We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff went out of their way to help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. We were both completely unfamiliar with the city of Pittsburgh and the staff went out of their way to assist us with directions and recommendations. The shuttle service was excellent--dropped us off at Pamela's Diner and picked us up again! We greatly enjoyed the experience. And, I guess we have to mention, the free cookies were a pretty great plus too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Lauren T,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay on Tripadvisor. We are pleased by your comments and glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us. We hope to see you again for your next trip to Pittsburgh!

Warmest Regards,

Prith Shah
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

terrible hotel. the location was fine but the rooms were awful. there is no soundproofing to the outside of the building. Room was not very clean and was very small and poorly appointed. hallway had an odor and a used toilet plunger was sitting across the hall from me my entire stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Jody H.,

Thank you for your review. Please allow me to extend our apologies for all the mishaps that occurred during your stay. We aim to please every guest and take these comments very serious. Our team is trained to take these concerns and make sure they don’t happen again. We are in the process of renovations and we are committed to ensure your satisfaction if you give us another opportunity. We We’d like to see you again soon to show how much we’ve improved. If you could please contact so we can go over the incidents in more detail.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
Ebreijo@DoubleTreePGH.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and as the meeting were long it was always nice to get back to the hotel and relax. The staff was very nice and when it comes to sleeping the beds are the best we have ever slept on in a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Joel B.,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future. I have to agree the beds are incredibly comfortable.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I would like to start as saying, I stayed here before and it was fine. This time I was on the 5th floor, the last time I was on a much higher floor. Wedding party in the rooms all around us. Had to call security. Room was not real clean, AC was not at it's best. I had 2 rooms that night the other couple had the same complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Scott B,

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown for your recent stay.
We are extremely disappointed that your stay was so negative and that we did not correct the issues that you reported while on property. We greatly value your loyalty and patronage at our property and I would like the opportunity to speak with you so that we can make things right. We are in the process of renovations and we are committed to ensure your satisfaction if you give us another opportunity. I can be reached at 412-586-1847 or alternatively pshah@doubletreepgh.com. I hope for the opportunity to speak with you and serve you in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location for access to downtown and ballpark. Not much immediately near the hotel ie:no coffee shop or bar/pubs- a 4 block walk to anything. Made it difficult to grab a quick coffee in morning or bite to eat/drink. Hotel restaurant good quality -large buffet breakfast- Cabs in city affordable and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Daniel T,

Thank you for choosing our property for your recent 4th of July visit. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback from your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and accommodations. We hope for another opportunity to serve you again.

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Coffee systems is rated -1 Noise in hallways could be heard Bathroom door has to remain closed--not sound proofed--wateer running--people using stairs etc. Staff very friendly--cookies fresh and taste great

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank S6083QUjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear S6083QUjohnm,

Thank you for providing honest feedback regarding your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and we will definitely keep your comments in mind during our renovations this year. Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Prith Shah
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Took good care of service dog and my needs. Great having warm cookies when returning after a long days work. Rooms clean and parking attendants were very patient. Great at giving information to locations. Even took the hotel tax to event not bus since it had not arrived for an hour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lorra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Lorra K,

We are pleased to hear your positive review of our property during your stay. In the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance. We hope to see you again!

Warmest Regards.

Prith Shah
Front Office Manager
412-586-1847
pshah@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 1 Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £96 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, walkable to PPG Paints Arena, and within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and Bigelow Grille restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing