We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Really nice rooms, with excellent room service. Delicious healthy food which is so unusual for a hotel. Great place to stay for a business trip. Front desk staff we t put of their way to help. Offered ride in a.m. To my business meeting to avoid having to re park car. Gave the option to have me picked up at end. Had a nice little gift shop with toiletries

Room Tip: High, with a review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you Ginny for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying here at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are thrilled that your stay with us was Excellent, and that some of our amenities was just what you were looking for, like our menu selection & the complimentary shuttle service for guests without a car, or not wanting to deal with the hassle of finding parking in the city. We hope that you will come stay with us again so you may have another 5* experience!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    286
    127
    43
    27
See reviews for
394
108
49
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

My client was just across the Hot Iron Bridge, so the location was excellent; easy to get to and drive from. Wonderful beds! Typical hotel room, but above average and nicely decorated. As another reviewer wrote, no breakfast was included, which is odd for us that are Hilton Premium members. Restaurant food and service was good and very hospitable. Would stay here again and recommend if it meets your travel needs.

Room Tip: There is a gas station across the street that has food items for sale. I don't recall the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctrptplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel and rating your experience so highly. I am glad your business travels brought you to stay with us for the night and that your experience made you left pleased. As for breakfast in the restaurant, for our Gold & Diamond Hilton Honors members, you do have the option of either bonus points, or complimentary breakfast for you and a guest each morning. You can change this either whenever you check in, or on your Honors profile online. Also, we do offer a Pantry that can be accessed 24-hours a day with snacks, meals, & drinks that is located to the left of the front desk. We hope that your travels brings you back to Pittsburgh and you will stay the night with us again!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I chose this hotel for proximity to my activities and my membership in their honors program. I found the hotel to be attractive and comfortable with a competent and friendly staff. Van service for a three mile radius also. As Amtrak was within this range and also the event local, I saved rental car fees and not having to drive in a city I do not know. And the oatmeal was real, not instant and not overcooked. Plus it was OK to order and just pay for that without getting the entire breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you Roberta for taking the time and sharing with the world about your positive experience while staying at our hotel last week. We are happy that you thought so highly of our hotel, and we are glad you took advantage of some of the amenities that the hotel offers including complimentary shuttle service, and our hot cooked-to-order breakfast that we serve in our restaurant. We hope that your business will bring you back to Pittsburgh and you will stay with us again in the not so distant future.

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel offers the chance to be walking distance from the University of Pittsburgh. Staff is great, rooms are super and the breakfast is the best. Very convenient to all parts of Pittsburgh. The valet parking is a big plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 754barrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience from your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that you thought so highly of us and scored us so on TripAdvisor. We always enjoy to see positive guest experiences such as yours and we look forward to welcoming you whenever you come back to Pittsburgh. You Can Count On Us

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Staying at Hilton Garden Inn University place was a great experience. Wonderful location, super-friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The only downside was that the hotel rate did not include breakfast which is a bit too expensive for what they served, and that they slipped the bill under the door every single day very early in the morning. I guess this is for the express check-in, but still it does not look very inviting to the customers. Other than that, I genuinely recommend the place as an oasis especially when you are struggling for finding accomodation before the uni starts!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you Basak for taking the time & reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the staff & accommodations that we offer to our guests here at the hotel. I would like to apologize for the receipt under your door. It is standard hotel practice to place a copy of your receipt with estimated charges the morning of your departure for guests who wish to check-out without having to stop at the desk to do so.
If you have any plans on returning back to the hotel, we do offer various promotion & package rates, such as the Bed & Breakfast, Romance, and Park Eat n Go packages that include breakfast for all of our guests, plus if you are a Gold or Diamond Hilton Honors, you have the option of including breakfast for you and a guest, no matter what rate you book with us. Thank you again, and hope to see you soon!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Henrietta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was out 3rd stay at trhe Hilton Garden Inn which is a block away from our daughter's apartment at Pitt. The words that come to mind about the Hilton - consistent quality. Room is always clean and well appointed with refrig and microwave. All staff aer freindly and helpful - especially the bartender Sean who made us feel at home and remembered us from previous visits. There are no "bad" surprises here - just good ones!

Room Tip: Room facing forbes can be noisy due to high volume of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with others here about your positive experience whenever you visit your daughter at PITT. I will be sure to pass along your praise of Sean to both him and the rest of the team, to show them all the excellent work that they do here on a daily basis. We hope that you will pleasantly surprise us again by spending the night with us soon!

Bill Theiss Operations Manager
bill.theiss@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a nice, spotlessly clean hotel especially convenient for parents of Pitt students. There are laundry rooms available for the guests, and an acceptable restaurant and bar. The only problem is the valet-only parking. If you have a tall vehicle, or you have a car topper for luggage, you'll have to park on the street or at a parking garage about two blocks away. The rates are a bit excessive for the type and size of the rooms, and they are raised (like all hotels in this area) when Pitt is holding events. But what can you do. That's how it is for college towns.

Room Tip: The rooms are small. Get two rooms if you have more than two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marykatec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Operations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for Mary for taking the time to share with others about your positive experience. We appreciate your kind comments about the conditions we upkeep at our hotel on a daily basis that ensure a clean and comforting experience for all who stay the night with us. I would like to apologize for the experience that you had regarding to parking. Because of the limited spaces available in Oakland due to the various universities & hospitals, parking is at a premium plus our garage is not a full-sized, hence the 6'2" restriction, we have a parking rate that is comparable to the various business in the area of $18 per night for those who drive to our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and see more of what our city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
2.0 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.5 mi away
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing