We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Pittsburgh
Nearby Hotels
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Pittsburgh(Pittsburgh)
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
0
8
7
10
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
8
7
10
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you need to stay some where that is realy reasnably priced for just rooms its a nice place. Must have a car but the room was clean the showerhead was a little low. But over all it was fine for what we needed

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMGJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I visited here as a solo guest during a summer travelling break.

Considering it's a budget motel chain, I was very impressed. A welcoming reception with nice seating and a water feature. Clean accommodation, friendly staff. There was a problem with my door key which was resolved quickly and professionally.

The room was equipped with private bathroom (very clean) and a large TV with a good range of channels.

I paid $60 + taxes for 1 night (double room) which I think is very reasonable. I was only staying in Pittsburgh as a crossover point so did not have chance to determine how good the location was to local facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_griffindor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights, 4 people for $132
We found the room on Booking.com and we are glad that we did.
It is on Banksville Rd, just outside Dormont, at the bottom of the hill of Potomac Avenue.
The place was clean, the front desk and housekeeping folks were very helpful. They have a secure, detached enclosed garage- and a skybridge that takes you over to your rooms. There are no coffeemakers in the rooms and the coffee in the break area is not very good. With the great Motel 6 price- they do not include break feast, and that is fine with me- but please put coffee makers in the rooms! They give you a complimentary Pittsburgh Post-Gazette every day- and I like that tradition. They have a small gym and an outdoor pool.
We had a non smoking room, but we could smell smoke each night at 10 pm. It sickened two in my group as the smoke penetrated into our room. I investigated with the front desk at check out and they said that the closest smoking room was three doors down from us. How was this strong smoking smell possible then? Non-compliance from other guests? Do the housemaids report folks who smoke in non smoking rooms there?
Take aways. There is a lounge on site. There are VERY few places nearby to eat . There is an Arby's down the road - towards Pittsburgh, and an Eat' n Park about a mile down the road.
Next door is a GoodWill Store- a good place to browse for used books.
This location is an established motel that just joined the Motel 6 chain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cakes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We wanted to stay two nights in Pittsburgh on our cross-country trip to "see the sights". To rebalance our budget after several nights in Vermont, we wanted a budget category hotel. On the Motel 6 website it mentioned this "new facility" on Banksville Road giving the impression it was newly constructed. In fact, this is not the case. It may have recently joined Motel 6 but it's a badly refurbished Comfort Inn and is at least 40 years old. It's very badly maintained with duct tape around the bathtub and dilapidation everywhere you look. There's a dingy bar attached to the lobby attracting all kinds of lowlife. Furthermore, it's on a major road, a divided thruway with lots of traffic. Then, on the second night of our stay we were awakened at 4 AM by piercing screams coming from the direction of the lobby. The front desk clerk had just been robbed at gunpoint, with the robber jumping over the counter to grab all the money, then running out the back door and into the dark alleyway behind the building. The police arrived within minutes and what followed was a long interrogation by the police with total confusion and making it impossible to sleep. A total nightmare! Not a safe area. Not a comfortable hotel. Not recommended. Don't even THINK of staying here! Stay away!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights due to the location near the T at Dormont Junction. Had no problems, service was fine. The restaurant at the front is really just a bar and serves no food, and that does lead to the halls being filled with a few drunks late at night. I had someone banging on my door around 2:30 yelling for their friend. Still, it was not all bad, the room was spacious and the free wifi was very fast. The bed was a bit soft, but there were no bed bugs in my room and there was a good fridge hidden in the cabinet. Many Steeler and Pirate fans stay here for convenience to downtown on the T.

Would only recommend this for those who consider themselves true road warriors and need to save money as Pittsburgh can be expensive for hotels at any time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back side of the hotel, it is a bit farther away but seems quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sportsroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews