We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for a meal and a Beer- but be prepared for LOUD”

Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
Ranked #40 of 2,429 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southside Flats
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hofbrauhaus in Pittsburgh is a fun place to visit for dinner and a beer. There are 2 different places to eat - the dining room or the VERY large bar area where there is entertainment. Traditional German songs are played and sung. Eat at long tables and grab a large brew. Regulars have their own steins stored on premise. I like the fruit beer in bottles. Only item to note is if you eat in the fun "party room" don't plan on having much conversation. It gets quite loud.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2018

I was honestly a bit skeptical about the possibility that the Munich original could be authentically reproduced in the US, but I was pleasantly surprised. Oktoberfest was in full swing (literally - folks were swaying back and forth (i.e., schaukelten) to the live band). While waiting for a table, we sampled one of the beers on tap, the "Oktoberfest" (what else?). The Giant Pretzel Combo was very nice, and the "Obatzda" very tasty. Our server suggested that we stick to relatively simple items as the kitchen was backed up, so my dinner companion had the Leberkäs (which was the plan from the beginning), while I chose the Käsespätzle. Had enough of both to take home for lunch the next day.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

You might find this joint interesting if you have not visited a brewhouse in Germany. If you have, you may very well be disappointed. The place is loud, the service is slow, the food is nothing special and there are typically loads of locals who have consumed more than they should. The beer garden is a bit quieter, however you really can only sit there when the weather is agreeable.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank johnskabardonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Our son recommended this place while we were in town for the Steeler game. Everything we ordered was delicious-brats, schnitzel, perogies, black forest cake, and beer. The service was excellent. We would definitely return.We have been to Germany several times and this was as if we had gone back again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

What a fun place! The food was delicious, the beer excellent and our server, Skylar, was very friendly and attentive. We were celebrating my sister's birthday and they had one of the musicians come by to play "Happy Birthday". And before the night was over, we went to listen to the music and dance on the tables, just like they do in Germany! You don't want to miss this place!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shawn0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh also viewed

 

Been to Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing