We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK spot near the University of Pittsburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An OK spot near the University of Pittsburgh”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Choices are limited in this vicinity, but the Garden Inn here is a perfectly acceptable spot. Parking is convenient in the hotel garage, and the rooms are clean and efficient, if small. Short of taking the car out, dinner at the hotel restaurant (more like a lobby/bar) is about the only option in the immediate student-oriented neighborhood, unless you're looking for a burger and a beer. Service was fine, and the vegetables fresh, but options are limited. Breakfast is not included, but is reasonably priced, depending on how you interpret the "buffet." There seems to be little logic to the various pricing options, which were not consistent from day to day. The dining room organization leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Elevators (2) can be slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for spending your time with us recently. Our goal is for everyone to have a 5* stay with us and apologize for yours being average. Our location is unique in that we are right in the heart of Oakland, which is home to 3 universities, & 3 hospitals. Where it is true within walking distance is a lot of student-orientated dining, we do offer a shuttle service within 3 miles for guests who do not want to drive to local attractions or dining options outside of Oakland. As for your experience with the restaurant, if you could let me know in detail the issues you had with it in order to correct any issues for future guests of ours. If you have any plans on coming back to the area, please let me know in order to make sure you have a extremely satisfying experience!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
412-683-2040 x4128
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    300
    130
    45
    27
See reviews for
421
110
53
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I am being generous in giving 4 stars as the staff is very friendly. BUT... Replace the awful beds please! The number adjustable feature is a gimmick that does not work, these are the most uncomfortable beds! And the platform bed in an already small room just means hitting your shins and painful moments. Stop featuring these beds as something special and get rid of them!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alsaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We would also like to thank you for your years of business whenever you come into the Pittsburgh area. We always strive to give exceptional service every day, and we thank you for confirming the hard work our hotel staff does day in & day out. I would like to apologize for the comfort of our Garden Sleep System beds; we have found that some people love them, and some people cannot get a comfortable night's sleep, and for that we are sorry to hear that you were one of them. Unfortunately, the GSS beds & platforms are required for Hilton Garden Inn's and we are unable to replace them with a more traditional mattress/box-spring setting. We do have a few rooms that are have beds set up on a box-spring due to ADA requirements [such as 720 or 820] you might be able to have a more restful night's sleep. Whenever you have plans on coming back to the Oakland area, please let me know and I will do whatever it takes to ensure you have a 5-star stay!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
412-683-2040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Wifi is included.

No breakfast is included - which would be nice.

The room appeared clean and was moderately attractive. The location is pretty gross - even though this hotel is right by UPitt, and is an easy walk to the hospital and undergraduate campus, it's in a spot that is behind the campus and looks pretty godawful.

The parking is pricey and is valet only, but they're quick to help you to park the car and retrieve it within minutes with easy in-and-out privileges.

Overall, if I go back to Pittsburgh, I'll stay in another hotel. It's way overpriced and not so impressive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drerinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and commenting about your stay, we will utilize your comments in order to fine-tune our service in order and provide the maximum guest experience for all. It is disappointing to here that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your stay. We feel that our location is primed right along Forbes Avenue which is one of the main arteries here in the city; nestled in the Oakland neighborhood of Pittsburgh, within 5 blocks of 3 hospitals & 2 universities. I have passed along your comments about the aesthetics of our building to see if there is anything to improve our location.
I would like to thank you for the positive comments about our valet & cleanliness and will pass along your praise of the hotel to our staff. If you have any future plans on coming back to Pittsburgh, please let me know so I can make sure that your stay with us will show you how excellent we are.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
Bill.Theiss@hilton.com
412-683-2040 x4128
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, PA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

There was a large party in the lobby outside of the bar. They were extremely loud, many apparently intoxicated, and there was no other place to have a drink and be able to have a conversation other than going back to my room. Even in the business center, an enclosed room a floor below, and on the opposite side of the hotel, it was too loud to have a conversation. Also, the frames of the bed are very difficult to walk around repeatedly without at least one time banging your shin into the frame at the foot of the beds during a stay. Also, we rented a second room, and the person staying in that room found hair and a brown fluid in the bathtub when she entered the room. She called the front desk, and someone came and cleaned the tub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Let me thank you Mark for visiting our hotel and taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. It is always disappointing to know that a guest did not have the quality of stay with us that I expect from our hotel. Unfortunately we had many weddings that weekend which caused the spirited conditions that you encountered in our Lounge that night. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry about the conditions of the second bathroom that you had. I have passed along your comments to our housekeeping department in order to help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. If there was anything else we could have done in order to make your stay with us a 5-star stay, please let me know. If you have any future plans on coming back to the Oakland area, please let me know and I will ensure that you next time with us will be extremely satisfying!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
412-683-2040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Excellent location , great breakfast Buffett , great shuttle service, great lounge and happy hour, airport bus 28x drops you right at hotel, 2 blocks from the famous original hot dog, helpful friendly staff, very clean rooms, microwave and fridge in room , great workout room, free wifi, free newspapers. This is a gem!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pncpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and staying with us and giving us such a positive review of the hotel! I have passed along your praise about the staff and the great food & beverage that we offer in order to confirm the great work that they have done. If you have any plans on coming back to the Pittsburgh area, we hope you will stop on by again!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIlver Spring, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Overall the hotel was great and is centrally located near the Universities. However, the hotel beds adjust from soft to firm, and I had a difficult time adjusting the bed to my satisfaction. Ended up sleeping on the firm setting because I couldn't find that happy medium... Otherwise the hotel is in line with the Hilton standards.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Garden Inn - Pittsburgh University. Everyone I came in contact with from check in to check out were very professional. the hotel was clean the rooms were very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone regardless if it is business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I will pass on your praise of our hotel & it's staff, to the rest of the team in order to confirm the hard work & dedication that they have for our hotel. I am glad that you are now found that Hilton Honors website has many useful tools associated with your profile. If you have any plans on coming back to the Pittsburgh, we hope that you will stay with us again. You Can Count On Us!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
2.0 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing