We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived at the Candlewood Suites hoping to find a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and a staff that would try to accomodate our requests. We got none of that. We booked a handicapped accessible suite because that's all that they had available at the time that was non-smoking. We didn't want a handicapped accessible suite as we felt that they should be saved for those that need them. When we arrived the desk clerk stated that they still didn't have any other non-smoking suites. My wife then asked if we could view one of the smoking suites to see if we could tolerate it and leave the handicapped accessible one for someone who truly needed it. The desk clerk wouldn't even show us one of the smoking suites and insisted that we stay in the suite that we reserved. It was late and we didn't want to argue so we agreed.
The lobby - if that's what you want to call it is small and cramped. It was not inviting at all nor was the individual who was working the desk that night.
When we arrived in the room we were greeted by what appeared to be Walmart furniture (and low-end Walmart furniture at that). The place could really use updating and some finer furnishings. We weren't looking for Waldorf Astoria type furnishings but something other than particle board would have been nice.
Air conditioning was another issue. The air conditioning unit is in the main room with a little tiny vent into the bedroom. Because of this set up, my mother (who was traveling with us) froze just so that the bedroom was reasonably comfortable. Again - VERY poor design.
The bed in the bedroom was anything but comfortable and appeared to be quite old.
Ammenities were scarce in the bathroom and we were never given the option of having the room cleaned any of the 3 days that we were there.
I'm only willing to give this place a rating of 2 because it was reasonably convenient and in a quiet location.
Given the choice, I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NY_Traveler_13126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS Pittsburgh A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear NY_Traveler_13126,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. During our busy times, as we are in right now, handicapped accessible suites are the very last thing we sell in order to accommodate anyone that may need those specific rooms types. We always try and honor the specific type of room that you choose at booking. I apologize they did not show you a smoking room, many times our smoking rooms sell out very quickly as we only have 12 of them. We mostly cater to extended stay guests and our housekeeping regime is catered to give those guests their privacy. We offer housekeeping once a week if guests are here 7 or more days, again I'm sorry this was not explained to you at time of check in. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again for choosing the Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh.

Kind Regards,
April J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    85
    22
    20
    9
See reviews for
41
52
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great. Very nice rooms with all you need. Free laundry services are a big deal when living life on the road. Great gym, and good movies to rent for free. Big shout out to Brad at the front desk. He takes care of every guest and the entire property. Great job Brad!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingDavid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS Pittsburgh A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear KingDavid5,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities we have to offer. I will be sure to pass along kudos to Brad, I'm happy he made you feel welcomed and at home during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh-Airport during your next stay!

Kind Regards,
April J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
282 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just stayed here, Clean modern room. Gym and cupboard were in great shape. Laundry room clean and working great. Parking good. Many many places to eat and shop very close. I just stayed one night. But would stay again. And longer. I checked in early. With no issue

Room Tip: I had first floor. Loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngryBirdMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS Pittsburgh A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear AngryBirdMSP,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm pleased that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities during your stay. The team takes a lot of pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh-Airport during your next trip!

Kind Regards,
April J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Local staff failed to honor my reservation. They made a fine effort to get me another hotel, but I could see they are well-practiced at this. Candlewood is located in a good suburban area, but not close to airport. Lobby and maintenance looked shakey. Definitely not business class.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RSJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS Pittsburgh A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear RSJ50,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to stay with us due to unforeseen circumstances at the hotel. I am pleased that the hotel team was able to find you alternative accommodations for the evening. Please feel free to contact me directly to further discuss your experience. I hope that when you are back in the Pittsburgh area you will come back to the hotel to see our updated rooms and amenities that we offer at the Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Airport.

Kind Regards,
April J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I thought our trip was ruined.....because we checked into a nasty hotel and immediately checked back out.....we called Candlewood Suites advised of our situation and we were immediately booked and checked in....our stay was fabulous and the staff was even better!!! Thank you to all for saving the day!!! We will definitely stay there again!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS Pittsburgh A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Lori H,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm pleased that the team was able to make your trip memorable! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh during your next visit!

Kind Regards,
April J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My boyfriend and I went to pittsburgh for a weekend and stayed with Candlewood because of its amazing price !!!! At the beginning I was a bit skeptical as the price seemed too good to be true comparing to hotels in around the area. The room was alot better than I expected,we had our own suite with kitchen, microwave. The room was clean & roomy. The staff at this hotel are really nice at well. Definitely will come back again !!!

Room Tip: Defiinitely stay with non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS Pittsburgh A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear saipat,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm glad that you found our rooms comfortable and well equipped. The hotel team go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh during your next visit!

Kind Regards,
April J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great place, great price and location. Had our dog perfect! Nice area to walk our dog. Everything around the hotel that you may need. Front desk staff excellent! The tub needed some TLC and the staff immediately cleaned it for us. The room is so spacious with a nice kitchenette. Highly recommend, price perfect! Location good as well.Clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjzobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS Pittsburgh A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear cjzobi,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! I'm so happy that the hotel team was able to make you feel comfortable during your stay. They take a lot of pride in the hotel and making each guests experience memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Airport in the near future!

Kind Regards,
April J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#56 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Address: 100 Chauvet Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Coraopolis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#22 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Airport is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). Located near the city's major expressways, we're just minutes from Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT), Pittsburgh's downtown business district, Bayer Corporation, FedEx Ground, University of Pittsburgh, First Niagara Pavillion, & UPMC. Want to see a game, Check out the Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park, The Pittsburgh Steelers at Heinz Field. Check out the Pittsburgh Penguins or a concert at Consol Energy Centetr. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are also within minutes at the Robinson Towne Center and the Mall of Robinson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Candlewood Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing