We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Me and my family stayed at mainstay suites for 2 days and we really enjoyed our stay. We got every essential amenity required for the 4 of us. They gave a delicious continental breakfast. We were offered extra sheets and pillows upon asking. This was my first experience with mainstay and i would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamond0095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    73
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
59
57
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

I only stayed one night, but I was reasonably impressed with my first experience with MainStay Suites. The check-in process went well enough, and I was given a room on the 2nd floor. The lobby was simple yet clean, and the hallways are bright and also clean.

The room itself was nice -- good LCD TV, nice kitchenette area (dated, but aren't they all?), a comfortable sofa, a small desk/table for work, and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was unexceptional but clean. I happened to arrive when they were working on the water heater so I had to take a cold shower, and I should have been informed at the desk of that situation. The problem was resolved fairly soon after that, however.

There is nothing in the immediate (read: walking) area for eating or shopping, but the hotel is situated just down the hill from a major shopping area with multiple restaurant and shopping options. It is probably walkable but wouldn't be fun as there's a sizable elevation difference! I HIGHLY recommend the brewpub Bocktown for the food, beer and service, just across from the Target.

Breakfast in the morning was very good, a step-up from places like Hampton Inn which seem to be skimping on this amenity (but a step down from Residence Inn). There were waffles, various breads, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and sweets.

Overall, I'd stay here again because the rate was excellent, and the service was good. I didn't have any significant issues, and I'll be staying there again (tomorrow, in fact!).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Because of the kitchenettes, this is really a blue collar extended stay motel. It was like staying in a work camp, as the parking lot contained a number of heavy work trucks. It's nice to get a little "pizazz" when you are paying almost $100 a night, while on vacation, but you sure don't get it at this motel.

We checked in and when we got to our floor, the smell of turnips in the hallway was very strong. The temperature in our room was 80 degrees, yet the A/C wall unit was running full out. All it did was recirculate the interior air. The unit did not have any controls to change to outside air; the only control was on the wall, which was similar to what you would have in your home. The air being recirculated had no coolness to it. Luckily, the nights were still cool, so with the window wide open the room started to cool as the night wore on.
The bathroom sink had a steady leak under it (we put a pot underneath to catch the water) and a leak where the fixture was attached to the counter. Water would run all over the counter.
There was a vent for a bathroom fan, but we could not tell if there was actually a fan, as no noise or effect on the bathroom. The bathroom was clean; thank goodness.
We booked a non-smoking room and found out the next day, we were directly adjacent to a number of smokers. The hallway always reeked of cigarette smoke. We couldn't smell it the night of check in because it reeked of turnips. When we checked out (only a 2 day stay), I asked about that, and was told only the first and second floors were non smoking; great was we were on the third floor.
Although not hot, the breakfast was pretty good; cereals, yogurt, fruit, waffles, juice, whole wheat bread, only white flour bagels, cold boiled eggs.
This is a great place if you work in construction and need to stay for a number of weeks and prefer your own cooked meals vs highly processed restaurant food.

The amenities extend to breakfast and a coin laundry. No pool, fitness, bar, etc. etc.

This is not the place for people on vacation or business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

I want to warn business travelers to stay clear of this property. I previously stayed during the summer and it was a decent experience. This time, I do not know where to start. The property is being used as overflow housing (long term) for a local college. Probably half, if not more, of the rooms are college kids. Noise levels, running through the halls yelling, etc. It is a dorm. I have had to have my key card re-keyed every time I return to my room. There is NO parking. Currently the only spot on the property available is handicapped. Housekeeping is trying hard but it has to be hard cleaning for college students. Breakfast is ready on time but there are no utensils to get items off the serving trays. People are using bowls to scoop donuts but on the good side the college kids are not awake yet. :-) The worst was the toilet plunger lying on the floor in front of the elevator. Be warned!

  • Liked — Location and proximity for business needs
  • Disliked — That it is being used as a DORM for college students
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank winedivaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

If you have an early morning flight or going to be gone for a period of time, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The check in and out process was smooth and the hotel was clean. The room rate was $ 104 plus taxes and you can leave your car there for up to a period of 30 days free of charge. We looked at other hotels that had a slightly cheaper room rate but added on a daily parking fee after a 14 day period and the Mainstay was far more affordable. In addition to the bed our room also had a sofa bed, kitchen and small dining area. The hotel runs a free shuttle service to the Pittsburgh airport begining at 4:30am. The airport is about 10 or 15 minutes away, we had a 6:15am flight and had plenty of time to check in and get through security. There is also a continental breakfast available. We left the car parked at the hotel for 24 days and when we returned we called the courtesy shuttle line and within 30 minutes had been picked up and dropped off at our car in the parking lot.

  • Liked — The price, free parking for 30 days and the airport shuttle.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aditu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

was given the wrong room, booked one that slept 6 and was given one that only slept 4, they wouldnt fix it. Told us they were completly booked, had a family member from home call and guess what they had rooms for the night! big surprise! after an hour of back n forth they offered us an air bed another hour passes we get the bed and no pump! another hour and we finally call the desk and say for get it and my nephew slept on the floor, as it was 11pm and e had to get a 5am shuttle
On our return we had a delayed flight but the shuttle service is until 11pm we called at 10:50pm as soon as the plane landed and was told "sorry our driver is stuck in traffic and wont be back until 11:45 and then he will be done, you will have to get a cab"
I had to pay $40 bucks for 2 cabs to go 3 miles for something that was to included, just all the way around bad customer service!

  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danaleePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

We stayed at the Mainstay Suites for one night and parked our car in the Park and Fly lot for nine nights when we flew out of the Pittsburgh Airport.

Check-in and Check-out: Went smoothly. Reception was friendly.

Room: Square footage smaller than I expected. Contained a queen size bed and sleeper sofa. Tight quarters when sleeper sofa is pulled out. Bathroom clean. Under the bed not vacuumed in a long time. Quiet at night. Snacks available in the reception area at additional cost. Did not eat the breakfast bar because we had to leave at 5:30 am and breakfast started at 6:00 am.

Shuttle: Hotel changed it's shuttle service times from when I called a month earlier to make the room reservation . Fortunately this did not impact us. Currently the shuttle runs every 30 minutes starting at 4:30 am and ending at 11:00 pm. They do not offer 24 hour shuttle service. Shuttle was on time for drop off and pick up, and about a 10 minute ride to/from the airport.

Long Term Parking: Parked our car for nine nights as part of the hotel charge which was 89.00, not including taxes. The parking lot is part of the regular lot customers use except long term parkers have a designated area. Our car was fine upon our return.

Overall, a good deal, nice staff, safe parking, and a decent stay. Very close to the Robinson Mall with many eating establishments.

  • Liked — Close to Pittsburgh Airport
  • Disliked — Clean on the surface, but under beds and behind furniture not vacuumed.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skicatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Coraopolis
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#55 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#62 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport

Property: MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Address: 1000 Park Lane Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#25 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pittsburgh Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Mainstay Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing