We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a family medical emergency and stayed at the Shadyside Inn for more than 3 months. And we spent thousands of dollars at this hotel. So, it’s disappointing that I am writing a mostly negative review.

However, let’s start with the positive and the average, because this is a fair review after all. Shadyside Inn has a great location, walking distance from the shops on Walnut. The apartments at Shadyside Inn are average, no-frills. They are straightforward - some better than others. No real complaints there.

The hotel provides a free shuttle service, and we didn’t always have access to a car so this was a key consideration for us. The shuttle drivers were fantastic! They are wonderful people, and they do their job well. They are friendly and genuinely care about their passengers. We highly commend them.

The front desk service on the other hand was not the same. The service was inconsistent and generally below average. Some of the reps were friendly. Others were impolite and some times, straight up rude. It took us hours to get a reservation. Additionally, some of the reps gave us a hard time about booking the shuttle service, because we needed it more regularly for hospital check-ups. They also changed the “free shuttle” policy on us, and then changed it back. It was very confusing. A set hotel policy should be clearly communicated from the start when we asked and not changed around depending on whom we spoke to at the front desk.

The most horrible experience was when we spoke with one of the managers (Carol S.). She did not like to hear negative feedback and responded in a very unprofessional manner. When we asked to speak with the owner, she yelled, told us to “leave” and slammed the phone, hanging up on us. This was hurtful and uncalled for seeing that our daughter just came out of a major accident (reason why we had to stay at the hotel so long), and we were not able to pick up and move around. We travel frequently, and this is the most awful conversation we’ve ever had with a manager at a hotel.

After the horrendous experience with Carol and no way to speak (non-publicly) to the owner, we would not stay or recommend Shadyside Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
In the course of 30 years of operating the Shadyside Inn, we have had the pleasure of hosting an amazing array of guests who have offered us the opportunity to learn and grow as a hotel. Over the years we have had held true to the idea that there is nothing we won't do to make a guests stay enjoyable. This is the founding principle of our business. The highest praise we see time and time again in reviews is for the quality of our staff. These high marks fuel our passion to continue to exceed expectations and communicate to guests that we are here to serve them. Unfortunately, there are also rare times when we run into a no-win situation for the hotel and we are forced to publicly defend ourselves.

The statements made in this review do not match the reality of the situation. The Shadyside Inn is extremely disappointed to see these remarks and we are even more troubled to have to publicly defend ourselves against the recollections of a guest who stayed here over a year ago. The men and women who work at this hotel are human beings who are trying to do our best to help each guest. We are happy to go to whatever lengths necessary to make every situation work out for every guest. This review centers on the use of the complimentary shuttle service we have for our guests. With over 100 suites, we try to make sure all guests have equal access to the two shuttles we operate. In order to provide equitable service and balance out availability, we have rules in place that require the shuttle to be booked in advance. This way, each guest has an equal opportunity to use this service. “JJ M” was a frequent user of this service. We were happy to transport “JJ M” any time we could. Often times “JJ M” had the shuttle booked for over 5 round trips each day. When other guests booked the shuttle, “JJ M” was not willing to accept that the shuttle was already engaged and would become verbally abusive to our staff. We had meetings with “JJ M” over this issue and explained that the shuttle was for everyone who needed it and not for the sole use of “JJ M”. As time went on, “JJ M” began to book the shuttle all day long to prevent other guests from being able to it. We asked “JJ M” to please limit the amount of time slots scheduled and to be courteous of other guests.

The situation finally came to a head when a member of our staff quit after being verbally abused by “JJ M”. It is at this time that we asked to meet with “JJ M” to request that “JJ M” stop harassing and threatening our front desk staff every time the shuttle was out with another guest. Obviously in the service industry you never want to have this kind of conversation with a guest. It is the most difficult thing we have to do, especially in the age of online reviews when we know someone might lash out in an effort to harm our business. At the end, “JJ M”’s abuse of our staff got so bad that for one of the only times in our history we had to ask “JJ M” to leave. There is a limit to how much I am comfortable subjecting my staff to, and when a guest crosses the boundary and begins to become threatening we are forced to protect these team members. Our staff works harder than most people know and bears tremendous responsibilities behind the scenes to make every guest’s stay enjoyable. Harassment and verbal abuse of another human being is not acceptable, especially over something as petty as a shuttle schedule.

-Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    130
    36
    27
    24
See reviews for
254
76
30
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed at Shadyside Inn due to family member's medicinal issue. Our stay was supposed to be up to ten and has stretched to over 3 weeks. The staff has made every effort to help us - extended our stay effortlessly and provide exemplary shuttle service as well as attentive housekeeping.

I would like to commend Ian, our shuttle driver, for not only his concern for the family's medical issues but also for his promptness every time we required shuttle service. Which was twice a day for two people at separate times. He was so professional, cheerful, and such a nice person. It was a delight to have him as our driver. Shadyside Inn has a great employee- who prides himself in his service not only to the Inn but to its residents. Ian was our primary shuttle driver and I feel that he should be commended for making a stressful stay less stressful. The other drivers were great also but because Ian was our primary driver - I wanted to thank him.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi ElizabethD,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. While we don't like to see people struggling with medical issues, we are happy to be here for you in any way we can during your treatment. Ian is one of our best team members. I am happy that he was able to make your stay special. Our staff loves the opportunity to get to know our guests and often times these relationships turn into friendships. On behalf of everyone here at the hotel we wish you the best of health!

Sincerely,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The staff at the front desk, specifically, Becca and Leon, were reasonable and used common sense when accommodating a guest of mine when it came to parking on the property. Rather than simply say, "we can't do that", they allowed my guest to park temporarily with the knowledge that the lot wasn't full and would not inconvenience any other individuals staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Lucas K,

Thanks for leaving us feedback on your stay. Your review was used in our staff meeting to reinforce the message we stress to each employee that there is nothing we can't do for a guest. All of our team members are empowered to go to any length to make sure each guest's needs are met. Becca and Leon are Shadyside Inn stars and we are very proud that they represented the very best in customer service. Thank you for recognizing them.

Best,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Apartment style hotel. We booked one-bed studio. The room is huge. The kitchen has everything you need from pots and pans, coffee machines, utensils, dishes and dish soap. You get a clean towel every day. Staff were super friendly. Parking is free. Walkable distance to Walnut St. Bathroom was very clean. Toiletries provided are of high quality.
Wi-Fi works pretty well. You get 15/5 Mbps, much better than the single-digit downlink speed you get in some big name brand hotels. Flat screen TV is full HD 1080p instead of 768p.

Downsides are few. I wished there were more power outlet located on/near bedside table for cell phone charging. Flat screen TV was only available in the living room. Bedroom has a bulky CRT TV. When there was ambulance/fire truck/police driving by it could be a bit noisy, which happened a couple of times during our stay.

Overall it's a great choice. Certainly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: CMU students get a discount but it is not necessarily cheaper than "advance booking" price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank znd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello Joey J,

Thanks for providing us with feedback on your visit to our hotel. I am glad you loved the amount of space we provide with our residential-style suites. Being able to spread out and have multiple rooms is a real perk that our guests always appreciate. Parking, which is always at a premium in Shadyside, is an amenity that we love giving away for free. We strive to make sure our Wifi is plenty fast. I am happy you noticed! We actually have power strips located behind the nightstands in our suites for extra places to plug in. Not the ideal location but it was the only place we found to put them that kept that out of the way. Perhaps we need to put that information in our guest book. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Went to visit CMU for a weekend and this showed up as nearby. The staff was very friendly. The suites are remodeled, 1950-era apartments. Well appointed with a galley kitchen, good sized living room/ dining room, big screen TV with two big couches. One large bedroom with queen bed; one small bedroom with twin bed. Small, older bathroom. Clean, plent of hot water.

No elevator or restaurant, but they have in-room menu (didn;t try).

Nice neighborhood -- 4 blocks from restaurants and shopping.

I recommend this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello familyinnh,

We are thrilled you found us! Carnegie Mellon is a little under a mile away from our hotel and for years we have catered to people visiting the University. I am glad you found our residential-style suites so inviting. If an elevator building is more to your liking, ask for our 5426 location which is directly across the street from the complex you were staying in. We have six locations in Shadyside and we can cater to whatever your specific needs may be. Thanks for giving us a recommendation. As a seasoned traveler like yourself it means the world to us that you found our hotel so appealing.

Thanks,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had a large suite with ample closet space and a full kitchen. Everything was completely clean, and the shower had good pressure. The bed was comfortable.

The front desk provided me with a care package when I arrived (muffins, granola bars, juice, an apple, mints, etc.), which was very welcome. They don't serve breakfast, but a number of nice breakfast places are located just a 5 minute walk north of the inn on Walnut street.

The staff were courteous and helpful. No complaints!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABjorndahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi ABjorndahi,

Thank you for providing your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are happy you found our residential-style suites so appealing. With separate rooms, multiple closets, and enough space to feel like you are at home, our suites have always been a welcome surprise to travels used to ordinary hotel rooms. I am glad you took advantage of the excellent restaurant options on Walnut St. Pamelas's and Eden happen to be our favorites. Its so nice being able to wake up and stroll down to Walnut St. and have lots of options.

Thanks,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagaman, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked this as an overnight to pick up our daughter from college. Greeted by very friendly staff and upgraded to a 2 bedroom (surprise!) . Older apartment houses turned into a cozy family friendly hotel. The room showed its age but the size, comfort and amenities made up for this. This is a place you could stay for a long time...fully equipped kitchen, very comfy beds, good size living/dining space with flat screen. 2 nice touches were the goody bag on arrival ( popcorn, hot cocoa, teas, muffins, granola bars) and a check in call an hour or so after we settled in to make sure everything was OK. A few blocks away is Walnut St. and the neighborhood around it has many shops , restaurants , bars, ATMs, even a yoga studio and a WIFI/coffee bar. We'll be here again!

Room Tip: This hotel is divided between several buildings spread over several blocks, all have parking near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDFaustel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#50 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Property: Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Address: 5405 Fifth Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing