We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Room was very cramped, almost impossible for two people to walk around at the same time. Staff was very helpful and courteous, and friendly. Room left a lot to be desired, especially for the price. I definitely would not recommend this hotel to friends or family, unless they needed lodging close to medical facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you Paul for taking the time to complete a review in reference to your recent visit. I would like to apologize for the room not up to your standards. When remodeling our hotel 3 years ago, we decided to place Queen Beds in our room instead of the smaller Full size beds in our double-occupancy rooms with in order to maximize comfort for all of our guests. I would also like to thank you about your positive comments about the staff we have here at the hotel and will pass along your praise of them. As you also mentioned, we are in the heart of the Oakland neighborhood of the City of Pittsburgh, on the campus of the University of Pittsburgh, within 3 blocks of three hospitals, and within 3 miles of Pittsburgh's city center, 4 universities, & popular destinations. We hope when your travels brings you back to Pittsburgh that you will visit us again.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

A warm welcome from a hotel we did not expect to stay in for a conference at Pittsburg University. The accommodation was clean and good and the staff were excellent throughout our stay. Would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you Elizabeth for taking a moment to share your experience at our hotel from while you were in town. We are thrilled that you thought so highly of us and considered your stay with a 5* experience! Due to the unique location of our hotel, and to utilize as much space in the lobby, it was designed to be a split to maximize the area in our building, hence the choice to go down or up a half-flight of stairs when entering from street level. I have also passed along your praise of our staff and thank you for those kind words about the accommodations & shuttle service that we offer here at the hotel. We hope that if your business brings you back to the University of Pittsburgh, that you will come back and stay with us again.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 days while at a conference at the University of Pittsburgh. It was a lovely room, great wifi, nice food and drinks, tremendous service from the staff who went out of their way to help you. Breakfast was amazing everything you could want and more. The shuttle bus drivers were fantastic as well and made our trips to the Uni really easy - no matter when. We had a celebratory dinner there on Saturday night and our waitress Michelle was so friendly and helpful. This is a great hotel - I can hardly fault it. I especially loved the cookies/doughnuts and flavoured water or coffee available as you entered the hotel. Only down side was getting the case up or down the stairs to get to reception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pashld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you again for taking a moment to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor from when you stayed with us while visiting the All Together Better Conference held here in Oakland. We are thrilled that you thought so highly of us, mentioning Michelle & our drivers while scoring us a 5* stay. I have passed along your praise of them to ensure the great work both them and the rest of our staff does on a daily basis. Thank you again for your positive review of our hotel, and hope your travels brings you back to the Pittsburgh area.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms were well appointed, clean and the staff were very friendly. Can't beat the location and very conveniently located near University of Pittsburgh. The walls are very thin and you can hear adjacent rooms conversations and the only available parking is valet resulting in an $18 fee per night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you Reinhard for spending your time at our hotel while visiting the Oakland area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought so highly of our friendly staff and convienent location in the heart of the city of Pittsburgh! Due to the constricted space for parking available in our hotel, we have to have valet only, here on property. If you do come back, there is a public garage only a block away that is less expensive for those who are on a budget. We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Pittsburgh area soon.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
Bill.Theiss@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had little treats out for us attending the conference, which was very nice. Our room was clean. The best part was the close access to UPMC and avoiding the dreadful Pittsburgh traffic! Our conference spanned 3 1/2 days with international as well as US participants, and we all enjoyed walking over together.

It was nice having a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

Our only complaint was the noise. The walls are so thin that you can hear everything in the other rooms, I mean everything. So everyone turns on their TV's to drown it out. We slept wonderfully, the beds are amazing, so I guess it didn't bother us enough to stay awake!

Thanks for everything ---valet, front desk, everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaBrandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you Rita for staying at our hotel and taking the time to share your experience with others. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time while visiting the Pittbsurgh area, and happy that you were able to enjoy what the Hilton Garden Inn has to offer. I will pass along your thanks to the staff, because we feel that it is the people that makes a stay with us, truly satisfying. We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Pittsburgh area soon.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a wonderful time here. Took my wife and daughter 1st time here went to the family gathering and afterwards my wife and I put our daughter to sleep and enjoyed the bar. The suite we stayed in was spacious and comfortable

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Obiajula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Obiajula:

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at our hotel from when you stayed with us. We are thrilled that you thought so highly of us while enjoying the one of our suites, as well as the Garden Bar here at the hotel. I have shared your positive comments to the rest of the staff and thank you for giving us a 5* review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had booked a suite as we were traveling with our son to check out the university of Pittsburgh. Great location, just a few minutes walk to campus. Our suite was on the 8th floor, and a corner location, with windows on 2 sides. Beautiful views in each direction. The suite was 2 large separate rooms. Our son slept well on the full size sleep sofa and had his own full bath. Our king bed was very comfortable. The only negatives about the room are regarding the bathrooms... there are no fans in the bathrooms so they get very hot immediately and there are no hooks either on the back of the doors or on the wall to hang clothes.This could easily be rectified. Also, we had to call housekeeping to obtain the bedding for the sofa bed as nothing was provided. Staff was courteous and helpful. Our room service order arrived promptly. Planning to stay here again and request the same suite!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanisCibusMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience with others. We are very happy that you thought so highly of our hotel and what we have to offer. I am pleased to hear that your suite was comfortable while visiting the University of Pittsburgh, which is only a few short blocks from our hotel. I will pass along your comments about the lack of hooks in the bathrooms in suite 822 to see if we can improve our service for future guests. We hope that your son will attend PITT so we can have the chance on seing you for years to come.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,323 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £86 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing