We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great downtown alternative!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great downtown alternative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

I'm moving to the Pittsburgh North Shore area and the Priory Hotel is close by...nice way to discover the neighborhood.
Pros: Friendly personnel, wine and cheese happy hour, free parking, free wifi, free breakfast, chaming rooms, high-end soaps and shampoos.
Cons: No elevator (for disabled or elderly), 10min walk to downtown (can be seen as a pros).
Consider the Priory as a B/B on steroids - great service, nice rooms - and more reasonable that downtown core hotels. Give it a try..you won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holzwurm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    177
    61
    22
    12
See reviews for
85
368
57
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed for only one night but would definitly go back. After a long day of walking around we just wanted to go back to the hotel order a pizza and kick back. The gentleman at the desk recommended a great pizza place and then told us we could go into the dining room to eat. They have a small bar set up and you can purchase drinks, then relax in the front sitting room. Great antiqies. The only drawback would be that there is no elevator so if that is an issue for anyone you would need to consider this. It was within walking distance of the Andy Worhol museum,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okamod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashviille
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

I recently stayed for the third time at The Priory. I went first for a wedding--there is a beautiful hall--and loved my stay. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful. From many rooms, there are great views of the skyline. It's within walking distance of the ball parks and downtown. The pastries with the continental breakfast are baked fresh each morning. I've seen good and bad reviews: I view the place as a 24- room historic B&B with character, charm and color. I will continue to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadGuyNashviille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a charming hotel with an excellent staff. Our room (103) was fine for 2 adults, but having the kids with us made it a little cramped. The sofa bed in this room is my only real complaint with this property. It should be put at the curb! As a couch it was fine, but the bed portion was horrible. The room was very clean, and the wine reception was a pleasant addition. The breakfast in the morning was fair, but adequate. Parking is a bonus, as it is included in the rate and is conveniently located right across the street. Some reviewers have complained about the neighborhood, however, in my opinion, it is fine. We walked to PNC park and back in about 12 minutes each way and never felt uncomfortable. They are working on an addition next door and expect to have it completed in November. Construction was not a problem. If you are looking for a unique property with some cool history, check it out. We won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggaewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANTON
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

I take a certain pat on the back stance when I go looking for places to stay on vacation. I have been known to find treasures tucked away as well as gems in plain sight. It is too much fun to go on the search to find unique places. Recently, my husband and I had the good fortune to stay at The Priory Hotel in Pittsburgh. A converted monastery served up a gracious ambiance from common living areas to outdoor patios. The bedroom was lovely and the bed heavenly. The bathroom needed another shelf but that was a trivial matter. Breakfast was a delight even though the fare was ordinary...therre was lots of it. The evening attendant r, without any hesitation, ecommended a local italian resturant which was fabulous. I would book your room now!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom65anddiane55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Stayed here about 15 years ago and liked it & liked just as much this time. Good location, able to walk to center city, pnC park, Andy Warhol Musuem. Pleasant place. good breakfast & nice accomendations. Will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10gramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stayed 5 nights at The Priory, and everything was great.

It is located approx. 10 minutes walking from the center of Pittsburgh, close to the Andy Warhol Museum and PNC Park.
There can be quite a lot of homeless or poor people in the street nearby, but no beggars, and nothing dangerous!

The hotel is quiet and it's nice it is located close to downtown.

The rooms are great: fully equipped (WiFi, A/C, TV, daily newspaper, ...) with nice pieces of furniture, The breakfast is much more than what you usually get for a complimentary breakfast buffet! You can have your breakfast outside, in a nice patio between the hotel and the grand hall.

From 5 to 7pm, complimentary wine is available in the lecture room, and there is also a self-service bar, with nice whisky.

They are building an annex to the hotel, there will be new rooms soon, but except if you need an elevator for the 2nd or 3rd floor, the historic part of the hotel will probably be the best choice!

Great value for the price!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CastorKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing