We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Hampton comfort with a few twists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This location provides the very good comfort level and decent free breakfast typical of Hampton Inns. However there are unique annoyances that justify the lower rates, compared to other Hampton Inns, that cost more. First, the highway access is baffling for new arrivals and annoying, once the required route is explained. Heading north to the hotel from central Pittsburgh, one has to exit into an Exxon gas station, drive across the station to a side road, and then cross over to the southbound lanes of McNight Rd. and head south a quarter mile to the Hampton. Your GPS or google maps will not be able to direct you in ant way that is comprehensible. Heading north from the hotel is equally tricky. First head south, turn off and cross under the highway, and loop back north. After you do the correct maneuvers once, subsequent reiterations are manageable.

The other annoyance is the breakfast serving line-too many sharp turns, and dead end corners where people waiting for access to one item block access for others trying to get to some other items. Not good when the breakfast area is crowded. At this location, you save some money, but you work for your savings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriassicJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Wow, I didn't know that I had to use over 200 characters... in that case... The lady at the front desk was just swell, she didn't mind that my children were hopping around with excitement eating all the free cookies that they offered. AND she didn't smell badly! Her male counterpart was easy on the eyes, very friendly, and told us where to get great local beer. (Penn. Station) The Room: Clean. Smell good. and there was smoking. We had to hide in the bathroom with the shower on and a towel shoved under the door so the kids wouldn't be exposed... but it was allowed! The pool: no bodies floating, no chlorine (the mineral stuff) water wasn't too cold. Hot tub: Too hot! I could have cooked a lobster in there! In fact, I was as red as a lobster after staying in for 30 seconds. The breakfast: you could make your own waffles, which everyone loves. I was hoping for more fresh fruit.. but their egg stuff was pretty good and convincing. The check out process was painless... you wave bye as you're leaving and they take care of the rest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The location was poor had to make too many turns to head north. The kitchen was very small hard to get to the Breakfast. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the water was hot. All and all not a bad Hampton

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Standard Hampton Inn property and is consistent with what you'll find at other locations. My room was clean and very quiet. Getting to and from the property can be a little interesting due to the way the road it is on is set up. There is a concrete divide so no left turn in and out, so don't panic when your navigation takes you past the hotel. Internet worked well and the typical Hampton breakfast was offered.

The difference for this property was the staff. All were awesome and took ownership of the property by referring to it as "My Hampton". "Welcome to my Hampton" and "Hope you enjoyed staying at my Hampton" not to mention they were all helpful and friendly. They were quick to explain how to get to local restaurants with the traffic pattern.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbfltri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Beds are very comfortable and rooms are clean. Hotel staff is extremely welcoming. They even called the room to make sure we were happy. The close proximity to downtown Pittsburgh is great, although reaching the hotel from the south is tricky. Leaving the hotel and traveling north is also tricky. I found the heating/cooling system to be noisy, but nothing ear plugs couldn't fix. The breakfast is good, although we didn't use it this trip. Overall good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

every thing was perfect the best hotel stay I have ever had thak you McKnight road Pittsburgh pa Hampton Inn The review says I need 200 caracters so here goes my room was beautiful the bed was super inviting and so very comthrouble the towels were soft and fresh smelling the shower had great pressure thhe TV was a good size flat screen with great color and picture the inter net was fast and the breakfast there was great coffee , and fancy teas , hot chocolate and plenty fo fruit which was served all day my stay was a vacation on its own I hated leaving to go home I would love to stay there again if I were in the area and will surely try a nother Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel staff is incredible - friendly and cheerful. The beds and pillows are perfect! The location works well for touring and getting to various places on McKnight. The breakfast is always great. As a family we love the pool, hot tub and gym.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#39 of 72 in Pittsburgh
177 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.

Address: 4575 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pittsburgh, PA hotel is five minutes away from downtown, situated right at the entrance to the business district. Stay connected with free WiFi and enjoy free, hot breakfast, as well as free parking. Hold large or small meetings (accommodations for up to 40 people), and workout in our fitness room or indoor swimming pool. Relax with comfortable room options, in-room microwaves and mini-refrigerators, or upgrade to a suite with a separate living room, sofa bed and soothing whirlpool. Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Mcknight Rd. is less than 10 miles away from: the University of Pittsburgh, Andy Warhol Museum, Benedum Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, P.N.C. Park, Ross Park Mall, North Park Golf Course, and other Pittsburgh attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Mcknight Rd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing