We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
“DoubleTree Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very comfortable. A little difficult to find. Cookies were warm, fresh and chocolate. Room was clean. Staff were helpful, making good suggestions for dinner locations. Shuttle service took us to a great restaurant and picked us up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Nathaniel M.,

Thank you for your review! We're so glad we can make you as comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you soon. If you would like to provide further feedback I can be reached ebreijo@doubletreepgh.com or alternatively 412-586-1847.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
(412) 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    511
    240
    117
    48
See reviews for
402
344
78
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The only two things decent about this hotel were the staff and the location. It was within walking distance of the main downtown area and the staff (front desk and housekeeping) was extremely helpful and friendly. This was not what I was expecting for a Double Tree Hotel, and I normally don't stay in these more "upscale" hotels. The lobby was nice, but my room was so "blah". It was dated and looked like an old room. The chair and pillows were so faded. It looked like a room from a much less expensive hotel. Our coffee cups had dust on them and they only had decaf! I had to call down for regular. I was in room (1510, King size bed). There wasn't even a refrigerator or microwave. They didn't offer a complimentary breakfast. The parking is $20 a day. We also experienced a disturbing incident on the morning of 14 June 2014 (our second day there). My friend went downstairs to use the restroom (as I was taking a shower), and apparently they were having a housekeeping meeting or some sort of staff meeting nearby. When she went into the restroom, some man stopped her and told her to hurry up for the meeting and he looked mad. She wasn't a staff member, she was a guest! Talk about awful attention to detail on that staff member's part. The whole experience was not worth the money. Spend your money somewhere else, that offers more!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristene963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear kristene963.,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry for all the inconvenience during your stay. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments very seriously, as we are in the process of renovations this year. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements. If you would like to provide further feedback I can be reached ebreijo@doubletreepgh.com or alternatively 412-586-1847.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
(412) 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I guess I expected a little more from this hotel- it was just average at best. The location was not great, hard to find, expensive restaurant, the rooms were average and the beds were small. I asked to be upgraded to a room with queen beds and was told they do not have any. Was also very disappointed in the valet parking situation. There was no self park and it costs you $20 per night to park (plus tips for the valet). I do have to say that the desk staff was very nice. The shuttle driver, not so much. We called for a ride from the baseball stadium and ended up walking because it took so long. I called to cancel the ride and the driver (who had left by that time) became loud and was angry that we had left. His poor attitude was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMason225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown for your recent trip. We greatly appreciate your candid feedback and will keep it in mind as we continue to improve our overall guest experience. It is disappointed to hear that your recent stay was not what you expected. I would like to personally reach out to you and get further feedback from your stay. If you have a few moments to contact me either though email(kstarosielec@doubletreepgh.com) or phone (412-281-5800).Your feedback is very important to us because it helps us to identify where we need improvement. I am happy to hear that the front desk was very nice and your kind words will be passed on to the staff. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.


Warmest Regards,

Krystal Starosielec
Assistance Front Office Manager
kstarosielec@doubletreepgh.com
412-281-5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Overall, I was pleased with the experience at this Doubletree. As always, very excited by my cookie...and they gave me 2 cookies, not just one! :) Wifi was free, the front desk was helpful in arranging a taxi, and the restaurant/bar was pretty nice. On the downside, the bathroom was a little outdated compared to other properties, it was a little 'outside' central downtown, and there was no continental breakfast, which I would expect for such a pricey stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown for your recent trip. We greatly appreciate your candid feedback and will keep it in mind as we continue to improve our overall guest experience. I am glad that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed our cookies! I am happy to hear that the front office staff could assist you with arranging a taxi and you also enjoyed our restaurant the Bigelow Grille. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to serve you again in the future.


Warmest Regards,

Krystal Starosielec
Assistance Front Office Manager
kstarosielec@doubletreepgh.com
412-281-5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel in the heart of Pittsburgh is in walking distance of all downtown has to offer which is plenty. The facitlity is okay but the staff are excellent. The very good cookies are a nice little extra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown for your recent trip. We greatly appreciate your candid feedback and will keep it in mind as we continue to improve our overall guest experience. Thank you again, we hope for another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Glad you enjoyed the cookies and our service,

Bryan Bell
Assistance Restaurant Manager
bbell@doubletreepgh.com
4125861847
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at the Doubletree in Pittsburgh a number of times and have always found it to be a great place to stay. The staff is warm and accommodating, the beds are very comfortable and the room service is superior in cost and quality than other hotels in the area. I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Wendy G,

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown for your recent trip. We greatly appreciate your candid feedback and will keep it in mind as we continue to improve our overall guest experience. We always look forward to your stay with. Next time you are in please feel free to stop pass the restaurant so I can say hello.

Warmest Regards,

Bryan Bell
Assistance Restaurant Manager
bbell@doubletreepgh.com
4125861847
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is directly across the street from a subway stop, just a few blocks from Dusquesne University, about 10 blocks from the theater district and all the restaurant/shops along Liberty Ave, and less than a mile to the Warhol Museum... great place to stay to enjoy downtown Pittsburgh. Check-in was easy, the hotel has dedicated parking within the building (opposite side of building from lobby) and costs $20/day. We stayed on the 17th floor and had a good view of the downtown area, there were 2 double beds in the room, large flat screen TV, a comfy upholstered chair and futon, a separate desk area and a separate bathroom / make-up counter area. Unfortunately, there was no mini-frig or microwave but there was a nearby ice machine that helped keep our Groceria Italiana (great little grocery in nearby Little Italy) buys chilled as well as our sodas. The mattresses on our beds were less firm than we like so we tried both in hopes of finding one we liked more and there were only down pillows and down comforters in the room - I am allergic to down so I want/need the artificial fill bedding. There were 3 or 4 rooms on our floor filled with obnoxiously drunk and loud college kids that insisted on yelling to one another through the hallway at 2am both nights of our stay but that isn't the hotel's fault. Lots of complimentary chocolate chip & walnut cookies but no complimentary breakfast in the mornings. There is a bistro and a Seven Eleven store within the lobby of the hotel. The Double Tree staff members were especially friendly, courteous and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerpetualMovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Perpetual Movement,

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your overall experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown. It is our pleasure to have you at our property when you your Pittsburgh. We hope you will visit and stay with us again the next time your in Pittsburgh!

Warmest Regards,

Prith Shah
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing