We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, location, noisy A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a great stay and would go there again in a second. Good location and nearby amenities, including the Phipps Conservatory. Our new baby slept great which was a huge relief. Only downside was the very loud A/C unit, which we couldn't use while we slept.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jefferson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Jefferson,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy about the praise of our staff and have passed along those comments. We feel that the staff here is what makes our hotel stand out from the others. I have also passed along your concerns about the loud cooling unit from your room to our Maintenance staff in the hopes of improving our units. If you have any plans on coming back to Pittsburgh, we hope you will stay with us again!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Not one staff member knew how to perform their jobs properly. Check-In Clerk made multiple billing errors that the check-out clerk could not correct. Staff could not recommend a single restaurant in the area. The bartender did not know how to change channels on the bar TV's. Valet staff rarely on duty and the hotel has valet parking only. Rooms were very noisy and the bed squeaks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Lisa,

We strive to give exceptional service every day, for every guest; I sincerely apologize for falling short during your stay. It is never the hotel’s intention to displease a guest and we are humbled by your remarks. I would also like to thank you for following up with me so that I can ensure that your experience never happens again to any of our guests. We take your comments very seriously and I have share your comments with the approiate team members in order to correct the issues and prevent any future guests to experience what you had.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
412-683-2040 x4128

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Move on to the next hotel option. If not try your luck. It is THAT terrible. Room smelled, you could hear people from the outside within your room, internet kept timing out. Billing was not as they said it would be, the price was changed without notification.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you Jerry for providing us with your experience while staying with us. We take your comments very seriously and I assure that it will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to prevent any future guests to experience what you had. It is my understanding that you spoke with our Property Accountant this regarding your billing situation, but if there is anything else you would like to discuss about your stay, please let me know.
If you have any plans on coming back to the Pittsburgh area, I would like to offer another chance on showing you how great our hotel is and making your stay with us, extremely satisfying!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
412-683-2040 x4128
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a very good stay at this Hilton Inn, during our College Visit to Carniege_Mellon University. Bit pricey, but close to Pittsburgh Downtown. Excellent Staff, Excellent Location and Excellent Breakfast Service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Venkataramana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Venkataramana

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our location and staff to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back after your son is accepted into Carnegie Mellon, and hope to serve you in the years to come!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have stayed here a number of times as my daughter goes to Pitt. I will be there this Friday to bring her home for the summer. The location is excellent if you are dealing with almost anything in Oakland such as Pitt or the Hospitals. Plenty of stores and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The onsite restaurant is pretty good. The staff is friendly and the rooms, while nothing special are clean and decent. I agree with some previous posters the lobby is weird and not convenient for walking in or cab arrival but it's a minor point

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. We will be sure to share your positive experiences with you and your daughter to the staff. I will be working with our front desk team in order to fine tune the welcome experience for our guests whenever they enter our hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again whenever you come back with your daughter to PITT.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Family gathering point for family with two college students . Every person we encountered during our two night stay was very courteous and respectful. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was very clean. Like all cities, parking is an added expense, even valet service was professional. A great spot on the Pitt campus; just a few minutes from downtown. Great weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deuce_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking time and spending the weekend with us. We appreciate your comments about our staff and valet service, and will be sure to pass that along your praise to them. We hope that you will stay with us again when the Fall semester begins and see your students graduate soon from PITT!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was probably the nicest visit that we've had in years. Front Desk, Managers, Valets, Breakfast Staff, Dinner Staff, Housekeeping, even the few Building Maintenance Employees that we passed in the hallways were all professional and helpful. EVERY SINGLE staff member that we had ANY interaction with was pleasant. I was genuinely impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Joe,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you had an 5 star stay with us, and especially enjoyed our staff here at the hotel. We feel that it is the people that makes a stay with us truly extremely satisfying. If you have any plans on coming back to the Pittsburgh area, we hope you will stop on by again!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
1.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,379 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £78 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing