We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, sufficient, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Small room, but everything I needed. Front desk very accommodating, fairly good breakfast, great coffee. Frig, microwave, good workspace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PC32405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

This was our 3rd time to stay at Mainstay. We always make sure to get the one bedroom suite. These rooms are limited, but if you have small children, having a separate room comes in handy. The nice thing about Mainstay is that the rooms also come with a small kitchen area. Breakfast is included as well. It is pretty typical, but it served us well. On Monday and Tuesday nights from 5pm, the hotel orders pasta or pizza for the guests for free. If you are lucky, they also have drinks and sometimes beer available for adults. This was a great perk.

While staying at the hotel, they have a small inclosed garden area where kids can run around. It is not too large, but if you have small children, the space is good. They also have an inclosed area for playing basketball.

The rooms are not extravagant, but they are kept clean. The hotel staff has always been accommodating and considerate.

The location of the hotel, as long as you have a car, can't be beat. It is within a five minute drive of any type of shopping you could want. There are tons of restaurants to choose from as well. If you have small children and like seafood, I highly recommend Joe's Crab Shack just across from Robison Town Mall. They have a play area for kids and adults can eat and relax without having to worry about their children getting restless.

Whenever we go back to Pittsburgh, this will always be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumisukuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheinlein, Manager at MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Dear sumisukuri,

Thanks very much for your wonderful review and recommendation! We appreciate your return business and are thrilled to hear you were able to take advantage of all the amenities we offer and our location near 3 shopping centers and a wide variety of restaurants. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit to Pittsburgh.

Best,

Doug Martin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

stayed here as a park and fly option out of pittsburgh, we used points so our stay was free, and so was the parking, staff were very friendly, great service to and from airport, about 10 minutes away.Breakfast was fair, and well attended too. All rooms were suites maybe a little rough around the edges but not too bad, just down the road a couple mile from ikea, robinson mall, etc. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southwestPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheinlein, Manager at MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Dear southwestPa,

Thanks very much for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our park and fly service. We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Best,

Doug Martin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We needed a last-minute place near Pittsburgh and this hotel had the lowest rate among hotels with positive reviews. We were quite surprised at how nice the room and overall facilities were. This place would be a challenge to find at night without GPS, but the location is very close to both PIT and downtown Pittsburgh. There is a great selection of restaurants and a spectacular Giant Eagle supermarket just up the hill. We paid $90 for a one night stay, which I think is a bit much, but other nearby hotels wanted $120-130. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They responded to every request quickly, professionally and met our every need. Our room was clean and comfortable. We arrived to find that they were having one of their "social events" in the lobby which included free draft beer and pizza which was a great touch.

In the morning we found the free breakfast to be quite good. Bagels, bread/toast, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juice, waffles were all offered.

The hotel is located near many stores and restaurants making everything you need very accessible. It is only about ten minutes from the airport and 15 minutes to downtown at non-rush hour times meaning you have easy access to everywhere you need.

The free wireless internet connection was relatively speedy and consistent, which is far better than I have come to expect from most hotel connections.

We had some minor issues: our bathroom fan didn't work, our door lock failed once and a couple of times our key cards de-activated themselves and wouldn't let us into our room, despite the fact they let us in the side door of the hotel. There was a minor stale smoke smell in the hallway, but none of these "issues" took away from our experience.

The room had a kitchenette which allowed us to buy some groceries and prepare some basic meals ourselves, which saved us a lot of money on restaurant meals. That, combined with the breakfast, meant this was one of our cheapest trips ever in terms of food.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again the next time we pass through Pittsburgh. As long as you keep in mind this is a 2 Star hotel and not the Ritz I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanOCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Me and my family stayed at mainstay suites for 2 days and we really enjoyed our stay. We got every essential amenity required for the 4 of us. They gave a delicious continental breakfast. We were offered extra sheets and pillows upon asking. This was my first experience with mainstay and i would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamond0095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I only stayed one night, but I was reasonably impressed with my first experience with MainStay Suites. The check-in process went well enough, and I was given a room on the 2nd floor. The lobby was simple yet clean, and the hallways are bright and also clean.

The room itself was nice -- good LCD TV, nice kitchenette area (dated, but aren't they all?), a comfortable sofa, a small desk/table for work, and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was unexceptional but clean. I happened to arrive when they were working on the water heater so I had to take a cold shower, and I should have been informed at the desk of that situation. The problem was resolved fairly soon after that, however.

There is nothing in the immediate (read: walking) area for eating or shopping, but the hotel is situated just down the hill from a major shopping area with multiple restaurant and shopping options. It is probably walkable but wouldn't be fun as there's a sizable elevation difference! I HIGHLY recommend the brewpub Bocktown for the food, beer and service, just across from the Target.

Breakfast in the morning was very good, a step-up from places like Hampton Inn which seem to be skimping on this amenity (but a step down from Residence Inn). There were waffles, various breads, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and sweets.

Overall, I'd stay here again because the rate was excellent, and the service was good. I didn't have any significant issues, and I'll be staying there again (tomorrow, in fact!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#53 of 72 in Pittsburgh
31 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Airport Robinson Township
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport

Address: 1000 Park Lane Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15275-1107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#25 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £70 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pittsburgh Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Mainstay Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing