We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In times of need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York, United States
1 review
“In times of need”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We needed a hotel close the to the UMPC medical complex and the location of the Inn as well as the shuttle service make our week long stay an excellent one. The complimentary breakfast was great and there were many local restaurants that delivered for late food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you George A, for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our location, as you noticed, is ideal for anyone visiting hospitals in the city. I am glad you were able to utilize our shuttle service for the length of your stay and that it was convenient for you. We hope your travels lead you back to Pittsburgh and that you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    260
    101
    29
    22
See reviews for
396
130
63
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

For anyone looking for a clean, friendly place to stay near the U. of Pittsburgh, look no further. Great staff, great complimentary breakfast, and fast free wifi. We stayed there to take a campus tour of the university and found it extremely convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you Trevor T, for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad you noticed our clean rooms and our great location to the nearby universities. We hope you return to the Pittsburgh area and if your travels lead you back, we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamison, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I travel to Pittsburgh frequently and this place is simply the best. The folks at check in are simply the best and I always feel at home. It is a perfect location and is the only place I stay in the area. The staff at this hotel totally rock.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you Chris U, for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind words in calling our hotel “simply the best”. Our goal is to make our guests feel at home and I’m happy we were able to achieve this. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very convenient location. Breakfast was relaxing and very good with lots of choices. The hotel shuttle leaves on the hour. Very beneficial because Pittsburgh is not an easy city to drive in. Only one drawback.The beds are very "squishy". If you prefer a firm mattress you will not be comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you David G, for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our location makes us ideal for visiting all of the colleges and universities in Pittsburgh. I am sorry to hear our beds were not to your comfort standards. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Staff was courteous and helpful; room and bathroom were clean, good hot breakfast and 24 hour coffee/tea service very well kept, shuttle service available every hour; overall it was a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Le Thai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you Le Thai L, for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our staff as courteous and helpful. I am glad you found your visit an "overall pleasurable experience". Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband, 10 month old son and I stayed here last week before an appointment the following morning. The check-in/check-out was smooth and easy. The front desk member was kind enough to call the maintenance man on duty for a jump start (coldest day of the year) upon check-out. The room was standard and comfortable. I was disappointed when I called ahead about a crib and instead found a dirty, old pack-n-play in the room. Had I known it wasn't going to be a mobile crib, I would've brought our own pack-n-play with a sheet to fit. Needless to say, the baby slept in bed with us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmid3354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
I appreciate your review about your Nice Stay and respect that spent the time to share it with others. Glad to see that our engineering team was able to get your car started as we were experiencing record all time lows during your stay. We are reviewing over the pack and play inventory as we speak and making sure they are in good working clean condition and as father I totally under your concerns I apologize that you were told we have cribs as we only offer pack and plays upon request and will review this with my staff. I am glad you had a nice stay and would personally like for you to contact me on your next stay in the area as We Love Having You Here!!!
Best Regards,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsonville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel was a great palace to stay in Pittsburgh. I was there on business to attend a class for college and they were very accommodating. I was there with twelve other people and they would let us work on our school projects at night int he sitting area of the lobby. i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Oakland area of Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Chan thank you for the wonderful Trip Advisor review about you and your classmates experience while attending classes in the area. We strive the be the hotel of choice in Pittsburgh offering free Wi Fi to all out guests and complimentary shuttle service to and from a 3 mile radius of the hotel. I am glad to hear that you were able to use our lobby with 12 of your classmates to further your education after class. Glad that you enjoyed your time here at the Hampton Inn University Center and hope on your future visits to Pittsburgh you will keep us on top of your list.

Best Regards,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3315 Hamlet Pl, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the collegiate and hospital districts, home to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Duquesne University and all the UPMC Hospitals. Enjoy free shuttle service within a three-mile radius of the hotel, contemporary guest rooms with free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and fitness center access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing