept us from sleeping well at night.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Taxidevome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, Assistant General Manger at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. Although I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with the service you received I must apologize for the noise disturbance and any inconvenience cuased by the noisy pipes.

We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action. We hope to have the chance to make this up to you and once again we are very sorry for the incident.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

When you arrive by cab or airport shuttle, you are dropped off on Forbes Ave., and you enter the hotel somewhat between floors. You either walk down a set of stairs to meeting rooms, or up to check in. An odd arrangement. I was glad that I didn't have heavy luggage. I was traveling solo, and had booked a king. The room was attractive, but really tiny (and next to the service elevator). I immediately hit my shins on the bed frame, took a photo (see one labeled room 511), and went back down to trade rooms. Thankfully, a switch was possible, so I headed to room 601, which had 2 queens, and was definitely larger. Again, the room was attractive. The bed was extra extra firm, and I couldn't seem to adjust it. Other than that, all was great. It was nice to have a personal Keurig machine in the room. If I had stayed longer, the microwave and fridge would have come in handy as well. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the location was close to Pitt, the Carnegie Museum, and other Oakland District sites.

Room Tip: Room 511 (1K) was super tiny. Room 601 (2 Q) was larger, but close to the main elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogersjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our new look, but apologize for any inconvenience you encountered throughout your stay. Our goal is to go out of our way to make every guest feel welcome and ensure their overall experience is a positive one. Your feedback will be shared with the team to reiterate how important it is to deliver great service. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our beds and entracnce to the hotel. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,323 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £85 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing