We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright lights, outlets and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We prefer luxury hotels but needed a basic place to stay near my brother in laws place for Thanskgiving & this exceeded our expectations. It was a 5 minute walk and also 5-10 min walk from shops and restaurants on Walnut Street. Beds were comfy, modern and the 2 bedroom suite gave us more room to spread out. They provided a pack n play for our toddler. The service was excellent , every time we asked for something they were friendly and helpful. Nice bright lights in the bathroom and bedside & power outlet strips where they were needed which is lacking in most chain hotels. The only negatives were that the apartments are not that soundproof (much like a lot of hotels ) and the kitchen tools & pans weren't the cleanest. We used the kitchen a bit so wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. 2 bedroom suite was very comfortable and spacious. Walking distance to walnut street stores and restaurants. Internet was very fast, suite well equipped including full kitchen. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank MiteGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The shady side inn is in a fantastic location within walking distance to quaint shopping, great food, and my favorite Pittsburgh yoga studio, Yogaflow. We booked a non-refundable rate for 10 nights as it was cheaper and we were certain we were going to stay that long to visit family. Unfortunately, my dog went in to heart failure and we had to cut our trip short by 7 nights! I thought we were going to lose money and were going to have to pay the remaining nights even though we were traveling home early, which is what we agreed to. The folks at the Shadyside Inn were so helpful and understanding that they did NOT charge us for the other nights and they let us check out at 4pm that day since we were scrambling to get packed and our new flights sorted out. They made what was an already stressful situation easier on us. When we go back to Pittsburgh, we will DEFINITELY be staying here again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: We had a studio - which was great, gave us the option to make food in the room versus going out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justvisiting1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

In mid-October, my husband, daughter, and I stayed in a one bedroom suite on Fifth Avenue. The most outstanding feature of Shadyside Inn is their staff. From the check-in office, maintenance, and housekeeping staffs, to the shuttle driver, it is obvious that the customer and service are paramount in their business model. Each staff member went beyond the normal expectations.

The suite itself is very comfortable with plenty of living space. The combination living/dining area served us well. The bedroom was large and spacious. The kitchen, though small, was adequate for cooking our meals. The housecleaning staff did a good job not only cleaning, but provided us with extra towels and linens without asking. Another noteworthy convenience is the free laundry room located on the first floor.

Location to downtown Pittsburgh and the many museums and activities is convenient. We used the shuttle one day to get to the museum and found it a great amenity to have. The Walnut Street shopping is just a few blocks away, an easy walk. There are brand name stores, as well as, a delicious deli and an amazing toy store.

Our only complaint was the night before leaving, the guests above our room checked in late. The constant noise from heels and shoes made it difficult to sleep. Once all was quieted down, it was fine. This was the only night we had that experience.

We would highly recommend Shadyside as a great place to stay when visiting Pittsburgh. It felt more like a home/apartment than a hotel suite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Shadyside Inn Suites is very close to the Carnegie Mellon University and Pitt University. If you are going to stay a while and want decent accommodations and a small kitchen so you don't have to eat out all the time, this is your place! Not luxury. Not cute. Large room with kitchenette and bath.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi RossinSA, thanks for sharing your review, because it grants the opportunity for us to share the contrary impressions of most guests. The majority of people who stay here say that our suites are more than decent, they're great. We hear that the suites are cozy yet spacious, cute without kitsch, with modern furnishings and family-style hospitality.
The Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel staff pours their all into making guest experiences exceptional, from comfortable beds to friendly concierge service, and there's no chance that we will settle for "not bad." While we respect your description of your experience, we’re disappointed that we did not get the chance to share our passion for this hotel and the happiness of every guest. If you have occasion to visit this area again, please reach out to us and we promise to improve your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have mixed feelings on our stay. We had a two-bedroom suite. The attraction of the suite was the spacious living room/dining room area. This area was nicely furnished – perfectly fit our needs. The bedrooms were also nice. In addition, the location of the Inn is great!
We checked in with a happy cheerful staff. We needed a rollaway bed, which was provided very quickly. (I feel that I should note that my daughter did move to the couch in the night because she found the rollaway bed very uncomfortable).

The issue we had is that the night of our arrival we checked in then walked to dinner. I was with my younger daughter and my 87-year-old mother in law. When we got back to the suite around 10:00, it was chilly in the unit - 68 degrees. I turned the heat on in my mother in law's room - nothing happened. Tried turning on the other units - nothing happened. At this point, my mother in law is fully clothed , wrapped in a blanket because she is cold. My concern was that as the temperature outside drops, so will the temperature inside – making for a cold morning.
I called the desk, was told several times someone would come up to help us. We were very tired and just wanted to go to bed. The third call I made to the desk was to find out the eta on the help and if it was too late, just go on to bed and hope the temperature did not drop too much. Well, the joke was on us. This time someone different answered the phone and told us the he did not know why we were told that help was on its way – everyone else had gone home. I have to say – this REALLY ticked me off. We had an early start the next day so the time spent waiting for NOTHING was inexcusable. We should have least received a courtesy call to let us know that there would be no help!
This person, however, did come up, could not get the heat on but did get us extra blankets. Luckily, the heat came on during the night. When I called the desk to let them know that we were good, they seemed to have no knowledge of the problem. Did they do something to make the heat come on or was it luck? Could we have spent the whole weekend freezing? I have to say, I am very surprised that we never heard from anyone at the hotel about the incident. I wonder if they respond to all issues by ignoring them and hoping that they will go away.
Additionally, the building is very noisy. Both building noises and people going up and down the stairs and talking in the halls helped to keep us awake.
While I loved the living space and the location is perfect, I am not sure that I will risk staying here again. But on paper, it is the perfect spot!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasyWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hello dasyWill, thank you for giving your time and energy to write a review of your stay with us! We really appreciate your kind words about our perfect location, comfy furnishings, and friendly front desk. We also deeply appreciate that you've informed us of a serious communication failure on the part of our front desk staff. You are absolutely correct that you should have received more timely and accurate information about the assistance of our maintenance staff.

Upon review, it appears that a member of our maintenance staff did indeed go into the basement of your building to confirm that the heating was properly calibrated to heat up in the evening. Unfortunately, the facts that a) the central heating was in good order and b) the maintenance staffer did not have to enter your suite to confirm this was not properly communicated to you and the next shift of front desk staffers. It's entirely understandable that without being informed of this work, you would have no confidence in our response to your concerns. We are very sorry for the diminished quality of your stay-- we want everyone to enjoy a great night's sleep with us, and we fell far short on your behalf.

We will be working with our entire staff to strengthen internal communication, and to stress how essential it is that every guest concern receives the attention and followthrough it deserves. Please reach out to our management team so we can address your payment. Between the parts of our suites that you did enjoy and the efforts we are making to improve your service, I hope that we can earn your trust for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very happy with our stay here. Suite was and spacious and spotless. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable - even the roll-away cot was a winner. Super convenient to a variety of neighborhoods and to several bus lines. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting PGH.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony overlooking 5th Avenue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crankwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 5405 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £96 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing