We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be expected, however.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh
Ranked #67 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“To be expected, however.....”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came in for a preseason Buffalo Bills versus Steelers game. Check in was smooth and employee was pleasant on Saturday afternion. We Asked for extra pillows and towels, and we were given them with no problems. Rooms were clean, no odors and nothing was too out of date. Rooms were spacious and comfortable with the ability to adjust the temperature to our liking.( We like it cold). We had a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, blow dryer and alarm clock. Perfect. The next morning, however, was an entirely different matter. I am an early riser and need to take my medication with food. I headed to the main lobby to grab a cup of coffee and something small to eat. When I attempted to take a slice of toast and my Styrofoam cup of coffee back to my room, the woman employee working the desk told me that I was not allowed to. That I had to eat and drink it there. She said, "this is not carry out!". They only offer for breakfast, wheat bread and white bread for toast. 2 cereals, raisin bran and cornflakes, and bananas. But you must eat it all in the lobby. Don't think about taking it to your room. of course, I did, I walked directly out with my slice of toast and my coffee and went to my room and ate it. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    41
    20
    27
See reviews for
38
34
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Clean beds. Floors in our room were stained.Bathroom was clean. Had a big dent on the tub though. Looked like someone was angry and kicked it. Plenty of towels for 2 people. Out dated TV. Actually "snowed" which is crazy for this decade. Quick check in and out. Overall. Good overnight stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Keri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed here on 3 occasions in rooms 238 and 239, the room are nice, the wi-fi is very good and the staff are great and they loved my kids! I highly recommend this hotel! Also very quiet which is great for me since i must get up very early!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willie39rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on my way to Niagara to explore Pittsburgh and the experience was average. Room was clean and all electronic equipment's were in good order. They provide free parking and breakfast(you are not allowed to take in room) which is good deal at such price. Pittsburgh downtown is just 4 miles from this place.
I would recommend this hotel only for short stay to save some $$.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rushikesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here recently strange people hanging about seems like people are living there sadly but anyway the room I had was disgusting the smell was bad the bathroom smelled of strong urine there was a hole that looked like it was kicked in under the tub a bare hole they do not clean these hotels after they just cut corners every time I went into the bathroom I got sick due to the smell the area doesn't seem safe overall I think it's insane they charge this much for a disgusting smelly room a fair price for a piss smelly room would be $25 plus tax nothing more I will avoid in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 292michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel room was clean, but carpet was bumpy. We stayed two nights, and when we put up the do not disturb sign for just the morning on the second day, no one ever cleaned our room. It didn't need a cleaning, but we would have appreciated new towels. Occasionally, we would get a whiff of people smoking in front of rooms through the AC.

Continental breakfast was sparse (bagels, bread and cereal). It's a little hard-to-find, due to construction on the highway, not that that's under their control

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was one of the few places that would allow check in at 19 and wasn't a ridiculous rate. The parking lot was in terrible shape, looked bad, and was bumpy. The staff was friendly. When we got in the room, it was pretty clean, only issue was the carpet and parts of the bedding were damp. They didn't stink, so I'm guessing the carpet was freshly scrubbed and the bedding didn't spend enough time in the dryer. Back to the bedding... It was me and my girlfriend. There were three old pillows on the bed which weren't enough, and the bedding consisted of 2 flat sheets and old thin blanket. About halfway thru the first night, I had to go to the front desk for towels. The front desk person acted like it was problem for me to ask for extra towels. The next morning was... Different. We woke up and all the lights in the room and our TV was off. This was strange because we fell asleep with it on. We got out of bed and went to the lobby for breakfast where we found out power was out for the entire hotel, which meant breakfast consisted of bread, gross donuts, cereal and orange juice, and NO coffee. Would not recommend for anything other than a place to sleep, and probably wouldn't stay again unless I had to.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
4.0 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#63 of 71 in Pittsburgh
567 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#53 of 71 in Pittsburgh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn  - Pittsburgh / Steubenville Pike
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh

Property: Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh
Address: 100 Kisow Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4614 (Formerly Travelodge Pittsburgh)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staff and Management at the Hilltop Inn welcome you to captivating Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Whether your visit to the Pittsburgh area is for business, for pleasure, or for both, we are fully equipped and anxious to serve your every need. Come and experience our friendly, cheerful atmosphere and many guest amenities that you will experience while staying at the Hilltop Inn. We are conveniently located off of I-79, we are just 15 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh and the Int'l Airport. We offer free wireless internet, free parking, free Bear bites continental breakfast in the morning, for a price that can't be beat! Steelers, Pirates, and Penguins sports stadiums 15 minutes away. Great food and shopping nearby in Robinson township, with a major mall and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing