We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High prices, service issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The so called guest parking garage was full to I had to park a block up and pay an EXTRA 7.50 on top of the hotel's obtuse pricing. The last at the desk apologized and said that he would have the manager send something to my room...never happened. The hotel is 100% non-smoking (I guess it stinks too bad) but your slobbering, smelly dog and rub its butt on my pillow the night before you leave and I get your room. The room was small and cramped. For the price they charge you would think I could smoke or do anything I wanted in that room.
I will not stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallyboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Tallyboy76,
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality service and accommodations you deserved on your recent visit with us. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues of parking and guest room freshness with our team in an effort to prevent similar experiences in the future. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity to make your stay the best it can be should you return to the area.

Safe travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,309 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

I really enjoyed this place. I visited this hotel in September. It's decor is modern, the rooms have a wierd layout but are still very nice having all the comforts of home. My girlfriend loved the warm cookies they give you upon check-in. This hotel brand just gets it right. They have a nice little business center with complimentary computers, printers, and copy machines. This is really nice especially if you are trying to see a Steelers, Bucs, or Pens game because you can print the tickets out right there in the hotel. The have a complimentary Mercedes Van shuttle that will litterally take you anywhere in the downtown area for no charge.

Overall

Pros --
Shuttle Service
Business Center
Hilton Brand
Warm Cookies
Attached 7-11 store
Awesome Location
AWESOME BEDS
Bell Hops

Cons--
Pricey (Reserve online though a discount travel site)
Room have an awkward layout
Shuttle ends at 10pm (No Booze Cruisin) =D
Parking Fee of 20$ a day

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Will L,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your hotel experience with us. We strive to provide the best guest service experience. Our valet parking rates are $20 per night and are very competitive. There are many self parking garages around the hotel and should you not require the use of your vehicle while a guest, self parking maybe a more economical option. We do provide a complimentary shuttle service in the downtown Pittsburgh area from 7am to 11pm daily and recommend using the service to avoid incurring additional parking expenses within the city.

Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you back in Pittsburgh again.

Best regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is right in the downtown area close to restaurants and shops all within walking distance.
The staff was courteous, the room was very clean and it was a plus to have one with a view of the downtown area. We slept very comfortably for a night and checked out with the valet at the parking lot. To avoid confusion, the paid guest parking lot is right behind the hotel, not the lot directly in front of the hotel (parking is cheaper there but it is a distance to walk back to the hotel). We made the mistake of going to the wrong lot at first when we arrived. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BnZk_2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear BnZk_2c,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about our team and service and will certainly pass them along.

We do have limited onsite valet parking where the entrance is located on Center Ave. In addition, the hotel is surrounded by two self parking garages - US Steel and Chatham Square. Both are a short walk to the hotel.

Thanks again for sharing your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We picked this hotel for its proximity to the Consol Energy Center for a concert. It was a great location. Extremely clean, close to shops and restaurants, unique modern rooms, dated but WARM heated indoor pool. Breakfast was great - overall excellent experience even though the hotel was completely booked. One caveat, parking. It is valet, and costly, both of which are normal for city hotels. But, we returned to drop our car off to attend a concert at our own hotel, and could not park it because the lot had been oversold. We paid for parking for a night we could not use because there was no space for our car. When I brought it to the attention of the desk, they apologized and said if we gave it some time someone would leave. Pretty disappointing to have to pay to park in a lot across the street for our hotel. Other than that - we would return.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite unique in shape, ask questions for a room that suits your needs, attendants are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPAMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear TPAMomma,
We sincerely appreciate you taking a few moments to share your experience with us and will pass along your kind comments to our team.

We have addressed the parking issue with our garage management team and they have asked that you contact us with your confirmation number or dates of stay so we can adjust off your parking fees.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Booked thru Hotwire, not knowing where I'd be staying - very satisfied with Doubletree property, an excellent deal for a downtown hotel. EXCEPTIONALLY difficult to find for even an seasoned big city driver. Hotel's own website directions don't fully capture the mayhem of downtown Pitt, with corkscrews and overpasses to more overpasses, and uturns. Be ready to call them for help. Staff very friendly - pointed me to self park across the street in USSteel building, overnight was $12. So, there ARE options other than valet - you just have to be a savvy traveler. Nearby parking garage asks to see drivers license (at least at midnight) - not a problem, just a different approach. Rooms a little worn, but would recommend stay to a friend, and return myself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLXGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hey CityElf,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay while here in the Pittsburgh Area. We do sit on the far side of town and can be difficult to find at times. Anytime, please give us a call at the hotel and a Guest Service Agent will be more than happy to assist you! If you would like to provide any further feedback please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you again!!
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The property is right downtown. The staff is friendly and welcoming with a warm cookies at reception, a kind group of car attendants in the garage, and upgraded amenities. The hotel has been kept up to date on the interior and provides for shopping and dining within walking distance.

The valets were quick to provide me with directions to anywhere I needed to go and even let me know that it might be better to walk to my destination rather than drive.

The experience was refreshing. Even with a large conference in the hotel, the staff kept their cool, weren't gossiping in the open, and strived for an excellent guest experience.

The management should be proud.

Room Tip: Higher floors may offer a better view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJDembow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Good Evening CJDembow,

Thank you so very much for the positive feedback. We truly appreciate your kind words and I will be sure to share this with higher Management and the staff. We are very proud of our staff here and strive to provide top knotch service. Again we appreciate the comments and thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh.

Sincerely,

Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Excellent service by the staff, especially the valet guys. Hated that we had to valet park, but their attitude and helpfulness made up for it. Hotel is decent -- nothing spectacular. Rooms are clean, but could stand some updating. It was a little on the noisy side with late night/early morning partying (we were there on a football weekend, so perhaps that's why!). Good location, within walking distance or a short shuttle ride to really good restaurants and some shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickiKaye714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hi MickiKaye714,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying here with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh. We thank you for sharing your comments here with us. Our hotel is currently undergoing renovation. We will continue our renovation towards the end of the year to when our Hotel Occupancy is lower so we can minimize the construction noise on the floors. Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to make future reservation and I will be sure you are in a newly renovated room.

Thank you for your comments,

Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh,com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 1 Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £96 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, walkable to PPG Paints Arena, and within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and Bigelow Grille restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing