We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I knew”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what I knew”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I used La Quinta when I was in California and it was a very nice stay. This one in Pittsburgh is a disaster. Not only had they given my reservation away the room had no water pressure. There were no safety measures. Doors unlocked all night. The front door area was not kept up nor was the building for that matter. Since it was late, I stayed there once a room was made up and checked out the following day. Marriott was much nicer. Staying with Marriott in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grndhog2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your inconvenience during your stay with us. Anytime a guest is disappointed it makes our entire staff reflect on what went wrong and try and improve so that the next guest doesn't have the same experience.

We deeply apologize about the water pressure in your room. We did have issues with the water pressue that morning and our plumbing company was called in immediately to correct the issue.

Again, we deeply apologize you had to experience this during your stay with us. Please contact us directly and we promise to improve your next stay with us and change your opinion.

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    149
    110
    86
    82
See reviews for
214
95
61
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good Value, clean, staff friendly, and accommodating. Place is hard to find entrance off McKnight Road (no signage). You have to pull into Staples or McDonald's to get there. AC unit was loud and annoying (kicking on and off all night long). They allow pets and there is plenty of room to walk them outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank R1572VEjohna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for giving us a positive review. The entire staff and management are grateful your stay was a "good value". Thank you for recognizing our entire staff. I am sure our staff will be grateful to hear about your recognition to our staff. I am very glad our staff went out of their way to help you as much as possible. We are located up on the hill, and usually tell our guests to turn at the light at the Staples Supply Store and the entrance is located behind staples. However, we are glad you found us.

We did want to apologize about the AC unit kicking on and off all night. We will have the maintenance staff take a look at the unit you stayed in and we know that could be frustrating. We do love to see pets stay at our hotel, but hate see them go. We would love to see you again and stay with us soon! Have a great wonderful day!

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manger
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Check in was a breeze. Management was training a new employee and both desk clerks were fast and friendly after a very long day. This property gets an A+ for trying to improve a very old building. The room was large and very clean, as was the lobby, the hallways, and the breakfast area. The only thing I can really complain about is the one elevator is scary. At the fourth floor going up, it constantly misjudged the floor - often moving up and down a few times before the doors opened.

I have previously lived in the area for years and would highly recommend this hotel over the other properties on the McKnight Road corridor. It is MUCH easier to get in and out of - especially during rush hour. It is high atop a hill in a VERY quiet area away from the main highway. Turn left at BP or at Staples and go through the shopping center - it's not as hard to find as some say it is. You have very easy access to Ross Park Mall, nice restaurants that has something for everyone, and are in a "good" area of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are glad to hear about your "excellent" stay with us! Glad to hear our staff went out of their way and made sure your stay with us was the best. Also, we are very glad to hear our changes to the hotel are being noticed, from hallways, to the lobby, to the guests rooms, and our new 'hot' continental breakfast.

You mentioned the elevator was constantly misjudging the 4th floor and going up and down a few times before the doors opened. We will immediately have our elevator service company take a look and make sure this is not duplicating again and make sure this is not occurring. This can be scary and unsafe for guests and we do apologize you had to experience this.

Again, thank you for your great review and mentioning about all the different shopping areas, and restaurants for our future guests' to read. We would love to see you again and stay with us soon! Have a great wonderful day!

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room key batteries did not operate, need to get another room. No luggage carts available. Water control in shower turned 360 degrees. Telephone was dead and had to be replaced. Would not return to this location, it has not improved since becoming a La Quinta. Staff not well trained in handling customer problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your inconvenience during your stay with us. Anytime a guest is disappointed it makes our entire staff reflect on what went wrong and try and improve so that you or the next guest doesn't have the same experience.

We deeply apologize about the issues you encountered during your stay from the room key batteries not operating to having the phone not working in your room. We will address these issues throughout the hotel and make sure everything is in working order before checking in a guest into a room. This can be frustrating and we completely understand.

Again, we deeply apologize about the inconvenience during your stay. If you have an occasion to visit this area again, please reach out to us directly and we promise to improve your next stay with us.

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the nicest La Quinta I've stayed in. Everything was spotless. The beds and pillows were extremely plush and comfortable. The staff were helpful and courteous. The breakfast area was beautiful and had a good variety of breakfast items. On top of that, I was able to bring my dog for free and there was a nice walking area on the side of the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for such a positive review. I am sure our staff will be grateful to hear about your review. I am very happy to hear that all areas of the hotel was "spotless" during your stay with us. I will ensure our staff is aware of your review and their hard work. Also, all our beds have been replaced with new pillow top mattresses and new pillows, which ensures us out guests get the best nights' sleep possible to enjoy their next day. Our staff loves to see pets stay at our hotel, but hate to see them go. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to have you and your pet stay with us again soon! Have a wonderful day!

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Spent 4 nights there. Room was not clean. Returned 2 nights after 8 PM and had to request the room be cleaned. Never left towels. Had to request each night. We had been told we would have a refrigerator and microwave when we made the reservation. Each morning we were promised they would be there when we returned. They never brought them. Breakfast was the most tasteless I have ever had in a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your inconvenience during your stay with us. Anytime a guest is disappointed it makes our entire staff reflect on what went wrong and try and improve so that you or the next guest doesn't have the same experience.

I would like to take the time to apologize about your room not being refreshed for two nights in a row by our housekeeping staff. I understand this is frustrating and there is no excuse for your room not being fully refreshed, two times in a row. Especially returning back to your room in the evening from an enjoyable day. This will be addressed to our housekeeping staff and determine why your room was missed twice in a row. Also, we want to apologize about the microwave and fridge not being in your room. Especially, upon your request, you were never brought one from our staff. This should have been taken care of from our staff immediately. I will address this to our entire staff and make sure our guests requests are full filled immediately upon their request.

Again, we apologize with your experience with us and we fully understand your frustration during your stay with us. I will address these issues with our management and staff and make sure these issues are fully corrected and not repeated. If you have an occasion to visit this area again, please reach out to us and we promise to improve your next stay with us and make sure you recieve a microwave and fridge, and also recieve your housekeeping service as promised.

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A short list of the issues my fellow workers and I had to deal with while staying here:

* Stained (red!) pillows and towels.
* Dirty bathrooms and tubs.
* Breakfast was inedible, even the bacon and sausage. Nothing had flavor including the OJ.
* No refrigerators and/or microwaves in rooms as stated.
* They ran out of coffee for the rooms, they instead offered us chips (?). This was for multiple days.
* No water, not just hot water, no water pressure at all in the morning.
* Requested items where promised and never delivered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Althepal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor for your most recent stay with us at La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. I understand there were a list of issues during your stay, which is very disappointing to the staff and management.

I want to take this time to deeply apologize about your stay with us and the list of issues you encountered during your stay. This is very upsetting to hear and you should have not experienced this kind of stay at any location, especially our location at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. After further review, we will address all issues you encountered with our entire staff. Stained pillows is absolutely unacceptable and having a dirty bathroom is also unacceptable. I understand your frustration and no guest should receive a hotel room that was not properly cleaned. This will be addressed to our housekeeping staff and will be monitored very closely day by day to ensure this does not occur again. We also want to apologize about not having coffee for the rooms available at the time of your request. For some reason, there must have been an error on our inventory which resulted in no coffee available for the guest rooms. We will research this issue as to what happened and determine how to avoid this situation again in the future. Also, we want to apologize about the water issue in the morning. We were notified about the situation and the situation was repaired that same morning.

Again, we deeply apologize about your experience with us and we fully understand your frustration you had during your stay. We will address these issues with our management and staff and make sure these issues are fully corrected and not repeated. If you have an occasion to visit this area again, please reach out to us and we promise to improve your next stay with us.

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
Comfort Inn
#36 of 68 in Pittsburgh
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#56 of 68 in Pittsburgh
19 reviews
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Wexford
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Address: 4859 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3405 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaQuinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North is a home away from home for all travelers. Located in Ross Township, it is very close to all sporting venues and Ross Park Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - North Hills Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn North Hills
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing