We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!”

The Nationality Rooms
Ranked #15 of 161 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We never would have heard about this or thought about visiting except for TA reviews.
We visited the classrooms on the third floor and they were quite a surprise.Each country had the classroom in the style of their own country. We saw rooms from Israel, Japan, Greece, the Ukraine, Sweden etc. Visits to the third floor classrooms are free. We did not have time to explore further as they closed at 4 on a Saturday.

This is a low key tourist activity but if you are in the area, it's worth the time- it's very interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 155032Daniel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    102
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Completely lost trying to find it.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First of all, because it's located within a university building, just trying to find it was a challenge. When I finally found the desk for the Nationality room (3pm on a Wednesday) they said all of 2 rooms were closed and gave me directions to the open rooms on a different floor. Multiple elevators but the one I chose did not take me to the correct floor, got lost, and finally gave up. If you go, go early, take the scheduled guided tour. Signage could have made it so much less stressful. Sad I couldn't go, it got such great reviews.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't miss during the Holidays”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

While the rooms can be interesting at other times of the year, the best time to go by far is when they decorate the rooms for the Holidays. They put a lot of attention into the details of how each culture celebrates and you get a great sense of how Christmas is celebrated around the world. My five star rating is based on the rooms during this time of year, otherwise they are 3.5 to 4.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
227 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This Is A Must”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everyone who lives in Pgh or is visiting must see these room at Christmas. They are amazing! The trees are all decorated in the native ornaments and are beautiful. Juts walk around the campus if the weather permits and hear the chimes as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolores W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dull”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The interior of the "Cathedral of Learning" has very little lighting and seems dark and dingy as a result. Visited two nationality rooms but found little of interest other than the authenticity.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank riedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nationality Rooms also viewed

 

Been to The Nationality Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing