We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in the 'Burgh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great time in the 'Burgh!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the DoubleTree in downtown Pittsburgh - part of a hockey trip in March 2012 to Pittsburgh, Washington and New York. We arrived on a Friday night and checked into a gorgeous room - amazing art, awesome bed, great view of the city and huge room.

We were delighted to receive three breakfast vouchers for each of us to have dinner in the hotel breakfast the next morning. Don't bother with a la carte which will cost you - go for the buffet. They have lots of fresh fruit, juices/coffee, pastries, bacon/sausage/ham and the best part - an omelette station. Great chance to have a breakfast at the hotel before starting off the day.

The hotel was quiet, centrally located and easy to get anywhere we needed. We cabbed it a few places but mostly just walked everywhere. I'd totally recommend this venue to my friends. However a few things to note:

- I wish parking had been cheaper - was surprised to pay what we did in the city.
- I wish breakfast had run a bit later - we like to sleep in on vacation and breakfast ends at 11.
- There's nothing open past 11 pm - even the 7-11 down the road closes...at 11 (in Canada they're 24 hours). We got into our hotel room at 11:30 and hadn't eaten anything since lunch and had minimal to no options.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzerella1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We hope to see you next time you are in the city!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    519
    248
    119
    50
See reviews for
412
353
79
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

An old hotel, poorly maintained and over priced. good location, minimum service standards, hotel is clean but rooms are in poor condition, with minimal amenties. Pool and workout area is in good condition.

Room Tip: use another hotel, Hampton or marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
I am disappointed to hear that your stay fell below your expectations. We strive to provide a very high quality of service as well as clean, comfortable accommodations. We are in the process of a guest room renovation to enhance our product and consistently improve. We would like the opportunity to serve you in the future and provide you with the experience we take so much pride in.

Thank you for sharing your experience,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I have stayed at other Double Tree locations before but this one so far has been my favorite. Great location, very clean, friendly staff, and wonderful comfy rooms! Check-in was a breeze and we were greeted with smiles and warm cookies. The room was updated with modern decor, spacious, and a great mattress that provided a peaceful night sleep. The only downfall was the room I was in had a smaller bathroom. You were able to easily navigate but it would have been nice to have a little extra room. Other than that the toiletries were great! I hate when hotels provide shampoo and conditioner that make your hair feel worse than when you went in. They provided complimentary bottles of water in the room and also had a restaurant and convenience store on site. My only complaint would be the Hilton Honors Rewards program. Unlike many other rewards programs, if you book the room through an expedia, orbitz etc they will not allow you to get the points for your stay. I was very unhappy to hear this but other than that it was not a reflection upon this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizingsun03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our newly renovated rooms and Crab Tree amenities are certainly a hit with our guests. We are challenged with how small our bathrooms are and are working on increasing the work space with our designer.

Hilton Honor reward points are only earned when you purchase a room directly with Hilton. Third party rates offered by online travel agents do not qualify for reward points, however you will earn points on any additional non-room and tax related charges posted to your room. Be sure to check out our website where you will find rates equal to if not better than any online travel agent.

Thank you again for your wonderful review,

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed there with family for 3 days. Location is good however there is nothing open around it on the weekends. Only a Dunkin Donut across the street. The rooms were ok and the kids enjoyed the swimming pool. The the cookies were much appreciated.

Room Tip: Apparently they have rooms with seperate sitting areas so ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
We appreciate you taking a moment to complete a review of your stay. When your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, please be sure to ask for one of our one bedroom suites. We will gladly upgrade any guest at the time of check in if a suite is available. To guarantee a suite upgrade, look for the upgrade offer in your confirmation email.

There are many things to do in and around the hotel but when you go out and about, be sure to take advantage of our complimentary downtown shuttle service and the complimentary "T" ride to the North Shore (Casino, PNC Park, Heinz Field).

Thanks again for your review,

Best regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klelmore
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Clean and nice room, small but that is expected in the city. Location was fabulous, right across from the T subway stop which is great as we used it to get to PNC Park. Valet was $18 a day and the staff was great but when the line to use the required valet backed up, it was a pain. The hotel staff were excellent and provided great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kecompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and recognize our team members for providing the service we take great pride in. We hope to see you at the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown again!

Regards,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I went to the Doubletree for an overnight. Room was a decent size. Valet attendants were very friendly but for $24/night I'd rather park overnight in a parking garage nearby for a lot cheaper. The morning of checkout I noticed there were literally hundreds of ants on the carpet near one of the trashcans as well as the trashcan itself. We hadn't put any open food in the trash, and, even if we did I wouldn't expect ants. I put the wastebasket in the hallway and tried to kill the others on the carpet. I then called the front desk asking if they could send someone up to our room to address the ant issue. No one came up. In the meantime we noticed more ants on the dresser that the TV was sitting, the nightstand and in the bathroom. At that point we decided it was time to go rather than hanging around in the room.

We decided to check-out downstairs and talk to someone about the ants. I mentioned to an employee what transpired and they just said "sorry about that" and proceeded to check us out. I wasn't expecting a free night but would expect something due to their inaction to the problem.

I will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina107c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
I want to take this moment to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and also apologize for this inconvenience. I can assure you that your concerns have been addressed. We strive to provide the highest quality of service as well as clean, comfortable accommodations to create a rewarding experience for every guest. Please contact me directly should your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh. We would like the opportunity to provide you with the service we typically pride ourselves in.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Within walking distance to anything you would want to do downtown and across the street from a subway stop. Room was clean and well appointed. Every time I left, it was tidy when I returned. The Grille had good food for a reasonable price. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Hi Genie F, Thank you for posting your experience!! We are centrally located and it's awesome that you were able to walk to the locations of your interest. Thank you for the Comment about our housekeeping staff. I will ensure we post your comment on our Wall of Fame for view. The Bigelow Grille strives on providing fresh and organic food consistently. I will inform the Restaurant Manager of your experience as well. Thank you again for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh Hotel & Suites.


Sincerely,
Ashley Tyrrell
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,930 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing