We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great Westin” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a great Westin”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed in the Westin using some reward points and was less then impressed. The place really, really needs a makeover. I am usually a huge Westin fan.

First, I was not able to get a King room like I requested, so we had to settle for a Double/Double. The front desk didn't really seem to care or do much to get me into the room I requested. I guess having status at SPG doesn't get you much...

The room. It just had a very unclean feeling. Strong smell of cleaning solution in room, very worn out furnishings. The bathroom was also less than great. Stains on floor, rust spots, rotted wood on door.

Even the restaurant, we got a drink at bar before going out...also, seriously needing a makeover. Very worn out and tired...

The overall location is fine, great base to get to a lot of places.

I stayed here because it was free so can only complain so much, if I had to have paid to stay there I would have really complained a lot. This is not what a Westin should be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for expressing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure each and every one of our guests’ feel welcome and at home when they walk through our doors. We are incredibly disappointed to learn we missed the mark during your stay with us. We value your feedback and would like to tell you that over the next year our hotel will be doing a number of enhancements and we hope that you give us another chance in the future to provide you with the service and satisfaction that you deserve as a guest of ours.

Be Well, Be Westin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    239
    115
    37
    22
See reviews for
156
145
21
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean and nice. No sitting area but OK. View is not beautiful but we can see both stadiums over the buildings. Staff very nice. We would recommend and stay here again. Fyi- 2 primanti bros in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobidowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
First, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We truly value feedback, both positive and constructive, as we try to continually improve along the way. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel rooms and staff and I'm sure many guests will appreciate your Primanti Brothers comment! We hope that you come and visit us again soon.

Be Well, Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in town for a concert at Heinz Field. The hotel was within walking distance (about a mile) with plenty of places to stop along the way to eat and drink.

The hotel was very clean from the lobby to our spacious room. Parking rates were reasonable for the underground parking garage.

We were only in town for a night, but would definitely return to the Westin for future trips to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. It is our mission for all of your guests to leave our hotel with a positive and lasting impression and we are happy to hear we did that for you. We look forward to your next arrival whether it be for another concert or just a nice weekend retreat! Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Westin is located right at the convention center, other than that it's just an okay place. We had to wait over 2 hours for our room to be ready and the staff assured us that they would call us when it was ready which they never did. We finally went back to the front desk (for the 4th time) and that's when they said it was ready. It gets better-then we had to wait for the bellman to retrieve our luggage. They brought part of them and then asked us what the others looked like. The ticket stubs we handed them didn't do any good as only some luggage tag stubs made it onto our luggage. Their signature restaurant "The Original Fish Market" turn us off as soon as we stepped inside. It reeked with overpowering stench of fish and not in a pleasant way but more like fish that have been out of the water for days. My wife loves fish and she couldn't stand the smell either. Their only other restaurant is not open for dinner, strictly breakfast and lunch. They only have a buffet when the hotel is at 75% occupancy or higher. The menu is okay as is the food. We ate there twice and then we ate everywhere BUT the hotel after that. Our room was nice, clean and well maintained. The television guide in their booklet does not match what the real channels are, so happy channel surfing. Our limo driver told us that Pittsburgh is NOT a taxi friendly city and he was so right. If there is a cab waiting at the hotel you are in luck otherwise they have to call one, as they did for us twice, and both times we had to wait over 20 minutes. We tried to flag cabs down in the street and most of them just drove right on by. Better have a taxi cab app on your phone. A couple of times we called for a cab ourselves and they never showed up. Pitiful. Long story short on a return to Pittsburgh we will NOT be staying here. There are too many other hotels to choose from so we won't put up with this place again.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators and the ice machine rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered at our hotel over this particular weekend - this is certainly not the normal guest experience. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. We will certainly address our front office team as there is no excuse for the experience you encountered. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we are truly sorry that we did not carry out this promise. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We reserved a block of rooms for my parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel staff went above and beyond in congratulating my parents on this huge milestone. Great rooms, great location, great views, and great staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We love to hear that our staff and property provided a great stay for our wonderful guests, especially for such an extraordinary celebration! We hope that you and your parents come back to see us again soon! Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I visited for a few days not too long ago and stayed at the Westin. The beds were amazing as usual and so was the view of the city and river, as well as PNC Park and Heinz Field. However, the hotel is older and lacking in some repairs in many areas. It was also very loud at night as we woke up two separate nights due to noise in the halls and adjacent rooms. The staff was very nice and willing to help and it is within a close distance from just about every other attraction in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly value your comments and look upon feedback as a gift to help us continually enhance our guests' experience. We are thrilled to hear you loved our Heavenly beds and views of the city! We would like to tell you that we have been listening to our guests and we will be enhancing a good part of our hotel in the next year. We hope that you come back in the future to see how your feedback has helped enrich our hotel. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

First of all,the hotel is old and room feels dirty. Secondly, I came back from a Pirates game with my 20 month old son at 10:30pm , and found the card didn't work, so I went downstairs and tried to get a replacement. My husband was on his way back with his friend. After I presented my passport and my husband's passport, the front desk still refused to help and rudely told me I don't have the same last name as him, the room is under his name. Seriously?! I am very disappointed at the customer service.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartmice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly value your comments and look upon feedback as a gift to help us continually enhance our guests' experience. We sincerely apologize that your experience with the front desk was less than ideal. For security purposes we cannot give out keys to anyone who is no registered to the room. Again, we are so very sorry for the inconvenience and for the way it was handled but please know we only do this as a safety precaution. Rest assure your comments will be passed along to our management team so that we can address our front office team appropriately so this does not happen again. We hope that you give us another chance in the future to see how your feedback has helped us prosper. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Property: The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Address: 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh immerses you in the heart of the city, making travel convenient for both business and leisure guests. We are directly connected to the Pittsburgh Convention Center, and countless attractions are within walking distance from our location. Whether you enjoy sports, culture or looking to unwind and dine at many restaurants in our city, our Pittsburgh hotel puts you in the middle of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing