We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay, I'll be Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lansdale, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay, I'll be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The staff are fantastic here, going the extra mile to help us out. This time we asked for a roll-away bed for our room. After we checked in, the front desk associate immediately retrieved and delivered the rollaway to our room personally. The hotel is close to the University of Pittsburgh so we have the option to take the complimentary shuttle to the campus (< 5 minutes) or enjoy a short walk there. This was our third stay at the same hotel and we'll be back for a fourth and more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Margaret M, thank you for the delightful words in regards to our hotel. I am pleased to read that the staff made your stay a fantastic one! I am glad to read you were able to utilize our great location which is easily accessible to downtown, Southside, and the nearby universities. We will see you soon for your fourth visit with us.

Best Regards,
Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    252
    98
    29
    20
See reviews for
369
126
59
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whiting
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

A family member was having surgery at one of Pittsburgh's finest hospitals and this was our home for two weeks. Everyone at the hotel treated us like family. The shuttle was wonderful for getting around and the driver was always helpful and friendly. Front desk employees were impeccable. Kitchen staff were some of the nicest people we have ever met. The hot breakfast every morning was never a disappointment, delicious omelets, tasty breakfast meats, fresh fruit salad, cereals, bagels etc etc. When we come back to this area we will always stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Charles W, Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all feedback on our hotel and I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for say “very highly recommend.” I am glad to read all complimentary aspects of our hotel such as; breakfast, shuttle service and of course, our service was satisfactory for you. We cannot wait for you to stay with us again and for another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.
Best Regards
Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived late at night to a warm and friendly staff. Shanna McClean checked us in efficiently and with a smile. Her colleague, a man who's name I do not recall, upon hearing us ask about nearby food, offered pizza (a new box) intended for the staff but he insisted was "extra" . We were so hungry while at first we declined, he brought some out and we soon devoured it. Talk about above and beyond staff! We were there to visit a pt in the hospital. The Hampton took care of us and everything. We highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4happytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear 4happytravels, I want to thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am delighted to read that our staff was able to make your stay a memorable one and that we went "above and beyond" for you. I will pass along your praise of the staff to them directly and we hope to see you soon at the Hampton Inn.

Best Regards,
Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a very pleasant experience beginning to end. The bed was super comfy. The room was quiet and clean. The complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel. Couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you Melissa A for your kind review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you for saying that our complimentary free breakfast buffet is "the best I've ever had in a hotel."I am glad to read you were able to get a good night sleep in our "super comfy" beds. We cannot wait for you to return to our hotel here in Pittsburgh.

Best Regards,
Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The free breakfast was lacking...Parking at $14/day is overpriced and limited. The area to eat breakfast is way too small...Room was ok...The ironing board was broken . We were awoken, numerous time by a dog in the room across from ours...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbud324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jbud,

Thank you for your recent stay and review on Trip Advisor as we ppreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the dog barking near your room and that the ironing board was broken as that would definitely hurt your experience. I would like the opportunity to discuss your stay further please contact me at your earliest convenience I feel confident that I can assist you in positive manner.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Hampton Inn University Center/Pittsburgh
412.681.1000 phone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful Hotel in Pittsburgh !!! Great Staff !!! Especially our Shuttle Drivers Rick & Tracey !!! They provided an excellent means of getting all around town for FREE !!! Never had to move our car once we got there - Great Stay !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWJR1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear BobWJR1964, Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. I am excited to read you enjoyed our hotel so much especially the staff we have here with your emphasis on Rick and Tracey. Our shuttle drivers are truly wonderful and will make your guest experience exceptional. We look forward to your next visit and Thank You again.

Best Regards,
Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURLINGTON, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

as soon as I walked into the room, I wanted to turn around and go to another hotel but it was late and I had to arise early. Room smelled old and the A/C smelled as well. I've stayed at many Hampton Inns and have always found the accommodations to be above what I expected...this was my worse experience. The stay was palatable because I used my points and didn't have to pay cash...still it was a waste of my points I'm sorry to say.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jim C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with and I apologize for the uncomfortable smell during your stay. We understand that you have other choices around so we expect your stay to be perfect so I have refunded your points back to your account and hope that when you are in the area again you will give us another chance. Once again thank you for being a Hilton Honors member and loyal Hampton customer.

Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Hampton Inn University Center/Pittsburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3315 Hamlet Pl, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the collegiate and hospital districts, home to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Duquesne University and all the UPMC Hospitals. Enjoy free shuttle service within a three-mile radius of the hotel, contemporary guest rooms with free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and fitness center access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing