We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this through Priceline for Anniversary/Getaway. After booking, I called the hotel and asked if they could do anything special! Check-in was wonderful. Girl at front desk was super! Our room was ready early and boy were we pleased! 24th floor with great view of ballparks. Room was clean and comfy. Attended a ball game that evening. When we got back to room there was bottle of champagne and cake!!
Will stay here again. Thank you Westin for a great night!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are overjoyed in hearing your delightful comments about our hotel and staff! It truly means a lot and we thank you for that. Our staff strives to go above and beyond for all of your guests especially for such a special celebration! Our entire staff would like to thank you and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    249
    119
    44
    23
See reviews for
159
150
21
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I'm beginning to get hooked on Westins. For most of us, the first night in a hotel is difficult - you don't sleep as well in a new bed. This place is different - you lie down and you're out. Top quality beds and linens - anyone will be comfortable. The lighting is good for those of us who have to work, the quality of all the amenities is top notch and the rooms don't feel cramped. Stayed this time with a work colleague and it went well. Always appreciate a fridge. One caveat - the safe is TINY. Bring a cable lock if you have anything bigger than an iPad. Nothing much else will fit. That's a drawback, but I had my lock. The location is perfect - near everything. But here's the best part - the downstairs restaurants is top notch. More on that later. And you can walk indoors to the convention center and be a few steps from anything you want to do. Short walk to see the Pirates play. What more could you want?

Room Tip: If you care, you can ask for a riverview room. We didn't have one, but didn't mind that much...
See more room tips
Green Features: They really will incent you to avoid daily cleaning and the waste that incurs. They give you dining and other credits. The place feels clean even when you don't ask for that.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you to your loyalty to Starwood and The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel including the heavenly bed, SkyWalk to Convention Center and prime downtown location! We certainly do not think it is a bad thing that you are becoming "hooked" to Westins! We have so many great properties worldwide and hope that you get the opportunity to see some of them! We look forward to providing you with another restful and rejuvenating stay in the near future. Thanks again!

Be Well, Be Westin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

What a great hotel, neaby the convention centre in town. Styed on a couple of occasions for business convention. Well located downtown for shopping. Meals excellent. Beds comfortable. You can appreciate Pittsburgh from here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are energized to hear about your recent experience here at the Westin and value your loyalty. We are always happy to hear when our guests take advantage of our prime location to all the downtown attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Be Well, Be Westin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I travel to Pittsburgh frequently for business, and have stayed at this Westin several times now. Isn't the flashiest Westin you'll ever stay in, but the rooms are comfortable and it's competitively priced. I've read the complaints about the elevators here ... they can be a bit slow in the morning, but I've never had a real problem with them. I tend to avoid the restaurant here, as there are much better options within a short walk down Penn Ave or, better still, a short cab ride.

Room Tip: Big fan of the rooms that face the ballparks and convention center. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and the Westin Convention Center. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and constructive as it allows us to improve on areas that may need attention. We hope that you continue to choose the Westin while you are in Pittsburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!

Be Well, Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Betty and I flew up to Pittsburg,Pennsylvania to attend the National Tree Farm Conference being held at The Westin from July 15 to July 20,2014. The hotel didn't provide transportation from and to the airport;however, city bus transportation was available from the airport every 30 minutes at a nominal cost.
We were met at the front of the hotel and taken to the check in desk. This was quick and easy since they had most of the needed information.
The room was large with a large ,spacious bed. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillars and cover. Room service was great with clean linen provided daily . The bed was made up each day making you feel as if you were sleeping in a new bed each day.The shower was relaxing with plenty of hot water. The convention center was spacious with great service,rooms,and elevators for easy access to each floor.It was a great location to explore the city which I found friendly and clean.

Room Tip: Get a room near the elevator-less walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh. We are overjoyed to hear your kind comments about our hotel features, such as our heavenly beds, and our room service staff. It is our mission for our guests to leave the hotel with a positive and lasting impression and we hope we achieved that. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Be Well, Be Westin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on vacation. Good downtown location, great for the strip district. Booked through Hotwire so massively discounted. Room was clean, maybe overall the hotel could do with a little facelift. But more than ok for a few nights stay..

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ASH7466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to go above our guests expectations and we hope we did not disappoint. We are very excited to tell you that we have been listening to our guests and we will be enhancing a large portion of our hotel over the next year. We hope that you have the opportunity to come back and check it out!

Be Well, Be Westin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel through hotwire, so I was not sure until after payment that I was actually booking the Westin (I was told that I was booking a recommended four-star hotel in downtown Pittsburgh). Because I was not booking directly through the hotel hotwire did let me know that they could not guarantee that I would be getting two queen beds or one king bed or anything like that, but that it would accommodate in some form the three people that I stated would be in my hotel room. Upon getting there the friendly girl at the front desk told me they had given me one king size bed, would I prefer two queen beds instead, and I said yes please, and she said sure no problem. We were on the 19th floor which was a great view, especially for my six-year-old. Awesome room, great bed with great pillows and linens, nice bathrobe, just an overall really nice room. The best part was the service outside from the gentleman running the front door. He got us a Westin shuttle to Station Square for dinner (free, but you should tip.... From a lovely man by the name of Tim). It was pouring on this particular night and he even let us borrow one of the umbrellas.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh! We are overjoyed in hearing your delightful comments about our hotel and giving special recognition to Tim, our van driver! Our staff strives to go above and beyond for all of your guests and we are thrilled to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your time here. Our entire staff would like to thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
#36 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Property: The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Address: 1000 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh immerses you in the heart of the city, making travel convenient for both business and leisure guests. We are directly connected to the Pittsburgh Convention Center, and countless attractions are within walking distance from our location. Whether you enjoy sports, culture or looking to unwind and dine at many restaurants in our city, our Pittsburgh hotel puts you in the middle of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing