We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Period Charm 100% Pgh. Hospitality”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I wish to pass along my sincere "thank-you" to management & staff for an awesome stay at the Priory. The "date night package" accommodation were outstanding (WOW! on the seasonal-trim) dinner at James Street Gastropub was fantastic and the breakfast was another WOW and the staff was warm & friendly. The room with it's awesome view of the Pgh. sky-line made the stay magical.

My partner who is a Pgh. native did not know the Priory existed and from his engineering background he was impressed with the building restoration. I would highly recommend checking out this B&B, when your travel plans include Pgh. area.

We have stayed at many B&B, and would rate the Priory a ten-plus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wamcd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for The Priory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Priory with my fiance. We were in Pittsburgh to see a Steelers game and to check out the Casino. We felt The Priory was nice and friendly. The Hotel is old but clean. We were only diappointed with the lack of knowledgable concierge services. The shuttle is convenient but books up fast on weekends. The breakfast was ok, parking lot is scary. It is walking distance to Heinz field unless you are lazy and out of shape. The casino in Pittsburgh is the worst casino I ever been too, definitely not Vegas, and could not even come close to matching up to Mohegan Sun Casino in Wilkes Barre. Drinks at the casino are expensive and despite betting big $ they still charge for drinks. I would definitley not go back to Pittsburgh to go to a casino. Steelers game was great despite the ice storm. I give the Priory 3 stars, it's average, some things are done very well and others are mediocre. I'm not diappointed and I'm also not blown away. It's simply average.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocSnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have been told about the Priory for years. Mostly from friends who enjoy early American buildings. The Priory is a restored monastery. The restoration is very well done. If you decide to stay, walk the halls and think about the monks when they first arrived at their new home. The architectural detail is fantastic.
If you are looking for luxury,this may not be the place for you. My wife enjoyed are stay. A pleasant staff, small room and shower, with a cozy warm atmosphere.
And the margaritas were good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paris0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our suite was adequate.
The hotel is located in downtown Pittsburgh across the street from a multi-story government-subsidized housing unit. The Priory has a very small, unsecured parking lot adjacent to the housing unit's parking (on the other side of the Priory parking lot is the interstate). The hotel also has a secured parking lot which requires guests to walk a block to reach the entrance to the hotel.
Unfortunately, we left an item behind in our room. Multiple attempts to make arrangements to have our property returned to us have been ignored by the hotel. Incredibly disappointing under any circumstance, but especially disappointing considering the charge for the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0neWhoLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The facility is a joy to stay at when you want to be near downtown Pittsburgh, PA. They are very refined. It is quiet and restful. The rooms are well decorated. I would mention that you may want to pay up for the king beds because the smaller bedrooms come with a very small room for the shower and toilet. They have a nice shuttle service that will take you to downtown. It runs normal times and the drivers are quite nice. The entrance includes a small palor and a full service bar that is great for meeting your party before going out. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a king sized bed if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at the priory and found the building to be charming and the staff to be courteous, if not necessarily friendly and welcoming. The hotel is a converted monastery and because of its historical nature, has the potential to be a 5-star attraction, but the lack of attention to details and the run-down nature of the rooms left me with no desire to return. Hotel location is within walking distance (15-20 minutes) to the convention center, but the dark neighborhood seemed to be in transition and didn't feel safe to walk in at night.

My room (302) had very worn carpet and pad. Curtains rods were damaged and therefore wouldn't close properly, which was very important since the streelights were directly outside the windows. The bedroom itself was poorly planned and there were cords for various electronics strewn about the floor. (see photos)

The bathroom was extremely small with no vanity to put toiletries. There was a shower-only stall, and the tile and door, inside and out, were dirty and coated in mildew (see photos). .

Breakfast in the refectory was included in the room, however it was primarily pastries and fruit with only hard boiled eggs in the shell served as a protein source. (no meats or scrambled or fried eggs).

Parking is available only at an unprotected outdoor lot on the street across from the hotel. There is a nice outdoor garden courtyard for relaxing in the warmer seasons. There is also a very small bar attached to the lobby (two stools) where light sandwiches are served, but no restaurant on property. Restaurants in the neighborhood are very limited and lower to mid-level type establishments. I hope that this hotel can address the deficiencies to justify the $150.00/night rate I was charged as it has potential... but would not stay there in its current state.

Room Tip: Best to have rooms facing internal courtyards versus in front facing the street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnbhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

First, I extend my sincere apologies to this guest. Our goal is to make each and every guest stay as comfortable and as pleasant as possible, and clearly we did not achieve that here. I will contact this guest directly to discuss these matters further. We will take a hard look at each and every item that this guest discussed in this review, and will certainly take immediate action to improve them. We take our task of creating a haven for our guests very seriously, and we will take this guest's feedback and use it to make our property better. We do thank this guest for his frank comments, and do promise to do better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The front desk was prepared for our arrival so check-in took just a minute. Then, when we opened the door to Room 124, we said, "Wow! Look at all the space!" Spotlessly clean, fresh, absolutely quiet with a large, comfortable bed. Free parking! Fabulous shuttle service! We'll stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knutskogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
1.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £84 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing