We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My Friend and I stayed here for one night to go to a Pirates Game. Great location right in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service to area attractions. The driver was very nice and very helpful. Would def stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daburg234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. If you need any assistance with a future reservations please do not hesistate to contact me directly.

Thank you again,

Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,600)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed here for two nights to look at the University of Pittsburgh. We arrived at 10:30 at night and were greeted by a very friendly and helpful valet attendant. He parked our car in a prime spot and called for the bellman. This is where the customer service ended. The bellman never arrived after waiting 10 mins for him and as the line of cars waiting to be served increased, we gave up and hauled our luggage up to the front desk ourselves. Molly checked us in and was crisp and curt. We asked her some simple questions....Where is the U. of Pitt? Is there a shuttle? and she when she was able to answer the question, gave us some rude reply.

The room itself was great! VERY comfortable beds and a nice alcove with a desk overlooking the city. The bathroom was small but the separate vanity/dressing area made it bigger. Room was spotlessly clean and the bath towels were large and fluffy!

We decided to stay another night and called down to the front desk to request to extend our stay. A guy answered the phone (did not give his name) and when I asked if this was the front desk, he rudely replied "speaking". I asked to extend our stay and he said that "he didn't know if he could do that". Where was he trained in customer service? His tone of voice was rude and condescending and I was somewhat shocked. I am in a Hilton and expect some degree of customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

I would like to take this moment to thank you for sharing your experience you had here at the Doubletree Downtown Pittsburgh. I sincerely apologize for the lack of customer service you received. We appreciate all feedback and this will only help us become experts in our customer service. Thank you for the kind words on the cleanliness of our rooms. I will inform our housekeeping manager of your comments. Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to provide any further information.

Thank you again,
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed on an upper floor, which the desk clerk told us had been recently renovated. It was nice. The rooms are oddly shaped and not as spacious as newer hotels, but perfectly fine. parking was a pain because the garage is small and you must valet so you need to be prepared to wait for car to be delivered.
The kids loved the pool, and the exercise room was nice as well.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Pegggus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We strive to ensure we provide our guests with a satisfactory stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to make future reservations for you.

Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel was very nice-- our room was on the fifth floor and our entire hallway smelled like feces. The room itself was fine, but the hallway was horribly odorous. The bed was very comfortable and the toiletries were great. Unfortunately, there's no fridge or microwave, which was inconvenient for our weekend trip to the hospital to visit my mother. Parking was easy, but $20/day for valet. Easy in & out, though. There was a 7-11 attached to the hotel which was convenient for last minute necessities. We got a great third party site rate, but when we asked to extend it for 2 more days, as my mother encountered complications in surgery, they could not, and offered us the same room for $172 more per night. Eventually, they did offer us a better rate, but we opted for the Wyndham Grand instead. It's also quite loud in the room (we could hear the neighboring rooms and ALL noises in the hallway). Altogether, for the very reduced unpublished rate, this room cannot be beat. I would not pay the published price though. Would be ultra convenient for a Pens game (not as convenient as the Cambria Suites). Also, skip the Bigelow Grille... horrible hotel restaurant. The gym and indoor pool were quite nice.

Room Tip: Don't ask for the 5th floor, as it smelled horrible in the hallway (other hallways did not seem...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Hello Lalas Travels,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate all feed back in striving to ensure we provide better service. We also use this as a training tool for our staff to see areas we could improve. By the description of your reservation and you were not able to extend at the same rate, the reservation was booked through a third party. In this case, we are unable to extend the current reservation however we would be able to make a reservation under our rates. Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like more information or would like to provide feedback.

Thank you again,
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were at the Double Tree for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a king suite with a sofa bed. It was a very spacious room. It almost seemed larger than a standard Double Tree. It lived up to the Hilton quality; clean, comfy beds and quiet. We had a beautiful view of the city on the 5th floor. The staff was very nice and helpful. The courtesy van is a real plus, providing transportation within the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MESWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Good Afternoon, We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay here at the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting in the Pittsburgh Area. Thank you again for sharing your comments.


Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of this hotel and the staff. We had one minor negative thing happen. The rooms are clean and the beds are extra comfy. The views of the city at night from the room were beautiful. Most all of the staff is helpful and courteous. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The best thing of all is the free shuttle that takes you to points in the city, station square and parts of southside. Just beware if the doorman offers you a taxi to a part of the town where the shuttle doesn't travel. Use the concierge and get your own. I feel he uses friends that are overpriced. This was the only negative thing.
There is a 7-11 attached so you can get reasonably priced snacks or coffee. We were in walking distance of the new Consol Energy Center. If you are there during Hockey season, go to the game. The arena is gorgeous.

Room Tip: If you have kids then a suite is the way to go. Otherwise, every room is good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so very much for sharing your comments on your past stay here in the Doubletree Downtown Pittsburgh!! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay here. I do apologize for the overpriced Taxi you received for pick up. Our first choice for Public Transportation is yellow cab Taxi. If we feel traffic hour is hectic or busy, we then use classy cab for transportion. We ensure our guests are able to receive quick, efficient, and safe transportation to any location they are going to. We hope to see you in the near future. Have a great day!

Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Rooms are recently renovated. TV is real HD with real HD channels. Staff was helpful, valet was well run. The only drawback is the size of the bathrooms; they are really really tiny. The location is not readily walkable to a lot of things, except Damons in the Steel buidling, a dunkin donuts and of course the Consul Center. But the free shuttle service is one of the best features of this hotel and the drivers are excellent. They will take you anywhere downtown and even beyond. I had a business meeting at Allegheny Center, which is across the river on the north side. Driver not only took me over the bridge, he came back and retrieved me when I was done.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nittany13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your recent experience here with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh. We appreciate the kind words on our Shuttle Service. I will be sure to inform the driver of your comments. Thank you again for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £117 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing