We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it's billed as....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is "tired". Drab, worn and out of date. The bedding was so wrinkled and dingy that I wasn't sure it had been changed between guests. The tub was filthy and you had to flush the toilet twice each time to make it work. Furniture is chipped and dinged and the upholstered chairs are stained. All literature is stained, creased and has seen better days. I'm not a neat-nick, but I wouldn't want my guests to come to my house if it looked like this. I've stayed at Holiday Inn Express for a fraction of the cost that was luxurious compared to this place. The bell hop at the door held out his hand got a tip BEFORE he would unload my bags from the shuttle. Now here are the good things: close to the convention center and restaurants and friendly front desk staff. That's it. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businesstraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for expressing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure each and every one of our guests’ feel welcome and at home when they walk through our doors. We are incredibly disappointed to learn we missed the mark during your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your feedback as this allows for us to better understand the areas in which may need more attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a better and much different experience. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in most downtown hotels and in general this one treats me the best. Room was quiet and comfy. Great view of town. I parked on Smallman St to save money over valet. Restaurant stays open late for those in from the road. After 10 p.m. it can be tough to get someone to check you in. But that's the worst it can be which is better than most.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank flaconserve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your rejuvenating comment. We appreciate your loyalty to the Westin and want to thank you for returning. We strive to go above and beyond our guests expectations and are glad that you take notice to our efforts. We look forward to greating you with a warm Westin welcome on your next visit. Thanks again.

Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is decently located, but it's appearance is very dated and dull. This is unfortunate as I am a huge fan of the Westin brand. It is quite clear that this hotel is in need of an update. The location is okay, but I would prefer to be a little farther southwest from here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We want you to know that we value your feedback and take your comments very seriously. We strive to go above and beyond guest expectations for each and every guest and we are very sorry we fell short. We are very excited to annouce that we will be receiving a number of enhancements throughout the hotel within the next year. We hope that you give us another chance in the future to restore our brand and loyalty to you. Thanks again. Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Westin for the Pittsburgh marathon along with our dog.
The hotel is very conveniently located next to the convention center. The front desk offered us a late check out which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varmit08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We hope you had a great time for the Marathon! We are very lucky to be situated right in the heart of all the Marathon activities are we are energized to hear our staff was able to accomodate a late check out for you! We hope to welcome you back next year.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. It has a great location, right in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh! The rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable! Higher floors have great city views! And the workout room and pool area has been recently upgraded and is very large!
If your in pittsburgh this is a great choice!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank _A_Traveling_Dude_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience at the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our heavenly beds, Westin Workout and views from your room! Your feedback is appreciated and we hope your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh in the near future and we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The selling point for this Westin is it's location. You would expect to be right at the convention center given the name, and you are. But it is the ability to walk to the strip district, the stadiums, the point or the trail along the Allegheny river that makes it worthwhile to stay here rather than out in the suburbs. Yes, you pay to park, but you would do the same if you drive in to go to the convention center.
I stayed on the 23rd floor and had a wonderful view down the river toward PNC Field. I could not hear any noise from traffic. The staff was very helpful and friendly. WiFi was free.
It was great to be able to park my car and not need it for my entire stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better when it comes to the view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go_pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your rejvenating comment! We do our very best to make sure each and every guest has a positive and personal experience and we are so happy to hear our hotel did not disappoint. We are thrilled to hear you had a pleasant experience with our staff and were able to take advantage of our prime location. We hope you come back and visit us soon! Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great location, professionally efficient check in - but missing the "wow!". Stay here for the location but don't come expecting the typical Westin/Starwood specialness. The decor is a little tired looking. The lobby is large and impersonal. I will say I had an extremely warm welcome from the woman cleaning the rooms on my floor - which was amazing and a great way to be greeted as I approached my door. Would I stay here again? Yes, because of the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our prime location in the city and your warm welcome from our housekeeping department. We would like to apologize that you did not receive the "wow" factor that you hoped for, as it is a mission of ours to do just that with each and every guest. We look forward to your return so we can prove to you what a true Westin stay should feel like. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
#37 of 71 in Pittsburgh
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £144 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown energy meets restorative sleep at our Pittsburgh hotel. Immerse yourself in the heart of the Pittsburgh with a rejuvenating stay at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh. Explore the downtown area with a stroll through the Strip District, dine in great restaurants, or take in a game in one of America's greatest sports cities. Directly connected to the Pittsburgh Convention Center, we are steps away from countless local attractions. Welcome to the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing