We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lehigh Valley, PA, United States
1 review
“Great Location - Average Hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

There was a large party in the lobby outside of the bar. They were extremely loud, many apparently intoxicated, and there was no other place to have a drink and be able to have a conversation other than going back to my room. Even in the business center, an enclosed room a floor below, and on the opposite side of the hotel, it was too loud to have a conversation. Also, the frames of the bed are very difficult to walk around repeatedly without at least one time banging your shin into the frame at the foot of the beds during a stay. Also, we rented a second room, and the person staying in that room found hair and a brown fluid in the bathtub when she entered the room. She called the front desk, and someone came and cleaned the tub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Let me thank you Mark for visiting our hotel and taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. It is always disappointing to know that a guest did not have the quality of stay with us that I expect from our hotel. Unfortunately we had many weddings that weekend which caused the spirited conditions that you encountered in our Lounge that night. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry about the conditions of the second bathroom that you had. I have passed along your comments to our housekeeping department in order to help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. If there was anything else we could have done in order to make your stay with us a 5-star stay, please let me know. If you have any future plans on coming back to the Oakland area, please let me know and I will ensure that you next time with us will be extremely satisfying!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
412-683-2040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    315
    135
    48
    29
See reviews for
449
120
54
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Excellent location , great breakfast Buffett , great shuttle service, great lounge and happy hour, airport bus 28x drops you right at hotel, 2 blocks from the famous original hot dog, helpful friendly staff, very clean rooms, microwave and fridge in room , great workout room, free wifi, free newspapers. This is a gem!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pncpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and staying with us and giving us such a positive review of the hotel! I have passed along your praise about the staff and the great food & beverage that we offer in order to confirm the great work that they have done. If you have any plans on coming back to the Pittsburgh area, we hope you will stop on by again!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIlver Spring, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Overall the hotel was great and is centrally located near the Universities. However, the hotel beds adjust from soft to firm, and I had a difficult time adjusting the bed to my satisfaction. Ended up sleeping on the firm setting because I couldn't find that happy medium... Otherwise the hotel is in line with the Hilton standards.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Garden Inn - Pittsburgh University. Everyone I came in contact with from check in to check out were very professional. the hotel was clean the rooms were very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone regardless if it is business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I will pass on your praise of our hotel & it's staff, to the rest of the team in order to confirm the hard work & dedication that they have for our hotel. I am glad that you are now found that Hilton Honors website has many useful tools associated with your profile. If you have any plans on coming back to the Pittsburgh, we hope that you will stay with us again. You Can Count On Us!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a great stay and would go there again in a second. Good location and nearby amenities, including the Phipps Conservatory. Our new baby slept great which was a huge relief. Only downside was the very loud A/C unit, which we couldn't use while we slept.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jefferson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jefferson,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy about the praise of our staff and have passed along those comments. We feel that the staff here is what makes our hotel stand out from the others. I have also passed along your concerns about the loud cooling unit from your room to our Maintenance staff in the hopes of improving our units. If you have any plans on coming back to Pittsburgh, we hope you will stay with us again!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Not one staff member knew how to perform their jobs properly. Check-In Clerk made multiple billing errors that the check-out clerk could not correct. Staff could not recommend a single restaurant in the area. The bartender did not know how to change channels on the bar TV's. Valet staff rarely on duty and the hotel has valet parking only. Rooms were very noisy and the bed squeaks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Lisa,

We strive to give exceptional service every day, for every guest; I sincerely apologize for falling short during your stay. It is never the hotel’s intention to displease a guest and we are humbled by your remarks. I would also like to thank you for following up with me so that I can ensure that your experience never happens again to any of our guests. We take your comments very seriously and I have share your comments with the approiate team members in order to correct the issues and prevent any future guests to experience what you had.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
412-683-2040 x4128
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Move on to the next hotel option. If not try your luck. It is THAT terrible. Room smelled, you could hear people from the outside within your room, internet kept timing out. Billing was not as they said it would be, the price was changed without notification.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Jerry for providing us with your experience while staying with us. We take your comments very seriously and I assure that it will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to prevent any future guests to experience what you had. It is my understanding that you spoke with our Property Accountant this regarding your billing situation, but if there is anything else you would like to discuss about your stay, please let me know.
If you have any plans on coming back to the Pittsburgh area, I would like to offer another chance on showing you how great our hotel is and making your stay with us, extremely satisfying!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
412-683-2040 x4128
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,103 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing