We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Ranked #61 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Clean and comfortable hotel, with an extremely polite and friendly staff. Staff was willing to take care of minor inconveniences (no clock in the room). Comfortable room for much less than nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your most resent stay with us. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. Our guests are our number priority and to make sure your stay is as pleasant as it gets. We are glad to hear your stay with us was “clean and comfortable” except for one thing, no alarm clock in the room. We apologize about this. Our housekeeping staff must have missed this during the cleaning process of the room. I will make sure our supervisor is aware your room did not have an alarm clock. We hope to see you again and stay with us again. Have a wonderful day!

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

This newly remodeled hotel offered a lot of bang for the buck. We enjoyed our visit, making full use of the pool, and enjoyed a nice drink at the bar, at the end of the day. The room was great, and the staff exceptionally pleasant. Just a heads up: you have to drive through a strip mall parking lot to get to the driveway, as the hotel is up a hill. Nice view!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your most resent stay with us. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. Our guests are our number priority and to make sure your stay is as pleasant as it gets. We are happy to hear your stay with us was as pleasant as can be. It isn’t easy to get to us, but happy you made it. We usually tell our guests to turn at the light where the Staples Supply Store is from McKnight Road and we are located behind Staples on the hill.
We would love to have you stay with us again! Make sure to come back to stay with us before the pool closes on the Labor Day weekend! Have a wonderful day and see you soon!

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank TrixiesMom1968
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My family, arriving in 2 cars, that included twin baby boys, pulled up to the hotel late at night after driving for hours. Once we realized the arrangements we had had for an overnight stay fell through, we continued to drive around the streets of Pittsburgh, desperate to stop driving, have a place to sleep, take care of the babies and GET SOME WINE. We were exhausted and stressed out totally. When we saw this hotel on the hill, we finally figured out how to get to it (the signs do need to be more noticeable) and got our rooms and learned that we pulled in just as the bar was just about to close. Once she heard our story, Daelyn, the bartender that night, said, no problem, I'll keep the bar open for you and get you whatever you need. C'mon, really?? How often does that happen??? She was wonderful, kind, patient and made sure we had everything we needed before she left which was maybe 45 minutes or more later! The next day the front desk staff, including Sherry and Kelly were so sweet, helpful, kind. Talking to Kelly was like talking to an old friend. I honestly can't recommend this place enough based on its staff. I should also add that the shower was awesome! The hotel was clean, comfortable and welcoming.... and Daelyn deserves a LOT of credit for saving our sanity that night! I let their general manager know and I have been assured that they all WILL get all the credit they deserve.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you very much for giving us such a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your twin baby boys! I wanted to take this time and thank you for recognizing our employee Daelyn. She is a great employee and makes sure our guests are well taken care of, even staying later then her scheduled hours to make sure you had some wine after such a long day of driving. I am sure our staff will be grateful to hear about your recognition to our staff. I am very happy to hear our staff went out of their way to help you as much as possible. Also, our front desk staff were delighted to hear about their recognition from you. Both Kelly and Sherry are our newest members of our team and they are doing a wonderful job.

We are located up on the hill, and usually tell our guests to turn at the light at the Staples Supply Store and the entrance is located behind staples. However, we are glad you found us. If you are ever in the area again, stop by and say hello to our staff and we would love to have you stay with us again soon! Have a wonderful day!

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was planning just a one-night stay in this area and picked this La Quinta. First, figuring out how to get there is a challenge! It's perched high on a hill above other businesses. Plan to arrive during daylight if you can!
Check in was fast and friendly. The room was very nice. Very comfy bed. Free WiFi. (But isn't that becoming the norm?) I got a phone call shortly after I arrived to be sure everything was OK.
The restaurants is closed but there are many food joints in the area. You can't walk to them, however.
The A/C was noisy and had only one speed...high.
The bathroom had issues. The toilet handle had to be held for it to flush. The towels were like sandpaper and the tub, plastic, was not non-slip and there was no tub mat.
This hotel had it's plusses but also too many minuses.
I did not partake of the free breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayvee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our Hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your inconvenience during your stay with us. Anytime a guest is disappointed it makes our entire staff reflect on what went wrong and try and improve so that the next guest doesn't have the same experience.

I wanted to take this time and apologize about your A/C being noisy and only having one speed of high. I understand this can be frustrating when trying to sleep. We will have our maintenance department take a look at this and resolve this issue. We will also have that toilet handle looked at as the chain might have become loose causing you to hold it down for a long period of time to completely flush.

Also, I wanted to apologize about our bathtubs not having non-slip mats. We are currently installing non-slip mats in all our bathtubs as of June 5, 2014. Once this project is complete within a week, all bathtubs in our rooms and suites will have a non-slip mat installed for our guests safety.

Again, we deeply apologize about your stay with us. If you are ever in the are again, please reach out to us directly and we promise to imporove your next stay with us.

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Place is hard to find. Staff was very friendly and the lobby is nice. I'm an elite member and got a single, small bag of chips as my greeting gift ... kind of disappointing. Clean, but showing its age. Door handle worked backwards. The desk gave us a room with 2 beds (our reservation was for a king bed). The desk chair was broken, the desk lamp outlet didn't work, I ended up crawling under the desk to find an outlet. There are not enough electrical outlets for charging devices. Shower head was so high that my wife couldn't reach it.

Room Tip: ADA warning: there are NO 1st floor rooms ... not good for a person in a wheel chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleScooge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us.

After reading your review, I understand you were disappointed with a few things you had encountered during your stay, especially being an Elite Member of the La Quinta Inn franchise. First of all, I would like to apologize about not receiving a room with a king bed. We will research as to why you were given a room with two queen beds. Our front desk staff should have confirmed your room type at check in to make sure our guests are getting the correct room type as requested and make any changes for the guest depending on availability. Also, the greeting gift bags we give out to our elite members do contain a bag of chips and a cold bottled water. We will see if we can make any changes on the contents of the greeting bags for our elite members and see if we can provide you with more options. Also, we want to let you know we now offer complimentary buttered popcorn in our bar area for all of our guests to enjoy as well.

Another issue you had was with the desk chair being broken and the desk lamp outlet not working. I understand your frustration when you have to crawl around in your room trying to find an outlet. Also, when we all need electrical outlets since the technology these days all need power. We will bring this to attention to our maintenance staff and make sure all furniture is in working order and lamp outlets are working for our guests to plug in their chargers to charge their electronic devices. And you are right, we do not have rooms on the lower first floor level, since the first floor is accommodated by our banquet facilities, lobby area, and breakfast area. All our rooms are on floors 2 through 7. However, we do have handicap accessible rooms with roll in showers for our guests and elevators for easy access without having to use the stairs.

We deeply apologize your stay did not feel like a La Quinta hotel. We would like to address these issues and correct them as soon as possible. If you are ever in the are again, please reach out to us directly and we promise to improve your next stay with us.

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Mananger
- Scott Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The front desk staff, Sherry and Kelly, were very nice and helpful. They were knowledgeable and able to help me learn about the area, the amenities of the hotel, and the rewards program. They helped make my stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank ronaldy236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for giving us such a positive review. We wanted to thank you for recognizing our front desk staff, both Sherry and Kelly. We are very excited they were able to make your stay even more 'Enjoyable'! They will be grateful to hear your recognition as they are our most recent new employees. We would love to see you again soon and stay with us! I am sure Sherry and Kelly would love to see you back! Enjoy your day!

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Comfort Inn
#40 of 72 in Pittsburgh
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight

Address: 4859 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3405 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £60 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaQuinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North is a home away from home for all travelers. Located in Ross Township, it is very close to all sporting venues and Ross Park Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - North Hills Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn North Hills
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing