We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Nearby Hotels
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Pittsburgh(Pittsburgh)
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveller rating
558
346
139
52
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
346
139
52
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingfront deskforbes avenuecarnegie mellonvisiting pittshuttle serviceoakland areamedical centerconvenient locationrestaurant staffwalking distancewithin milesvalet staffthe entire stafffree shuttlechecking outper day
Filter
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have stayed in several hotels in the area (daughter at Pitt) and this location is great and our preferred hotel. Very close to all the University related locations plus restaurants and museums. The rooms are clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Any issues (if there are any) are immediately resolved and the staff go out of their way to make sure you are happy. We don't particularly like the beds they have (Serta) - but that is our personal choice. Parking a car is easy with valet parking with okay pricing versus the parking garage, given you can come and go. Would like to see better wine selections in the bar! Little noisy at night given it is on Forbes and a student town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SAD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Operations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with others about your recent stay. We are honored that you enjoyed our hotel & was able to enjoy all the PITT campus and neighborhood has to offer while visiting your daughter. We enjoy to see families who stay with us support their children along the way from visiting PITT for the first time, up through graduation. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our F&B team in order to see if we can expand our collection to be more diverse in selections. Thank you again, and look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend here, attending a conference at the University. Of course the location is great for University activities and it is also an easy walk to several tourist sites, including Phipps Botanical Gardens, Cathedral of Learning, and Carnegie museums. The hotel put a heavy emphasis on service, and the staff was cheerful and helpful. The room was comfortable and well laid out. The shuttle service went beyond the advertised three mile limit to deliver patrons to their destination. There were two different newspapers available each morning, including the Wall Street Journal, warm cookies in the afternoon, and hot coffee in the lobby as well as a Keurig coffeemaker in the room. A manager checked in with us at our room to ensure everything was all right. The valet service was excellent and prompt and included two cold waters for our journey. It was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolegth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you Carol for sharing with others about your 5* stay while staying with us. We are honored that you thought so highly of our staff & service, and have passed along your praise to the rest of the hotel. Our goal is to provide that +1 service to our guests to ensure they have everything to enjoy their experience in the city, whether it be for business or pleasure. We hope you will stay with us again if you find yourself back in the city.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
5840
Reviewed 16 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Arrived late afternoon, first time in Pittsburg, looks like a pretty nice city. First impression of the hotel was favorable. I was the only one at the check in counter but had to wait for the manager to take several calls before checking me in. Once he turned his attention to me he was very polite and the check in was very quick.

Room was nice, clean, had a small frig, microwave, iron and a Keurig which was nice. Room service and the bar are open until 10PM. An ok selection and reasonable prices. The vending on the floor was only Coke products, kind of weak. Would have liked some snack foods too.

Bed was noticeable firm…like a sheet of plywood. Slept ok but it was a hard mattress for sure.

I am told it is in an area with a heavy college student population when school is in.

Overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Did not see a wifi when I scanned
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uespilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share with others about your positive experience while staying here at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all the room & hotel in general has to offer including being the first national chain of hotels to equip all guestrooms with Kuerig coffeemakers. Instead of having vending machines on our guestroom floors, we have a 24-hour pantry in the Mezzanine that includes all that a snack machine would offer, plus sundry supplies, desserts, frozen meals, & freshly prepared meals to-go. We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Pittsburgh area again, and you will stay with us again.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We always enjoy our stay at this HGI. It is really close to University of Pitt which is a major plus. They have also upgraded a lot of things in the hotel. I like the new pillows and the sleep number bed is great.

We needed a few extra items in our room for this trip and the front desk (Greg and Bill Theiss) went out of their way to help me get them.

They are a big part of why I'll be back for Pitt family weekend in September.

Room Tip: Room 900 has a great view of the Cathedral
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GNBuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews