We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay @ Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #45 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay @ Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It was a horrible experience staying @ Candlewood suites on Dec 25th. We had booked for 2 nights but checked out in 1 night itself. The room was supposed to be non-smoking and there was all along smoke in the passage and in the room. There were no rooms available for us to shift so we were provided a spray to suppress the smoke smell. The effect of the spray hardly stayed for 30 minutes and we had to spray again. We tried sleeping in the sofa bed and in the bedroom but the smoke smell just couldnt go away. My wife, son were literally suffocating and waiting for the morning so we could move out. With a long and tiring drive and with hardly any sleep our further drive was very tiring. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh airport to anybody. They should make it smoking only hotel instead non-smoking rooms so it will not bring in non-smoking travellers to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to smoking this hotel is not recommended at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mahesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternPATexan, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am sorry to hear the issues that you had during your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with the smell and regret that you did not find the room to your liking. Clearly we missed the mark on how your situation was handled. I can assure you we will re-educate our staff on the options available in an effort to to turn the experience around. Our goal with every guest is to provide a great stay, and regret it was not your experience. Please reach out to us again if travel brings you to our area. We would enjoy the opportunity to change your initial impression. Happy New Year to you and your family.

Shannon Rizzo
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    87
    22
    20
    9
See reviews for
41
53
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Extended stay for business. This was the only hotel in the area that would honor per diem rates for government employees. Hotel is dated compared to many hotels, but the room was clean enough. If you need clean towels, you are required to return your towels to front desk and exchange them. Staff are friendly enough. Smoking rooms. Who has smoking rooms anymore. Strong odor from smokers when you get off of the elevator, but my room was OK. Might stay here again, but not for extended stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianchikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternPATexan, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. It sounds like we may have not done a thorough job of educating you, at check-in, what to expect from our brand. Built with the extended stay traveler in mind, we offer our guests their own space...in our place. Our amenities fit the extended stay lifestyle: weekly housekeeping, free laundry facilities, onsite fitness area...and the option from a dozen smoking rooms. The smoking suites are located on our top floor on one wing. The majority of the time, we are able to accommodate non-smoking suite requests. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Hopefully one of our other brands: Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express would be a better fit on your next trip to our area.

Shannon Rizzo
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are going to be in town for a few days. Like most candlewoods, you get a kitchen which is nice if you don't want to eat out every night. The location is great for business travel, plenty of stores (Walmart, Target, etc) and chain restaurants. The price is very reasonable and the beds are nice. Plus they have a fairly decent fitness center too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallsfireryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternPATexan, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel recently. I am pleased to know you appreciated the amenities we offer our extended stay travelers. Sounds like we were a good fit for your travel needs. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Shannon Rizzo
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level Contributor
340 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stay at Candlewood Suites often when on business. This is one of the best in the chain. Understand what you are getting into before you book your room. If it's a mini apartment you are looking for, stay here. If not, don't stay at a Candlewood and don't complain. "An informed traveler is a happy traveler".. This place is close to shopping and many restaurants. There is a Target store within walking distance for groceries. The Candlewood Cupboard is well stocked. AND, yes if you are a smoker, they have rooms for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternPATexan, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review of our property! We are pleased to learn you are a fan of the Candlewood Suites product, and hope to have the opportunity to host you again on a return trip to the area.

Shannon Rizzo
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Are there even smoking rooms in hotels anymore? I guess so. Checked in tonight and that is all they had - and staying on a work trip so I can't leave. Terrible. Don't advertise having non smoking rooms available if you don't have them.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jgleitsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Jgleitsmann,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online.

I am sorry to hear the issues that you had during your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with the smell and regret that you did not find the room to your liking.

Your experience is not reflective of the high standards that we pride ourselves with. We always aim to deliver world class service and with this in mind, your comments will certainly be looked into and improvements will be made where possible. We hope that despite your dissatisfaction, you will still give us a chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here a couple of days while traveling from one wedding in Harrisburg to Buffalo for the next weekend's wedding. I had to work some in the mornings and the wifi was great, as was the desk. My room was excellent. Clean bathroom, good shower, And I loved that it was far more equipped than most hotels ever are. Full size refrigerator, sink, stove top, microwave, dishwasher, and cabinets stocked with lots of basic cookware. Also, free laundry onsite! For less than a hundred a night, you just cannot beat the experience.

Room Tip: I'd try to get first floor, I think the only fitness room and laundry room are on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked the Candlewood Suites because the price was so much cheaper than other options in Pittsburgh. We were coming to town to visit family and friends for 5 days I was a bit worried that the lower price meant that the hotel would be crap. We had requested a non smoking room but due to our late arrival we had to take a room on the smoking floor which we were not happy about. The staff was nice enough to let us see the room and decide, offering us a full refund if we thought it was too smoky. The hallway outside the room reeked of cigarettes but the room itself was absolutely fine. On some mornings they got rid of the cigarette smell in the hallway and some mornings they didn't. All in all though the stay was great. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. We appreciated having a fridge to store cold drinks and there are lots of restaurants in the area to get take out or go out to eat. I especially appreciated the laundry facilities and the fact that they were included in the price of the stay. My only real critique is that sometimes the entrance of the hotel was a bit messy or the hallway leading to the elevators had mud tracked in and didn't seem to be cleaned regularly. All in all though we had a great stay there and would go back.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, get there early to be sure you have a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danale1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Airport Robinson Township
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#64 of 70 in Pittsburgh
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#55 of 70 in Pittsburgh
21 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Address: 100 Chauvet Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15275-1037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Coraopolis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#22 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Airport is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). Located near the city's major expressways, we're just minutes from Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT), Pittsburgh's downtown business district, Bayer Corporation, FedEx Ground, University of Pittsburgh, First Niagara Pavillion, & UPMC. Want to see a game, Check out the Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park, The Pittsburgh Steelers at Heinz Field. Check out the Pittsburgh Penguins or a concert at PPG Paints Arena. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are also within minutes at the Robinson Towne Center and the Mall of Robinson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Candlewood Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing