We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Stay but not the last.”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Valley Grove, West Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Third Stay but not the last.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We came for the Wine tasting on Thursday April 18 and the dinner date package on April 19 ( second time). We upgraded to a large suite because we have stayed in one on our first trip.
Suite rooms are very large and very comfortable. The wine tasting was excelent!!!!!!!! Where else can you be served champagne will you wait to sign in!!! Wine tasting also has and excellent fruit and cheese buffet to enjoy while you wait for the main wines and complimentary foods to be serverd. The dinner date package is a steal, it encludes a complimentary bottle of wine in your room and a $50 gift certificate to your choose of three of the many fine restuarants in Pittsburgh.
The free shuttle services makes it easy to get to and from your chosen destination. The staff are very friendly and very accomodating. And the morning breakfast is sure to fill you up and keep you coming back again and again. The North Side location is very safe and conveint to most of Pittsburgh's attractions.
Can't wait to take advantage of the Pirates package.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the old section. Both Deluxe Kings and large suits. Yes bathroom and show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    179
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
87
372
58
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

What a find. Each room is unique. The Priory is a restored monastery so each room is a little different from the others. A wonderful continental breakfast is served in the Refectory and a delightful garden with several tables and chairs available to the guests is in the back. This boutique hotel is located in the North Shore section of Pittsburgh which is a bonus as it is so convenient to the downtown area, the stadiums and several restaurants. Try it, you'll like it.

Room Tip: Corner suites are quite and the view is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse24813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel, although we passed through quickly and it seems to be quite the nice place. But our organization held an awards dinner in the function room, which is an old catholic church that has been restored. Stained glass windows from the original church, impeccable restoration and a pipe organ originally donated to the parish church by Andrew Carnegie in the early 1900s.

This was the second converted catholic church in Pittsburgh that I've had the pleasure to visit. The other, the Church Brew Works, owned by friends of mine, is a fantastic experience - dine and drink in a restored church setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Unfortunately, I would not recommend this hotel. I have been to many hotels and so-called "B&B's" and this is nothing exciting. I spent there two nights and the only good thing about the hotel is the terrace. The people working at the hotel did not have a smile on their face once. They were not informative and the check-in process was short and cold. The rooms felt damp and musty, the elevators seemed unsafe and the neighborhood was sketchy.

The price is WAY overpriced for the quality of the hotel. Sure it includes breakfast and parking, but it is still not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ju5tdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
First, I do apologize for this guest's negative experience. We certainly endeavor to make each guest's stay as comfortable, quiet and enjoyable as we possibly can, and clearly we did not meet the mark in this case. We did not hear from this guest directly, so it is difficult to pinpoint which staff members she felt were cold and unfriendly. We do generally get very high marks for our staff's attentiveness, disposition, and customer service, as well as the quality of our guestrooms and the overall experience at our boutique hotel. However, we will certainly take this review as an opportunity to remind our entire staff that at our hotel the guest comes first, second and third. There are no other considerations. With regard to the comment regarding the "elevators" "seeming unsafe," I am a little baffled. We do have one elevator. It is, however, virtually brand new -- installed about 30 months ago, and it works like a charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
424 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,931 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you enjoy lodging in historical places, this will be fun. The Priory is a recently restored monastery. They did a great job of modernizing while maintaining the old vibe. Parking is scarce (like everywhere downtown) and you can walk to Heinz Field, PNC Park, Warhol Museum and all the North Shore night life. The Priory is also an event facility for weddings, etc. Stay here for a nice change of pace from the concrete and glass chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuyFromAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had a 2 night stay in Pittsburgh and wanted something different, we got it at the Priory. Beautiful architecture and layout throughout the hotel, great breakfast, plus we got a tour of the main hall that id used for special events. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We loved the unique feel of this renovated and historic hotel. It's a great experience. Only negative.....tiny tiny bathroom. Would definitely stay again. Staff was friendly and helpful. Unite location in the heart of the city.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colclifmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing