We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My two daughters and I recently stayed at Shadyside Inn in a two bedroom unit. We were there to visit the University of Pittsburgh campus. Wow! We arrived after 9 pm and were very warmly welcomed by a young lady at the front desk. We were given a bag of snacks which was very much appreciated due to our long drive. The free parking and free wi-fi were an excellent bonus to the spacious rooms. The front desk attendant even went and moved her car so that I could have her spot, since I was having trouble parking my car.
Our biggest suprise were the rooms. I have stayed at several Residence Inns and Embassy Suites in the past. I have never experienced such a homey place. Not only did we have more than enough space, but everything was immaculate and tastefully decorated. We will definitely be staying here again. We were able to walk to the campus with no problem due to the great location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Lisa12343,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are thrilled that we were able to surprise you with our amazing staff and wonderful suites. We are travelers ourselves and have tried over the years to make the hotel the closest we can to capturing the essence of being at home and immersed in the best neighborhood in Pittsburgh, Shadyside. I am glad you took advantage of walking to campus. A lot of guests don't realize that its only about a 10 minute walk down the street, although we do have a free shuttle that will take you if you are in a rush. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future and if there is anything we can do please don't hesitate to ask.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was the first time staying at Shadyside Inn, Pittsburgh. We had a two bedroom suite which is really a small apartment. Everything was recently remodeled and clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom is a little small but everything worked as needed. We would definitely stay there again when in Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: No elevators! Better request a low floor if you have much luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tink i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Tink i,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had an excellent experience at our hotel. In the future you can always take advantage of our belhop's who are happy to deliver your luggage to your suite for you. If you need a building that has an elevator you can choose our 5426 Location, right across the street from the building you were in, or our 811 S. Negley Location. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Please let us know if there is anything special we can do.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had gone to Pittsburgh for teacher training. Shopping and restaurants were withing walking distance. The apartment was cleaned immaculately. The hotel staff and specially the shuttle drivers were nice, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUH E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello JUH E,

Thanks for your feedback and welcome to Pittsburgh. I hope that your training went well. We are a unique hotel in the area due to our residential style and setting, as well as our central location, which puts us in the middle of all the action on Pittsburgh's East End. I am glad you made it down to Walnut Street. Its nice to have options right at your doorstep. If your travels bring you back please give a call so we can arrange something special for you.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My children, mother, and I had a great visit to Pittsburgh recently. The Shadyside Inn and Suites was the perfect neighborhood spot. Our two-bedroom suite was large, well-furnished, and comfortable. We were treated to snacks when we arrived, and our apartment was very quiet. The free, off-street parking was a huge plus. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and eating along Walnut Street. I highly recommend Shadyside Inn for a brief or extended stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tdbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello tdbelmont,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you were able to fully enjoy being a part of the Shadyside neighborhood. We have the unique pleasure of being a short five minute walk to 120 plus shops and restaurants. I am happy that you found some of the great treasures on Walnut Street. On behalf of the whole staff we want to say thank you for your support and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just stayed at the Shadyside in one of their one bedroom apartments. Wow... could not believe the size and comfort. We were originally going to stay at a Spring Hill Suites and then switched. The King room at the Spring Hill was the exact same price as the King one bedroom at Shadyside. But boy, so much more spacious, included a full kitchen and we were given a little welcome bag with some drinks, muffins etc.The one we stayed at was housed in an old house on S. Highland and was an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants in Shadyside. Will definitely be staying here again on future trips to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank janrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello janrez,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It looks as though you were staying in one of our recently renovated Signature Suites. Being so close to both Bakery Square and Walnut Street is a major plus for guests staying at the hotel. A few blocks down the street from your suite is newer development called Eastside that has a Whole Foods and a mix of trendy restaurants. We are thrilled to see that you will be returning. Be sure to check out the other Signature Suites. We have 11 of them and they are all unique.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the spacious rooms to the delicious cookies, everything was pleasant. The check-in was handled efficiently. Having a kitchen would be very handy for a family - however, I found lots of good places to eat just a few blocks away. I took the bus to the Pitt campus; bus stop is in front of the main building. Be sure to ask about the discounted museum tickets. I saved quite a bit between the Warhol Museum and the Carnegie.

Room Tip: Get a room that's not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AFHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi AFKJ,

Thanks for the review and your support. Even thought all of our suites have a full kitchen, it's nice to be able to walk down to Walnut Street and enjoy all of the dining options. There is a small grocery store there as well where guests can load up on items to cook. Being a mile from Pitt's campus is a major plus for our guests. I am glad you took advantage of the discounted museum tickets. Pittsburgh has some amazing treasures and I am glad you got a chance to see them. We look forward to having you visit us again!

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Interesting and quality hotel concept in the Pittsburgh university area. Reasonably priced and with a great location, this six building hotel appears to be a conversion of apartment buildings in the congested Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. Very nicely redeveloped and decorated. We were in building F and there were still some vestiges of the previous apartment building features such as the "steady and stately" elevator and tight parking availability. I thought the building was quiet for sleeping and other features such as included fast Wifi were great. The bedroom could have easily accommodated a king bed, but we had a queen. The bathroom was not quite up to the rest of the unit, with a small radiator in the room and the grout on the bath/shower had some mold.

We were in Pittsburgh to visit our son and we have been to a number of reasonably priced hotels in Pittsburgh in the last five years and found the Shadyside Inn to be a great value. We will strongly consider this location the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Find out what building of the six they are placing you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidsL4055AY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hello davidsL4055AY,

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. I am happy that you appreciated the attention we have given to coming up with a hotel concept that really makes good use of the extra space and great location. We hope to see you again the next time you visit your son. Try one of our other locations, especially our Signature Suites, for another perspective on how far we have taken our concept.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#44 of 73 in Pittsburgh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 5405 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £88 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing