We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a symposium location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel staff has the great skill of personalizing service for large groups. It's an Ideal location for scenic views, great food, and easy access to sporting events. The Garden Writers Association and the Westin were the perfect team for the 2014 Symposium.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views. Ask for the river/stadium side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Westin Pittsburgh for your convention! We were pleased to host the Garden Writers and look forward to your return. The hotel and staff are so happy that you were so pleased with the location and food choices and we will be sure to share and celebrate with our teams. The Westin Pittsburgh is so glad to have been able to personalize your stay with us. Again, we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We've stayed at this hotel many times and the experiences have been quite good - what you would expect from the Westin brand. Things are predictable - that's good news in terms of the bed, linens, and general configuration of the bathroom. Also, the food choices in their 2nd floor restaurant are much better than average. The hotel is in an excellent location - it's easy to walk to many downtown sightseeing spots. In our most recent stay, the hotel definitely was crowded with convention/baseball traffic - and all was running smoothly. Our room was serviced promptly and the valet parking worked fine. My main complaint would be the air-conditioning in the warm months - lobby way too cold and the rooms are set at a freezing temperature before you get there. Hard to understand how any hotel is "going green" while wasting so much energy. Minor complaint - don't know why they moved to a rain shower head instead of the old two shower head system (not everyone wants to get their hair wet every day).

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxandread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

First, thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and the Westin Convention Center. We truly value feedback, both positive and constructive, as we try to continually improve along the way. It is a goal of ours for all of our guests to leave our hotel with a positive and lasting impression and we hope we did just that! We will certainly make sure our management team is aware of your concerns so that they can be properly addressed. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back for a restful and refreshing stay.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Westin Pittsburgh is a great hotel. I come to Pittsburgh 2-3 times a month on business and have stayed at a number of hotels across the city. Since discovering the Westin it has become my home away from home in large part to the staff. The Westin staff are phenomenal especially Rachel D. and Amy H. These two women and team members have given me the finest customer service time after time. I would highly recommend the Westin for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leopop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh! We are so happy that our staff went above and beyond to suit your needs! Rachel and Amy truly do go the extra mile to suit our guests needs and we are so happy to hear the praise for them. We cannot wait until your return visit with us. Be Well, Be Westin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. Every employee I cam in contact with was very helpful and pleasant. We were upgraded to a corner suite upon check-in which was greatly appreciated. The room was very clean and kept well stocked every day. Nothing has to be said about the great westin beds. They are very comfortable. I did not eat in the restaurant but I could see it was very popular. I hope a can return to this westin soon.

Room Tip: The higher up the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share a review. As we strive to achieve excellence in our hotel, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests. We are energized to hear how much you enjoyed our heavenly beds and were pleasantly surprised with your upgraded room! Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you soon for a refreshing stay.

Be Well, Be Westin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just completed a two night stay here with our children and grandchildren. The accommodations were excellent. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The higher rooms also have excellent views. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We were within easy walking distance to PNC park where we saw a game. The visiting baseball team also stayed here. We were within walking distance to the museums and cultural attractions. The kids enjoyed the pool and the exercise facility is excellent, far above average hotels. The place is an excellent location for your Pittsburgh adventures.

Room Tip: Although a $20 charge for parking it is very convenient right below hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience at the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our Heavenly beds, Westin Workout and views from your room! Your feedback is appreciated and we hope your travels bring you and your family back to Pittsburgh in the near future and we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Concierge Bob went above and beyond expected service recently. I needed something from a pharmacy. All stores in the area were closed. Bob very graciously found and purchased the item despite the inconvenient time.
I so appreciate his concern and kind approach to solving my dilemma. Very impressive!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh! We are overjoyed in hearing your delightful comments about our hotel and giving special recognition to our Concierge, Bob! Our staff strives to go above and beyond for all of your guests and we are thrilled to hear you took notice of our efforts. Our entire staff would like to thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Booked this through Priceline for Anniversary/Getaway. After booking, I called the hotel and asked if they could do anything special! Check-in was wonderful. Girl at front desk was super! Our room was ready early and boy were we pleased! 24th floor with great view of ballparks. Room was clean and comfy. Attended a ball game that evening. When we got back to room there was bottle of champagne and cake!!
Will stay here again. Thank you Westin for a great night!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We are overjoyed in hearing your delightful comments about our hotel and staff! It truly means a lot and we thank you for that. Our staff strives to go above and beyond for all of your guests especially for such a special celebration! Our entire staff would like to thank you and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 74 in Pittsburgh
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 74 in Pittsburgh
4,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
#37 of 74 in Pittsburgh
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £132 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown energy meets restorative sleep at our Pittsburgh hotel. Immerse yourself in the heart of the Pittsburgh with a rejuvenating stay at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh. Explore the downtown area with a stroll through the Strip District, dine in great restaurants, or take in a game in one of America's greatest sports cities. Directly connected to the Pittsburgh Convention Center, we are steps away from countless local attractions. Welcome to the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing