We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Hotel, Just wish there was more to offer to justify the cost of a room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 August 2011

As always the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great view of mellon arena. Room service was lacking though. My wife and I ordered dinner from room service before heading to a Steeler game. I ordered a $20 Steak and She had a $15 Steak Salad. The food was not bad but no great either. The problem was that we were told that it would be 35 minutes until the food arrived. It took an hour and15 minutes for the food to arrive which caused us to run late for the Steeler game. There was a Nice sized Flat Screen tv in the room but when you only get 25 channels and 23 of those channel are sports/new/shopping channels it really doesn't matter what quality of the picture is. I noticed that they offered On-demand movies. Deperate for something to watch i Browsed the On-demand movies but soon discovered that no movie is worth $17.00 to watch once. Not that it really matters but for $165 a night, they could at least afford an exhaust fan in the bathroom. Room was kinda small.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,373 - 1,379 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Wife and I stayed here for a few nights, The hotel was terrific, very clean wait staff was very accomodating. BUT!, Pittsburgh is a MESS, navigating the town with all the construstion, Movie shooting, and general disrepair, Frankly Im glad we only ventured out a few times. Breakfast Buffet was great omlets HUGE, and Stuffed to the gills. If I had a beef with the hotel, it was the construction noise I believe coming from the 15th floor, (We were staying on the 14th). I'm sure it wont last long, because THEY START EARLY! Enjoy...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smasullo, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel from your previous stay with us. Although unfortunate that you experienced Pittsburgh during a chaotic time, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future should your travels bring you back. The construction in the downtown area is nearing its end which will make it much easier to navigate the city, and we will always have the great breakfast buffet in which you enjoyed this past time.

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

There is not one night person that works there that was happy. I am a diamond member and I got a room with a view of lower roof. Asked while checking out over the phone if they could bring my car around. They said sure and forwarded the call to the valet which then forwarded to their answer machine. Called back and they said no because of the construction.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wuchowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Our sincere apologies for the less than hospitable service you encountered with our overnight team during your stay.We have addressed internally with additional customer service training and guidance. As a Diamond guest, we truly appreciate your business and loyalty to the Hilton Family of Hotels. Please contact me directly at ------- or ---- so that we can get additional information from you.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My friends and I decided to do a girls weekend in Pittsburgh and stayed at the Doubletree Hotel downtown Pittsburgh. We agreed at the end of our stay it was well worth the cost. The rooms are beautiful, the restaurant food was great, staff was kind at all times and very helpful. The hotel is in a perfect location. We walked everywhere. And let me not forget the awesome shuttle driver (wish I had his name) who was more than helpful and agreed upon our return in December to take us through the city. The complimentary hot chocolate chip cookies hit the spot along with complimentary bottles of water. We say thanks to the Doubletree hotel and staff for making our girls weekend outing awesome! See you in December 2011...!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We are delighted you had a wonderful girls weekend in Pittsburgh. We look forward to seeing you again in December.

Safe travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
----------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel was nice but nothing special. When they told us that parking cost $20, we decided to use the underground garage across the street. The sign posted said $6 nights and weekends.

We parked the car at 7:30 pm and departed at 8:30 Monday morning. There are no human beings to collect parking payments. It is a self pay with cash or credit card.

My credit card was dinged $22 for 13 hours. US Steel gotta be making more money from parking than they do selling steel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you for sharing your parking experience. There are a number of self parking options available around the hotel. This can be ideal and a less expensive option if you do not require the use of your vehicle. We encourage our guests to use our complimentary hotel shuttle for short trips around the city. If you prefer not to use our garage valet parking, you can simply pull up to the front of the hotel, unload luggage, check into your room and park your vehicle in one of the nearby self parking garages. Our team members are happy to provide direction to alternative parking garages.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel is nice, in a good location and the staff was friendly, but we had some noise issues

We used our Hilton Honor points for the stay so I was assuming we would be given a nicer than normal room location. We went to the Pirates game (a 15 minute walk and a beautiful stadium) and got back to the room around 10:30 only to encounter annoying jackhammer noise on the construction site below us.
Friday morning starting at 830, we were awakened to more very loud construction noises (power sander, loud voices, dropping of tools) on the floor above us.

While the hotel itself was nice and enjoyable, I feel that we should have at least been made aware of the potential of the noise problems.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILParrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

We appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Family of Hotels and apologize for the noise disturbance you encountered. PennDot are currently working on a number of bridges surrounding the hotel and are working through out the night. They have agreed to cease using the heavier equipment at midnight so as not to disturb our guests. We expect the bridge demolition to be completed by the end of August and do not anticipate any further overnight disruptions.

Best Regards..

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I was at a different hotel the week before and wanted to change hotels. Both Chad Giger and Judy Costello helped me get a room and when I requested a refrigerator for medications, they upgraded me to a 1 bedroom suite.
The room was quite comfortable and the bed had much more support than the hotel that I stayed at the prior week! Excellent room service and attentive staff make this hotel delightful.
Two cons - the bathroom IS quite small. I did balance my toothbrush and brush on the little shelf over the toilet, but it worked out. The other issue was the ongoing construction right next door (on the roads and overpasses). There IS a limit to what the hotel can do for that problem! However, I loved the freshbaked cookie and the 7-11 right next door.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDebsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

We love to hear from seasoned travellers and appreciate your kind comments. As you mentioned, our bathrooms are smaller than your typical hotel and our new room design addresses the need for additional bathroom storage space. In regards to the overnight PennDOT construction, we understand that the demo/noisy phase is almost complete and do not anticipate any additional noise there after. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £118 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing