We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing Old Mansion Beautifully Restored” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Mexican War Streets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Mexican War Streets
Ranked #4 of 10 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Amazing Old Mansion Beautifully Restored”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2006

This old place has been lovingly restored by its current owners. Our host during our stay was one of them, Jeff, who welcomed us, showed through, helped us with places to see in Pittsburgh and then presented his "snack bar" in the dining room - nibblies, pretzels and home made choc chip cookies.

Our room was on the first floor, very comfortable with its own bathroom and sitting area.

At first we thought the neighbourhood looked a bit sus, but settled down with a walk through the park opposite and ended up feeling quite safe and pleased with our choice.

Breakfast each morning consisted of help-yourself cereals, juices, fresh fruit, waffles and tea or coffee.

The Inn was previously an old decaying mansion originally built by a Pittsburgh department store magnate, R H Boggs. On display in the dining room are progressive photos showing the incredible job the current owners did.

We were happy with our stay here and agreed it was not long enough.

  • Liked — Friendly host, clean and beautifully appointed.
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Tips/Secrets — Forget about the local transport, go for a stroll via the park & the baseball stadium to Downtown
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    25
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
64
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pgh pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2006

My husband and I started a few years back to stay at B & B's when traveling. We live here in Pittsburgh and have tried several in the Carson street area, Shadyside etc. but this one bets them all !! The house itself is so impressive - stone with a gorgeous wrought iron fence enclosing it. Flowers and little areas to sit and relax everywhere. The front porch is so gracious -( a outdoor living room )and the back yard has a lovely fountain and sitting area.. The carriage house is now used for receptions, showers etc. and it is a perfect gem ! ( We hope to use it for our son's rehearsal dinner in August. !)
We were very nicely welcomed and shown around the house. Very impressive rooms but not pretentious at all. We were advised to make ourselves at home !!
The wood and decorating is gorgeous and the winding staircase is truly elegant.. We stayed in Mrs. Boggs room and it was decorated in a feminine decor with a painted screen, 4 poster bed, fireplace, flower arrangements placed nicely and a fainting couch !!
Karl, one of the owners, very graciously showed us the other rooms and it was really wonderful. They are All very impressive. The next mornings breakfast was very nice and I got to spend some time with the other owner, Jeff. He showed me around the carriage house while he very patiently stopped planting his window boxes.
Don't miss this one - it is really very special and the hospitality is warm and genteel.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank JudyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2005

If you have any reason at all to visit the city of Pittsburgh, take the opportunity to stay at this Inn! The home is gorgeous & the innkeepers (especially Karl) are great. He brought fresh flowers to our room, left a very sweet note & made us feel right at home. Like staying with family - if you have family that happens to live in a turn of the century mansion! We stayed in the Mrs. Boggs suite, which is spacious, lovely & has the most comfortable bed in the world. If you can't sleep or find yourself with some free time, tons of movies & reading material are provided on the 1st floor. We skulked around the house, marveling at the architectural features & beautiful decor. In the morning, the continental breakfast included fresh fruit salad, hot & cold beverages, bagels & cream cheese, muffins, danish, english muffins, yogurt, homemade jams, several types of cereal & more. Homemade chocolate chip cookies are available 'round the clock. I took a biscotti & hot chocolate to enjoy while we wandered through the Strip District on Saturday morning (also highly recommended). My only regret is that we were only able to stay for one night! The 3rd floor suites are stunning & would be perfect for a longer stay. I can't possibly list all of the details that make this Inn so special - but I highly recommend that you check it out yourself!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2005

I found the most excellent place in the city to get acquainted with ALL! The hosts, Karl & Jeff went out of their way to make our stay a most comfortable and memorable one...beginning with our round-about misleading directions given by mapquest they oriented us and guided us over the phone right to the front door. Parking was never a problem with a multitude of spaces/ no meters/free and it gave a sense of security within the inner city living which it represents. I never felt unsafe being sandwiched between a 6 story YMCA and Church! The cleanliness of the rooms from the lowest $99 Q-sized room to the more elegant $169 King sized room was well worth the money; the expanded continental breakfast served each morning was more than sufficent and healthy!!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2004

We stayed at the Inn for three days this past summer (2004). The Inn itself is nicely restored and the innkeepers made us feel very much at home. Our room was large, the beds were quite comfortable and the continental breakfast was very good. There is a beautiful park across the street, although the neighborhood is still somewhat run-down in places. While there is no parking on the Inn's property, we had no trouble finding a parking space on the street out front. The location is great, especially if you are going to Northside destinations like the Warhol Museum and the Mattress Factory. It is also very close to the stadiums. The place was remarkably quiet for being in the middle of the city and the front porch is a great place to sit and have coffee in the morning. Although we are not exactly world travelers, we truly enjoyed our stay at the Inn and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2004

Absolutely gorgeous inn. Remarkable attention to detail. We stayed in the front room, upstairs, which was spacious and homey. (Our only complaint with the decor would be the creepy stuffed squirrels. We weren't sure what purpose they served.)

The inn keepers were so friendly and were always on-hand (either in person or by cell phone) to help with restaurant and tourist suggestions.

The continental breakfast was generous and fresh. We chose to eat on the front porch, facing a beautifully landscaped park dotted with ponds and ducks.

We did find the neighborhood a little shady, however. just a few blocks over are some pretty run-down/abandoned houses and even a X-rated theater. But, we were out at night and didn't feel threatened.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meechmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2004

We stayed here at the end of the baseball season in 2003. There were some issues with the parking, but the hotel was beautiful. It is within walking distance to PNC park, and our room was large and very clean, and the whole place is beautifully kept and very romantic. They have a wonderful front porch, where you can take a beverage from the kitchen and go sit. The breakfast is just OK. I would highly recommend it for couples.

Helpful?
4 Thank kbalonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#7 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Mexican War Streets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Mexican War Streets

Property: Inn on the Mexican War Streets
Address: 604 W North Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Mexican War Streets 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn on the Mexican War Streets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Mexican War Streets (r. h. Boggs House) Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing